Gozu
Locust Season


4.2
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
December 28th, 2010 | 22 replies | 8,231 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An expertly conceived, bombastic stoner rock album that is bound to blow your mind.

Detroit-based Small Stone Recordings has never ceased to be a reliable source for many under-the-radar heavy rock releases of the 2000s. Being a mother label for such superb underground acts as Dozer, Halfway To Gone and Five Horse Johnson, the company emerges as a major force to be reckoned with when it comes to expertly produced stoner rock releases. The title of this year's most coveted album of the lebel seems to belong to the bombastic debut of Gozu, "Locust Season." Deriving its name from the bizarre Japanese movie, Gozu consists of members associated with such Bostonian bands as Wargasm and Triphammer. Their style can be best described as a top-notch hybrid of groovy stoner rock, melodic grunge and furious heavy metal.

While "Locust Season" might be rather derivative, it never feels generic or mainstream. The band triumphantly blends different genres and approaches towards heavy rock music combining the massive, often metallic riffs with catchy vocal melodies. However, it's the constant need to mutate and evolve that defines this album more than anything else. As an example, "Regal Beagle" starts as a groovy blues rock in order to transform later on into a full fledged piece of Queens Of The Stone Age-inspired psychedelia with falsetto singing. Whereas, the album's highlight "Jan-Michael Vincent" channels sublime soul-induced hard rock into a near-industrial headbanging metal based on killer palm-muted riffing.

On the whole, guitarist Doug Sherman's performance comes as exceptionally diverse encompassing a wide variety of styles that range from bluesy melodic soloing ("Meth Cowboy") to danceable lead passages of Clutch standard ("Jamaican Luau"). He certainly delivers the most memorable guitar performance of the year. The rhythm section comprised of drummer Barry Spillberg and bassist Jay Canava is equally strong crafting a reliable skeleton for every of the band's complex, structurally-varied compositions. The numerous aspects of hard rock that are showcased also find their realization in the powerhouse performance of vocalist Marc Gaffney. He has this rare ability to sound both familiar and totally distinguishable with a knack for infectious melodies that are equally ingrained in raunchy, bluesy swagger and ballsy metal singing.

What definitely works in the album's favor is the decidedly modern, crystal-clear production coupled with a laid-back, fun tone and general accessability. "Locust Season" is a stoner rock album for those who are not really keen on the genre. Given that this is truly the most mesmerizing release of this kind in quite a long time, it's a mandatory listen for every ardent rock music fan.



Recent reviews by this author
Chevelle La GargolaElbow The Take Off And Landing Of Everything
Hark CrystallineNeneh Cherry Blank Project
St. Vincent St. VincentWolves Like Us Black Soul Choir
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2010



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

http://www.myspace.com/gozu666

Enjoy!

Digging: Floor - Oblation

ButcheredChildren
December 28th 2010



5591 Comments


YESS ITS ABOUT TIME! This album needs more attention! cool review

also I posted this whole album in HD on youtube just search the songs

BigHans
December 28th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man, I dug their song you linked me yesterday.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2010



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

This disc is massive! Love the hell out of it. One of my favorites of the year.

eternium
December 28th 2010



16209 Comments


Sounds interesting.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Jethro42
December 28th 2010



12034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool that! You are about to cover each and every albums that are not on your 2,010' list. And the year is not finished yet haha
Excellent review Greg!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2010



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Haha. It seems like it. Still, I've got a couple of albums to amaze you with, Jethro. You can't sleep peacefully at night. Not yet.

Glad to see more and more people digging these guys.

Jethro42
December 28th 2010



12034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha Rock 'n Roll! Where on earth do you find all of these albums as they come out, I wonder. Review deserves to get featured btw.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2010



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I don't know, dude. I guess I'm getting more and more resourceful with age (lol). I read a lot of reviews, also these on this site.

LegendofPittman
December 28th 2010



2928 Comments


I thought this band was "Goku" at a glimpse.

jrowa001
December 29th 2010



8749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review. i need to listen to this album a few more times for it to be a 4. you should check out Stonebride and Black Space Riders. both are some cool bands youd like

ZippaThaRippa
December 29th 2010



2361 Comments


Stoner eez guuud

americanmusicmachine
December 29th 2010



3953 Comments


"Gozu" is a fucking awesome movie.

americanmusicmachine
December 29th 2010



3953 Comments


[img]http://www.bloodygoodhorror.com/bgh/files/Gozu_shot3a.jpg[/img]

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2010



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Cool! Hence, some truly bizarre titles of tracks and lyrics.

Jethro42
January 2nd 2011



12034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumped to 4.5
Zang

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2011



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gonna get this the second I get my external HD fixed, because sadly, I ran out of room on my regular HD.

Also, swell review man.

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2011



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm definitely in the mood for some crazy mood rock.

Gonna check it out.




Edit: Good record, but that's as far as it goes.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2011



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The Noise Gallery Presents Gozu:

http://vimeo.com/21243409

Awesome live renditions!

BigHans
April 5th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not quite up to par with Lo-Pan and Solace but yeah this is manly and rules.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy