Eminem
Recovery


2.0
poor

Review

by Sputnik's official false metal authority USER (28 Reviews)
December 31st, 2010 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No Marshall, not that kind of recovery.

Eminem has been around for quite a while. Starting off as one of hip-hop's finest rappers he amazed the world with the critically acclaimed The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Matters LP and The Eminem Show. Although the Eminem Show was far from a flawless effort, it still brought him mainstream success. However, after that his music started to decline in quality, leading up to what is probably his worst release to date, Relapse. This album, was shunned by fans and critics alike, and made Eminem lose a lot of credibility. And now, hip-hop's finest white rapper and my childhood hero(yes, really) has released a new album, Recovery. Essentially Relapse pt.2, Eminem has a lot to make up for with this album.

So, is Recovery really a musical recovery for Marshall, after having released the consecutive loads of douchebaggery Encore and Relapse? Well, not quite.

It is a fact that Eminem does a better job at pretending that he actually has something to say, which is a definite improvement over his last effort. However, that sadly doesn't make his lyrics any better. If you listen to this record a few times, you will soon notice that Marshall's problems are just about as interesting as those of any celebrity that you can read about every day in your favourite gossip magazine. Sure Eminem, your problems can be bothering you, but we already had to endure one (boring) album full of them.

But luckily, he does have something else to sing/rap about, hope! He wants his fans to give him another chance, a chance to make up for his mistakes. If any, Recovery shows that Eminem has gotten more human. The best example of that is the album's lead single Not Afraid. It shows an Eminem that is ready to face the dangers of the world, ready to love and ready to win his fans back. Which is in sheer contrast with the Eminem on 25 to life, reminiscent of his old Shady self, spurring hatred to the hip-hop scene. While it may seem nice to have the old Shady back, he just doesn't sound the same. It just doesn't work as well as it used to.

That said, I am having a really hard time with the guest spots he chose for this album. Lil' Wayne, I can understand(he would probably work together with a bag of sand if he got paid for it), but Rihanna and P!nk? Agreed, Rihanna has a beautiful voice, but not even that can save the failure that is Love The Way You Lie. They just don't go well together. Even worse is the collaboration with P!nk, which just might be the worst thing Eminem has ever done. Well, it's not as bad as Ass Like That, but it comes pretty close. Lil' Wayne's song is just, ehm... Lil' Wayne standard.

Recovery wasn't quite the comeback for Eminem I imagined. Most of the time he is attempting to create something new, by calling in a guest or even by singing himself(really?), and falls flat on his face. Whenever he does attempt at letting his ol' dirty Shady side come up it sounds watered down, and he just doesn't sound as vital, or interesting, as he did before. Maybe it's time he retired.



Recent reviews by this author
Deathspell Omega DroughtMarina and The Diamonds Electra Heart
Coeur de Pirate BlondedEUS Keep You Close
Cruachan Blood on the Black RobeAosoth III - Violence & Variation
user ratings (1802)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bulldog
December 31st 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this needed a negative review.

It is a fact that Eminem does a better job at pretending that he actually has something to say, which is a definite
improvement over his last effort. However, that sadly doesn't make his lyrics any better.


This ^

good review. posd

Gyromania
December 31st 2010


15941 Comments


Re-listened to this the other day and really enjoyed it.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


"this needed a negative review."
Yes, that is why I wrote it, and thanks.

"Re-listened to this the other day and really enjoyed it."
So, why are you only giving it a 2.5 then?

Gyromania
December 31st 2010


15941 Comments


I gave it a 2.5 months ago, I just haven't changed my rating yet.

Gyromania
December 31st 2010


15941 Comments


I think you misinterpreted the point of the album title, but I'm not sure if that was intentional or not.. At any rate this was an enjoyable read so I'll give a pos vote.

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


The point of the album title? He was on drugs, so this is his recovery...right? But I also think it is a way of apologizing to his fans for the things he has put them through, so in that way he meant for this to be a musical recovery too. That's just my view, I could be totally wrong. I just liked the wordplay...

Slum
December 31st 2010


2579 Comments


"after that his started to decline in quality"
missing a word there I assume and a lot of excessive comma use but review is fine overall, pos from me

never really bothered with this album

Knott-
Emeritus
December 31st 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

25 to Life is not about his wife. Try again.

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


Good catch Slum, thanks

And Knott how is this not about his wife?
"I don't think she understands
The sacrifices that I made
Maybe if this bitch had acted right
I would have stayed
...Why I'm married to you still
Man I don't know
But tonight I'm serving you with papers
I'm divorcing you"

Knott-
Emeritus
December 31st 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's about hip-hop. It's about the way the scene has mistreated him, the things he has given to it and the way it's reacted. I thought this was obvious to everybody. Song would be ridiculously simplistic if it were about his wife. Fortunately, it's not.

fuck you hip-hop, i'm leaving you, my life sentence is served.


Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


Okay, you're right, I'll change it.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 31st 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good review anyway, I pos'd; bit dismissive for my liking, but that's probably a lot to do with me liking the record.

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


Thank you, I am still working on my writing style. It is far from perfect, so I very much appreciate your constructive criticism.

OutOfMyself
December 31st 2010


688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nice to see a negative review for this, I posd.

OutOfMyself
December 31st 2010


688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah. Some of the sentences went on for too long with commas/were run-ons, but that can be ignored because of his rating.

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


Em...

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


queef

What

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


Thanks for the positive criticism.

Fugue
December 31st 2010


7353 Comments


The review has some good content, and you explain your point well enough which is the main point I guess. Your writing reminds me of myself in a few ways actually, most notably your over-use of commas; especially in the first paragraph (I can see three that are unneccesary in that paragraph alone!). I think you should read it back to yourself and edit accordingly, this will help the flow of the review and make it easier to read. There are also a couple of awkward phrases "Eminem has come a long way, leading up to this album." and "It is a fact that Eminem does a better job..." being two examples off the top of my head. In addition to this, in the third paragraph, you start a sentence with the word "because". While this isn't completely taboo, I'd advise staying away from it because it is very easy to make a grammatical error while doing this (as you have). Don't get me wrong, this is still a good review and much better than anything I produced in my first ten-or-so reviews, I'm just offering advice on how you can make your next one even better.

Tyrael
December 31st 2010


20901 Comments


I agree that the first sentence really was kinda bad, so I rephrased it. Your positive criticism is very much appreciated!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy