Appleblim and Shackleton
Soundboy Punishments


5.0
classic

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
January 3rd, 2011 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Soundboy Punishments ≥ Untrue

Deep underground, in pitch black, smoke encrusted veins, a thick, pulsing slurry of blood moves unseen. Irresistibly it propels before it immense gusts of dripping warm winds, the laboured breath of the invisible giants that lurk in the secret places of the earth, straining to keep the cracked ribs of the world intact under the crushing weight of the sky. This intoxicating current of decaying air permeates all, eating away at the foundations of the ground with a hunger born of eons of forlorn captivity. Unstoppably, it crawls like an ancient fungus through miniscule cracks, slowly tearing away at its concrete prison until excruciatingly it emerges with a furtive grin into the damp night air. With a final squirm, its sinuous, resonating body falls with a throb onto the forsaken chessboard of the pavement, before dissipating into the softly humming air. The next gasp of sound to emerge is less fortunate; it is not destined to vanish soundlessly into the night. With a sudden flash a dark shape bounds out of the darkness, an inky hurricane of black lightning. A shadowy footstep comes clattering down, pinning its throbbing prey to the path.

It’s midnight, and Shackleton is on the prowl.

Endlessly dark, brooding and effortlessly fascinating; it’s hard to think of music that portrays the dank and sprawling labyrinths of London better than SoundBoy Punishments, the colossal double album from Skull Disco. Serpentine basslines are seamlessly interwoven with gently pattering yet utterly deadly percussion; these rotten roots resonate with poisonous malice under a web of agonizingly subtle whispers and melodies. Tunes such as Hypno Angel are filled with such foreboding that they should be forever sealed in a concrete vault with the epitaph ‘doomstep’ scrawled across the vault as a warning to reckless explorers of sound. Frequent contributions from Appleblim round out the sonic palate beautifully with the enthralling and deadly Cheat I and Girder being a fitting Scylla to Shackleton’s devastating Charybdis; deadly creatures dwelling in the infinite swamps of sound that will one day emerge to swallow the earth.

Simply put, SoundBoy Punishments is nothing less than the soundtrack to our apocalypse. When the the rats start fleeing in droves and people begin to sicken and die, the immortal avowal Blood On Your Hands is the whisper that will echo from the ruins:

When I see the towers fall it cannot be denied,
That as a spectacle it is a realization of the mind.
I’m standing on the mountain top letting out a scream,
It is the language of the earth; it is the language of the beasts


I can’t ***ing wait



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (10)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
January 3rd 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Untrue is just about a completely haunting masterpiece, and this is probably the only music out of London that can compare

pizzamachine
January 3rd 2011


12571 Comments


I'm unfamiliar with the term "doomstep". Is it a combination of dubstep and doom metal?

Rev
January 3rd 2011


9423 Comments


^ I really hope so. That would be so cash

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2011


31174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't that good

And come on man, "doomstep" - really?

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Adash
January 3rd 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I only really got this after seeing Shack live, but my love for this is undying

I felt what with all the post dubstep, trancestep and future garage's being tossed around these last few years 'doomstep' wasn't too overboard a description


Adash
January 3rd 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that said, its a nonexistent genre that I just pulled out of my ass

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Genre definition doesn't matter, it's the music that counts (it's cheesy but true).
Anyways, this is the best dubstep-like album I have heard so far.

Oh, and congrats on the review!

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Adash
May 14th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Many thanks, extremely glad you like it. I presume you're familiar with Shackleton's new EP's, if not, I recommend them on the basis that he's a fucking beast

struth
August 2nd 2011


435 Comments


This shouldn't be compared with Untrue.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

On a basis of this and Untrue being really non-standard dubstep works (whatever that may mean) that were realised at about the same time, that comparison is valid in my book.

Adash
August 18th 2011


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I dislike bringing up Burial everywhere dubstep is mentioned, but sometimes in order to sell good shit like this you need the big name comparisons. I simply hoped to illustrate that this is a ubiqitous, genre transcending work that deserves widespread attention

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2012


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Got tickets for Shacks liveshow, very very stoked!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2012


31174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Clercq: do you get a mad Shackleton vibe with LHF's stuff?

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2012


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's very hard not to hear it, especially Double Helix's stuff. That's probably why I love that record so much.

Adash
May 30th 2012


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I have a feeling Shackleton's influence is getting more and more pervasive as he is remaining as shadowy a figure as ever

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2012


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Might end up getting that boxset as well. It looks fantastic!

amiritsuccumb
August 24th 2012


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bump this rules

mindleviticus
October 20th 2012


8232 Comments


The Villalobos remix of Blood on my Hands is probably one of the best songs I've heard

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
October 20th 2012


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well duh ;]

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2012


31174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's good, but it has nothing on the original, and to be honest after the 10 minute mark the impact of the track starts to dwindle



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy