Stabat Mater
Stabat Mater


4.0
excellent

Review

by relativeworld USER (4 Reviews)
January 11th, 2011 | 20 replies | 5,476 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If the black light takes us : absolutely original sludgy finnish funeral doom sound, focusing on stark corners of being, existence and history.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Talking about this album would be a great experience of describing a good example of acquired taste. Being catchy is without a doubt is a quality in music, although this record is catchy in a fundamentally different aspect...after a couple of listenings, it will happen to a degree that you may listen to the whole album continuously, again and again. Drowning in a stream of darkness and the time would be like waves of a cascade, falling on nothing, because after this album is over, the way it is remembered is just like trying to reimagine a dream or perhaps a nightmare.

Why nightmare ?slow-paced guitar riffs and bassline followed by high-pitched guitar effects, contemplative drum work ,churchy choral music ,and a majestic yet enigmatic sonic effect to cause a kind of visual voyage (in me, wandering in gothic hallways of a labyrinth) all accompanied by death growls of Mikko Aspa and all aformentioned elements, clearly dirty, coming out of a sludge factory.

I am not going to explain this album in a song-by-song manner because it is a whole body of work , a concept album, like many funeral doom ones, by all means and from any point of view , lyrically and musically .The album consists of 6 parts, three among which appear in the form of 10-second interludes, placed within the body of the "regular" tracks, certainly an odd structure that unbelievably works good.

The lyrics, luckily in English deals with Christianity, dark destiny of human being, state of unconsciousness that we 're trapped in because of the deprivation of awareness in post-modern Nazi gas chambers that society in its basic level establishes. Lyrics of the last song, Stabat mater (Latin for the sorrowful mother was standing ) are very similar to 12th century Roman church hymn. As described in Columbia Encyclopedia: A prayer meditating on the sorrows of the Virgin Mary in her station at the Cross, it was the liturgical sequence for the Seven Sorrows of the Virgin, but then as we expect from Aspa's music something evil, crushing happens at the end which completes the circle of melancholy that was destined to accomplish.

No special track can be recommended. Listening to the album completely with no interruption and stopping helps the listener to be completely absorbed in this musical experience.


user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
January 11th 2011



14516 Comments


this is one of my favourite albums, cool to see it reviewed

Raz0rGrind23
January 11th 2011



422 Comments


Great review! Pos! I am looking into this puppy.

Aside from the youtube samples where can this be purchased?

rasputin
January 11th 2011



14516 Comments


you can order it from Norther Heritage

http://www.cfprod.com/nh/

Raz0rGrind23
January 11th 2011



422 Comments


Thanks man

liledman
January 11th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice, good album.

rasputin
January 12th 2011



14516 Comments


im sure it's around in other distros too but that's the label that released it

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2011



7021 Comments


punctuation

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

liledman
January 12th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yes , punctuation .

liledman
January 12th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mm dont think so

relativeworld
January 12th 2011



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rasputin , Raz0rGrind23 , liledman : happy you enjoyed it and any suggestion is thankfully welcomed , I am just learnin' .


Lucidity , liledman: Thanks , I ll work on it .




oh the cover completely slipped my mind , This tearjerking scene !

Nikkolae
January 12th 2011



4767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome review for a truly outstanding band, cheers man have a pos

Digging: We Came Out Like Tigers - Ever-Crushed at Pecket's Well

relativeworld
January 12th 2011



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nikkolae : outstanding band , have you given their splits with deathspell omega , Mournful Congregation a try ? a wholly different world !


Lucidity : Your Joanna Newsom stuff is awesome , reminded me of those years.


lobby
January 12th 2011



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

def great to see this being reviewed

rasputin
January 12th 2011



14516 Comments


their split with worship is fantastic too, and their side of the split with A.M. is good except A.M.'s isn't

the stabat mater material on church of flagellation and crushing the holy trinity compilations is also sweet

in other words anything he's made under stabat mater is good, it's probably his most consistently awesome outlet

relativeworld
January 12th 2011



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to it now , kind of addicted !

I ll soon give his split with Worship a try ...!

I wonder where the choral part in sixth song has taken from ?!!

Nikkolae
January 18th 2011



4767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Rasp: I NEED to get my hands on church of flagellation sooo badly

@Relative: yes man i have, this guy puts out some of the best funeral doom out there!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2011



5915 Comments


Catchiness , no doubt is a quality in music , the thing happens here can be considered as a different definition for this phrase

Catchiness is without a doubt a quality in music, although this record is catchy in a fundamentally different aspect...



by all means and from any point of view ,

redundancy. Use either by all means OR From any point of view, not both.



it is consisted of 6 parts , 3 same 10-second-long parts , called intro(untitled) that are placed between other songs , certainly an odd structure that unbelievably works good.

The album consists of 6 parts, three among which appear in the form of 10-second interludes, placed within the body of the "regular" tracks. Oddly enough, the aforementioned structure of the record is unbelievably functional with respect to the listener that wishes to delve into its secrets.



labyrnith

labyrinth




Decent review overall, with quite a few syntax and dictation mistakes, however the flow of ideas is quite good.



Three rules of thumb for writing good texts:

1. Proofread your manuscript copiously. In the site forum there is a thread that is offering to do it for you, if you like.

2. Read reviews of other people copiously. This site has a lot of quality reviews that serve as source of inspiration for writers that want to improve their skills, in terms of good syntax, originality in ways of expression and novelty in content and metaphors.

3. Use a word processor like Microsoft Word, so as to automatically detect and fix spelling, punctuation and grammar mistakes.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

relativeworld
January 20th 2011



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is something I really needed. Thnaks for your exactness and time!
Wish you see a considerable amount of difference in my next reviews!

relativeworld
April 20th 2011



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alchemy of the 21st Century - Beauty of Aesthetic Imperfection
The latest project of Mikko Aspa.

Has anyone listened to it ?

ValeriusTheImmortal
December 26th 2011



1237 Comments


k this is more like it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy