TTNG
This Town Needs Guns


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dustin S. USER (10 Reviews)
December 23rd, 2010 | 42 replies | 12,864 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fun mathrock album that is both easily accessible and technically satisfying.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

This Town Needs Guns is a very promising mathrock band that most everyone can find something that appeals to them within the complexity that is their self-titled release. Boasting a clearly virtuoso guitarist, a very talented drummer, and soft and catchy vocals, every song is filled with catchy rhythms that are hard not to enjoy.

Starting the album off with a quick drum intro and a fast paced verse, the listener gets the gist of what This Town Needs Guns are about, as playing in this way tends to be the band's strong suit. Soaring vocals often steal the spotlight already being fought over between the guitarist and the drummer. Often transitioning between quieter segments between choruses, this is where much of the guitar work is showcased. These softer, more slowly-paced segments often bring to mind one of TTNG's major influences, American Football.

Songs such as "Want To Come Back To My Room..." show the band utilizing piano, bells, and a xylophone to experiment with the atmosphere of their music. These songs tend to be calmer and are recommended to be the first tracks for new listeners to hear. The few times that the piano playing is put out as the main instrument, while what's being played isn't necessarily technical or dazzling, it is very fitting in its place in the music and creates a very soothing atmosphere.

The overall production of This Town Needs Guns' self-titled album is very raw and has a natural feel. This rawness adds to the deep emotional feel in the music, and mainly in the vocalist's voice. But at the same time, this production is probably the only easily noticeable problem in the album. A little too often, the vocalist is heard very loudly over the rest of the band and can sometimes be disappointing for those listening for the musicianship.

Overall, This Town Needs Guns have released a truly excellent album. Filled with great musicianship and extremely heartfelt vocals, this album could easily be a part of the listener's rotation of regularly played albums.



Recent reviews by this author
Circle Takes The Square Rites of InitiationThe Blood Brothers Young Machetes
Castevet/Into It. Over It. Snack TownMy Heart To Joy Reasons to Be
The Number Twelve Looks Like You Here at the End of All ThingsNative We Delete; Erase
user ratings (206)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2010



17197 Comments


26 is dancier than 4 is one of my favorite songs. i like this a lot more than Animals.

Avirov
December 23rd 2010



1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The 4 baffles me, and your descriptions are rather vague. Also you should talk more about what you've
gotten out of the music. But your wording is concise and your writing's clean.

Josh D.
December 23rd 2010



13967 Comments


I love the first track, so I guess I should look into this since I have Animals too.

Relinquished
December 23rd 2010



24443 Comments


yeah this is great but I prefer Animals

whywontyoudie
December 23rd 2010



3063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't really prefer one over the other. certain aspects of both are greater than on the other in my opinion.

DoubtGin
December 23rd 2010



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love this

HenchmanOfSanta
December 23rd 2010



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That opening sentence is baffling.

I just don't get what people see in this band, but I've never listened to a full album.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
December 24th 2010



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Animals is interesting, but not interesting enough to make me listen to this

TheyTookErrJobs
February 3rd 2011



283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TTNG have the greatest guitarist. He is really nice also.

darksarcasm
July 25th 2011



77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this better than animals, mostly cause of the piano. It all fit really well, and sounded so beautiful.

twlichty
October 14th 2011



3407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

guitar on this album is mind-bendingly awesome

Cipieron
October 14th 2011



3508 Comments


wish they had this on cd... and animals on vinyl, merch page either doesn't work or it's sold out

HBFS
November 13th 2011



1218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thought this was an EP

Digging: Jamie xx - Girl/Sleep Sound

mvood
November 13th 2011



818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it is

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 21st 2012



5192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wanna come back to my room and listen to some Belle and Sebastian?

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

Yazz_Flute
January 26th 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is still the best thing they've released.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2013



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Despite some ridiculous song titles, English math-rock quartet This Town Needs Guns show promise on this self-titled release. While officially an EP, at 8 tracks & 35 minutes this is practically a debut LP, with Stuart Smith's vocals conveying sufficient emotion, despite not necessarily being to everyone's taste. While the guitar-work is predominantly spiky & angular, odd moments of heavy distortion are used to good effect. This release ultimately works best when extra ingredients are used to embellish diversity; whether they be keys, horns, strings and/or additional percussion. Recommended Tracks: It's Not True Rufus..., If I Sit Still... & And I'll Tell You For Why.

Yazz_Flute
May 2nd 2013



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup.

ashcrash9
May 30th 2013



382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best TTNG. "I'll Forget About You..." is the only track I don't really care for but it's still decent. The atmosphere created on this is great. Perfect for summer nights.

omnipanzer
May 30th 2013



21418 Comments


Survival is better imho

Digging: Grant Lee Buffalo - Fuzzy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy