Obscurity
Tenkterra


3.5
great

Review

by Jared Ponton STAFF
December 24th, 2010 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another solid offering from the viking metal veterans.

Tenkterra is not an album for the black metal elitist, nor is it for the most grizzly of death metal head-bangers. It is not Banquet In The Darkness-brutal melody, nor is it Nattestid Ser Porten Vid-melodic black excellence. Rather, Viking metallers Obscurity’s fifth studio album is strictly solid, strictly fun, as far as melodic black/death metal goes, and though I’ve already limited my audience to our own Kyle Ward, Hawks, Matt P. and Wylie McCloskey, the last on a good day anyway, it’s well worth checking out for any metalhead this year, particularly those that may have been left upset from the melodic disappointments of Dark Tranquillity’s We Are The Void or Eluveitie’s Everything Remains As It Never Was earlier this year.

Obscurity are strictly a German viking metal band, and as such, their lyrics are entirely growled/shrieked in German. However, don’t let that sway you from listening, as the melodies are so strong as to make the loss of the lyrics’ meaning of no consequence. There is a concept here – in fact, Tenkerra is a concept album that revolves around the late B.C. to early A.D. period of Germany, enter Rome and bloodshed, etc. But the strength of the music alone, particularly in the area of consistency, makes the album an enjoyable, fun listen, no matter what may be taking place in the album’s story, or even on what track you may be currently on.

Voice Agalaz retains a high-produced and substancial shriek, though, not quite native to much of black metal, true, but rather grounded in the recent arise of modern melodic black metal bands – quiet, Karl. Suffice it to say, Tenkterra is all the better for it. The vocalist rides mid-to-fast-riffs from guitarists Cortez and Dornaz with finesse, squeezing his own tight melodies into those of the axemen themselves. Highlights are few, but this is mainly due to the album’s consistency as a whole. It would be nice if Tenkerra didn’t blend together so much, actually, this being its main downfall. But as far as melodic black/death goes, particularily in the context of the dismal 2010 year, consistency-good/great is much better than consistently-bad/average. Tell that to Dark Tranquillity next time you see them, boys. Great work.



Recent reviews by this author
Brand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside MeThe Sky Life Caves
Lights & Motion ChronicleRed Of Beauty and Rage
There Will Be Fireworks The Dark, Dark BrightBring Me the Horizon Sempiternal
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ponton
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


6013 Comments


sorry for the influx of reviews. it's been slow anyway because of holidays

just trying to clean out the closet, fun band:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMx9mRh_AyA&feature=fvwrel

Hawks
December 24th 2010


38043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review as always man. Album sounds pretty awesome.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Hammer of the Witches

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


8497 Comments


Sounds fun, I'm going to leave town tomorrow for a few days but when I get back I'll look this up. Good review as always.

BallsToTheWall
December 24th 2010


45360 Comments


Once I get off work I'll download this, put on my viking helmet and drown my sorrows in the loneliest Christmas eve of all time. With mead and spiced cider.

Digging: Firewater - Get Off the Cross, We Need the Wood for the Fire

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


6013 Comments


Cheers, those that commented should find something to like here

BallsToTheWall
December 24th 2010


45360 Comments


There was a viking metal band I discovered today called Galar who was pretty cule. the somewhat raw but melodic kind, and includes a cello/violin from time to time adding to the fun

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


7386 Comments


Great review Jared, have a pos.

Sputnik's a bit on the slow side today. People won't care (and prolly won't notice) if you pump out three or four on Christmas Eve =)

Digging: Pastel Lite - Etcetera

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


19240 Comments


Ugh I wanna review a recent release but I can't find anything interesting. Sorry, this review just reminded me that like 75% of what I've written since the promotion has been at least a year old. oh well.

review is great, have a pos

Digging: Titus Andronicus - The Most Lamentable Tragedy

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


6013 Comments


Thanks guys, and no worries sowing. Fortunately our positions are all "voluntary" per se, so we can review anything basically, or not even review for a year or two like some of the others... I mean, if you're going for staff than new releases are the way to go, sure, but for me personally, I dont see myself getting that for a while anyway, haha, if ever tbh.

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


6013 Comments


Yeah, they're definitely one of my favorites. Go for Deliver Us or Undoing Ruin first, as these are the most immediate of their albums. If you get into those albums, then go for their most recent, The Eternal Return and one of their earlier, rawer albums, Hidden Hands Of A Sadist Nation. They have a new one coming out in March - see Adam Thomas' interview. Can't wait for it personally.


This is one of my favs from them

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdjJdEVVS5M

but these are the catchy singles

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=soIablAgoZg&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19HcpZoepU8&feature=channel

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 24th 2010


19240 Comments


Well obviously I'm not even thinking about staff right now. Hell, I just got contributor like 3 weeks ago...but I understand what you are saying. I actually prefer reviewing new stuff, so that people can look at my review and then (maybe) get interested. But ever since my review for TROW it has been pretty slim pickin's.

cvlts
December 24th 2010


9169 Comments


nukka, slow down

Digging: Old Wounds - The Suffering Spirit

Gyromania
December 27th 2010


17736 Comments


I've been writing reviews for a lot of new(er) albums recently, but I've yet to review something brand new, but yeah, you guys shouldn't worry about it too much. Excellent review as per usual, Jared.

TheOceanInside
December 27th 2010


439 Comments


as my metal friend would say, "VIKING, METAL!!!!!" and go into this power stance. for that i'll always respect you guys lol

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2010


6013 Comments


thanks for the feature, had no idea this was recent enough to get one.

SomethingSimilar
December 27th 2010


56 Comments


Disagree that Eluveitie's album was a disappointment! Agree with you on DT though.

But apart from that, excellent review - I'll definitely check this out.

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
December 27th 2010


6013 Comments


to me, the eluveitie one was more of the same from slania, which isn't a bad thing, but there wasn't much else there. Some awesome songs though for sure

thanks, hope you enjoy it.

Acanthus
December 28th 2010


9788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really enjoying this so far, thanks for the youtube link!

Digging: Mr Little Jeans - Pocketknife

Acanthus
December 28th 2010


9788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really the word to describe this album is fun. It does run together, but each piece still manages to get my head banging.

couldwinarabbit
December 29th 2010


6996 Comments


ow the album art is amazing. Like how anyone would listen to an album with a cover like that is truly beyond me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy