Finch (US)
Say Hello to Sunshine


2.5
average

Review

by +TheCrowing+ USER (2 Reviews)
October 26th, 2005 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Huh. After I think they've found a place in a genre with the success of What It Is To Burn, they felt the urge to completely change. There's hardly any songs reminiscent of anything on WIITB. Is that a bad thing? Yea. Why?

Well, for the most part, their lyrics fail. I mean, I guess I wasn't really touched by the lyrics on What It Is To Burn, but they didn't jump out at me as being ridiculous. I don't think they have much of a talent in the department of writing dark lyrics.

Also, when trying to be innovative in a new sound, they made too many songs alike. Some of the choruses are even hard to tell apart. I think there's a lack of clean singing, and that causes problems because they used to rely so heavily on it. This sounds more like Finch after being possessed with a demon, because almost all songs on Say Hello To Sunshine are dark, sometimes morbid.

THE GOOD

Track #1, INSOMNIAC MEAT starts this sorrowful album in a sorrowful way. The chorus is fairly catchy, the vocals are nice. The ending is a little "ehh" though, constantly screaming, "THIS IS THE WORST THING THAT YOU HAVE EVER DONE!" REVELATION SONG refuses to settle on a certain steady pace during the verses. The chorus shows us some clean vocals but awkward lyrics, in my opinion. BROTHER BLEED BROTHER starts with some furious guitar plucking. It has some amazing vocals, and throws a few curves at you while you're listening. There's a few awkward parts but nothing too much to complain about.

INK flows through intensely whispered verses into an intense chorus. I like the modern rock flavoring when they sing, "THE army aaants have e-scaaaped." The bridge is also pretty cool when we hear some clean vocals. "Ink spills on paper, paper spells my blood."

A MAN ALONE is a crazy and bouncy song found later on in the album. It's got a jazzy rhythm with the drums and some sort of addictive guitar work. This combination surprisingly works well, and it also sounds good when they scream in the chorus of how "old man loneliness is a son of a b*tch." Another curve is thrown, to me at least, when a song this upbeat carries on for almost 4 and a half minutes. MIRO follows at track 10. It is catchy and more positive sounding (but still dark). It's also sprinkled with a bit of tropical, jazzy guitar work.

Title-track RAVENOUS has pure energy and tests with a bunch of different styles in its 2:39 runtime. Rock, hardcore, punk, emo (to an extent)...it's all here. DREAMS OF PSILOCYBIN is a song that I am liking. It has some catchy parts and enjoyable music. The melody is also some of the best on the album. It's a pretty good closer.


THE BAD & THE UGLY

Fourth song A PIECE OF MIND doesn't have anything exciting to offer. Simple riffs, simple everything...too boring. FIREFLIES suffers a similar fate...it's better in every aspect but still dull.

HOPELESS HOST is so bizarrely paced and executed for the most part that it's barely listenable. It has seemingly random melodies and hooks, and it just doesn't work. REDUCED TO TEETH is another bland song, with boringly quiet verses and a dull but heavier chorus. It does have pretty interesting lyrics.

Lead single BITEMARKS AND BLOODSTAINS lacks anything a single should have. Subpar lyrics, subpar music, nothing catchy about it...not quite sure what they were thinking here. CASKET OF RODERICK USHER is, for the most part, a rancid abomination. I guess it's this cds Project Mayhem; testing their hardcore limits. This time the "project" didn't turn out so well...

CONCLUDING REMARKS...

There is no way a casual music fan is going to like a majority of the songs on this cd. They're so expiremental and sometimes downright bizarre, and would probably be written off as "a bunch of noise." Heck, I even thought that a few times. In my opinion, there's no way that this type of music is gonna come close catching on like their previous genre ("screamo" or whatever you want to call it).

TRACK RATINGS

1. Insomniac Meat - 7.5/10
2. Revelation Song - 7/10
3. Brother Bleed Brother - 8.5/10
4. A Piece of Mind - 5/10
5. Ink - 8/10
6. Fireflies - 6/10
7. Hopeless Host - 4.5/10
8. Reduced to Teeth - 5/10
9. A Man Alone - 8/10
10. Miro - 8/10
11. Ravenous - 7.5/10
12. Bitemarks and Bloodstains - 6.5/10
13. Casket of Roderick Usher - 4/10
14. Dreams of Psilocybin - 8/10


user ratings (583)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
+TheCrowing+
October 26th 2005


36 Comments


Done for the day, I swear ;)

marsvolta
October 26th 2005


64 Comments


i'd give this a 3.5-4. it took A LONG ASS TIME for me to get into it, but eventually it sunk in.

i think they just sat down and were like 'hey, lets right an entire record where every song has some wierd ass time signature. oh yeah, and i'll be sure to use alotta minors and accidentals so stuff sounds super errie.'

that's just a rumor i'm starting though. haha

Permanent Solution
October 27th 2005


31 Comments


Oh tsk tsk, this album is far above a mere 2.5

Definitely in the 3.5-4 range.

Neoteric
October 29th 2005


3243 Comments


Did you steal this one aswell punk?

pulseczar
October 29th 2005


2385 Comments


plaigerism makes Galapogos sad

CushMG15
October 29th 2005


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, plaigerims makes CushMG15 sad too...is what I said there plaigerism? I'm sad...


Anyway. This album...I dunno. I'd say it's average...but technically "What It Is To Burn" was average, nothing groundbreaking at all. This, as far as I know, doesn't sound like a whole lot out there that I've heard right now. Regardless, this doesn't stop this from being a fairly mediocre album. Maybe it just needs to grow on me, but I've owned this since fucking June.


I think this is one of those albums that forever has that "Growing" feel. Rating pending, but right now I'm looking at a 3...because it is good. But with the way this album was talked up (mainly by the band themselves), I expected a lot more.

Atticus 69320
October 29th 2005


49 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think finch changed their sound too much, its nashty.

labonza01
December 30th 2005


546 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i really like this album, but liked WIITB a little better. the style change was a risky move, but that shows dedication, they were risking the loss of their fans, but changed anyway. This review was ok, not as good as your what it is to burn one. i dont agree with this one so strongly because i like every song on this album, it really is a good cd. This Message Edited On 04.02.06

Down_with_the_system
May 27th 2006


24 Comments


Id of expected you to give better then 2.5 for it considering your marks out of 10 for them :P.

Ravenous i think is as awesome as ink, its just a shame that it lost it's raw sound when it was finalised (got the sampler). I think this album needs to be given growing time, i was a bit uncertain at the start but now it has grown on me it is one of my favourites.

I really like this album's sound, I mean I liked WIITB massively, but this is more unique IMO. I wouldn't class Finch as pop-punk either, but then again I dont know what I would class them as instead :P.This Message Edited On 05.27.06

Concubine
May 27th 2006


333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is really good

ChrisWyatt
July 10th 2007


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You are wrong. This album is absolutely brilliant, its so different that most casual music fans DONT know how to cope with somethign so commercial and safe (WIITB). You obviously dont see the twisted genius behind this album, but ive noticed that some people on here do. go back and listen to it again and listen carefully with an open mind

Digging: Slipknot - .5: The Gray Chapter

CushMG15
July 11th 2007


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I threw this back in a couple months ago and really found some gems on it. I said before it was a grower, and I was correct. Between a 3.5 and 4 for me now. Very solid album.

KritikalMotion
January 4th 2008


2262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Casket of Roderick Usher - 4/10"

HAHHAHAHAHHAThis Message Edited On 01.04.08

Motleyguy
November 28th 2008


118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You obviously dont see the twisted genius behind this album


Gonna have to say I agree. This album is epic, and rather genius. Then again, you probably don't know who the Afghan Whigs are either...

Otisbum
November 28th 2008


1912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Intro to "Casket" is the shiz.

Ink >>>>>>>>>>>> the others though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy