Michelle Branch
Everything Comes and Goes


2.0
poor

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
January 8th, 2011 | 60 replies | 8,192 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Definitely a gift to the fans - just not the way Ms. Branch intended.

Although the overall tale isn't quite as epic as the one fronted by Axl Rose and co., Everything Comes and Goes does have quite the back-story attached to it. Only recently - after three years of hard work and a truckload of blog updates - did Branch finally throw in the towel and admit to herself that the goals she had initially set out to achieve were now a distant memory. It was a classic case of too many cooks spoiling the broth - the American artist had simply crossed paths with a slew of individuals - each with their own ideas on how the album should sound like - that by the end of it all, her original vision had found itself lost and buried under the Arizona sands. However, from the small selection of songs that did make it out of the studio (in the form of this "bonus" EP compiled by Branch herself), the evidence of a shocking decline is clear for all to see. The final verdict is unanimous in tone and damning as hell: shelving the full release of Everything Comes and Goes was probably for the best.

Migrating to a country-rock sound was always a bit of a mistake for Branch. In fact, the first signs of her impending musical collapse could even be glimpsed in her brief stint as one half of country-pop band The Wreckers; Branch simply did not seem to have the vocal panache nor the exquisite delivery required to bust out a country tune. The songs on the Everything Comes and Goes EP go to great pains to point out this deficiency - numbers like "Crazy Ride" and "Summer Time" have Branch coming across as sounding tired and non-committal; the surprisingly poor songwriting puts further paid to her limp efforts. Even the brief spark provided by lead single "Sooner or Later" takes all of three listens to wear out, with Branch seemingly forgetting that the ultimate purpose of commercial music is to entertain.

Pop/rock was - and always will be - Branch's strong suit. As evidenced by both Spirit Room and Hotel Paper, her character, voice, and energy do lend themselves well to the genre. But every cloud has a silver lining, and Branch appears to have gleaned quite a few pearls of wisdom from this experience - word on the street is that her next release will be a return to her pop/rock roots. After experiencing the unmitigated disaster that is this EP, even hearing such simple news couldn't be more welcome.



Recent reviews by this author
Ty Segall ManipulatorLinkin Park The Hunting Party
Coldplay Ghost StoriesCaleb McAlpine All Things New
Angel Olsen Burn Your Fire For No WitnessEternal Summers The Drop Beneath
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

As always, you can find the review here as well: http://snuffleupagush.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/ho-hum/

Comments and constructive criticism will be much appreciated.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

Tyrael
January 8th 2011



20829 Comments


So concise, and yet you say so much... Good job man, pos.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thank you Tyraelxy =) But to be honest with you mate, I was actually quite worried that I wasn't saying enough - I take it that the analysis here is sufficient?

Tyrael
January 8th 2011



20829 Comments


I think it is. It's also a short album so there are less songs to talk about anyway. It's an enjoyable
read, so I wouldn't worry if I was you!

qwer7yfreak
January 8th 2011



486 Comments


Excellent review, but...Michelle! Why???

Oh, and conciseness is always something good to strive for in a review imho. I personally want to read more about the main points about the album, not some huge novel describing every minute detail of the music.

Tyrael
January 8th 2011



20829 Comments


I try to keep my reviews concise but they end up being bad anyway...

pizzamachine
January 8th 2011



12571 Comments


What they said haha.

Willie
Moderator
January 8th 2011



15915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review. I like her first two albums, but I don't plan on hearing this.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Excellent review, but...Michelle! Why???

Are you unhappy with Ms. Branch, or my choosing to review Michelle? LOL.

qwer7yfreak
January 8th 2011



486 Comments


I'm unhappy that this didn't live up to her previous releases. I have no problem with who you choose to review, haha.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Willie! And yeah, you'll probably be better served staying away from this...it's quite horrible, and has neither the vitality of The Spirit Room, or the charm of Hotel Paper.

And Tyraelxy - your reviews are actually quite good lol.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm unhappy that this didn't live up to her previous releases. I have no problem with who you choose to review, haha.

Good to know XD

Tyrael
January 8th 2011



20829 Comments


Well, you're way ahead of me anyways. I'm gonna listen to Michelle Branch, just because you got me interested.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
January 8th 2011



10593 Comments


Great job bud, I really liked this review, The length and prose was pitch perfect!

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



15893 Comments


3 reviews in 4 days...now I know what others must have felt like when I was turning them out daily

Outside of the fact that you are making me feel bad for only writing 1 review this week, you did an exceptional job, yet again. Michelle Branch isn't really my thing, outside of a few of her older singles, but this review did nothing to make me want to go pick this EP up...which was your goal in giving it a 2.0, so yeah...good job...when are you going to review TDAG? Tomorrow? Ok Sweet. I'll be on to remind you via your shoutbox every 3.27 minutes.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Xenophanes
Emeritus
January 8th 2011



10593 Comments


^Haha.

Nagrarok
January 8th 2011



8197 Comments


Quality review, sir Irving. I bestow upon it...

a pos.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sowing makes my life.

And thank you too Xeno and Nag! Much appreciated! And - stay away from this.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 8th 2011



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I also like the fact that Nagrarok has just knighted me. F%&k yeah!

Nagrarok
January 8th 2011



8197 Comments


Me? Listening to country pop? You needn't worry. I'm just jumping in to say: 'hey Irving, nice job you did there'.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy