Black Country Communion
Black Country


3.5
great

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
December 20th, 2010 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 2010's go-to album for classic rock fans.

There’s been a sort of supergroup trend going on in recent years. Particularly, rock musicians from the old days, often gone unnoticed since their prime, seem to be taking the opportunity to be put in the spotlight again, pairing up with their peers as well as younger generations of rockers. It is general knowledge that the results of these groups are virtually never what they are expected to be. ‘Not so super’ is the description that was given to the likes of Chickenfoot, but on better occasions, more successful and enjoyable bands like Them Crooked Vultures came along.

Bassist/vocalist Glenn Hughes (Trapeze, Deep Purple Mk. III) and blues-rock guitarist Joe Bonamassa were joined by Jason Bonham, son of the legendary Zeppelin drummer John Bonham, and ex-Dream Theater keyboardist Derek Sherinian, to form Black Country Communion, a supergroup that is still a far shot away from the best thing that’s ever happened the whole collective, but at least, as their debut Black Country shows, they know how to rock pretty good.

Hughes’ funk influences, both in his playing and his singing, have remained, and it sounds like he’s still in great shape. Bonamassa’s playing can be pretty uninventive at times (albeit enjoyable), but the man certainly has his moments, while Sherinian doesn’t always get the very best out of his skills either, sometimes falling away in the mix. Bonham has never really lived up to his father’s legacy, but that’s not saying he hasn’t learnt a thing or two from daddy. Similar in style, but never as impressive. Still, fans of Led Zeppelin will certainly be enjoying themselves with the drumming. Black Country knows both great retro-rock tracks such as One Last Soul, The Great Divide and No Time as well-done epic-lengths, particularly Song of Yesterday and Too Late for the Sun.

Black Country is hardly ever amazing, but then again, there will be few who will listen to it with that sort of expectation. Classic rock fans have been given something new to go by in 2010, and that’s most likely the goal this band has set. Black Country Communion works, and it wouldn’t be a punishment to see them make another album.



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
AaronBatt (3)
"I'm going back! To the Black Country..."...

PsychicChris (4.5)
Black Country Communion's debut shows the beginning of a very interesting and satisfying supergroup...

related reviews

2

Afterglow

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album didn't have a review, I wrote something up.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2010


21453 Comments


Nice review, I was thinking of reviewing this.

Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you hadn't told me me about it I wouldn't have know anyway. If someone had already covered it I wouldn't have bothered.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2010


21453 Comments


oh and

"and that’s most likely goal this band has set."

Think there should be a "the" in there.

Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There should be. And there is now.

Jethro42
December 20th 2010


12550 Comments


Bonham has never really lived up to his father’s legacy, but that’s not saying he hasn’t learnt a thing or two from daddy.

..At a maximum. He definitely didn't find his own identity yet, and he clearly never will reach dad's power and talent.

Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty much. A thing or two was actually more literal than figurative. Famous musicians' kids almost never live up to their parents.

But then there's Jeff Buckley.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2010


7318 Comments


Good stuff Nag. It just amazes me how simplistic your sentences are, yet they manage to convey so much and with great effectiveness.

I learned lots reading this review. Pos.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Jethro42
December 20th 2010


12550 Comments


You're right Nag, there is only a few. These also come in my mind: Guitarist Dweezil Zappa and drummer Tony Rooster jr.

Jethro42
December 20th 2010


12550 Comments


I was going to mention Adam Wakeman, but I have yet to hear him play.

Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It just amazes me how simplistic your sentences are


Always been my style. My English is great but when I write I still can't make it as complicated as I could in Dutch. It's still a second language. But people seem to like the simplicity, so I'm happy.

These also come in my mind: Guitarist Dweezil Zappa and drummer Tony Rooster jr.


Heard of neither. Obviously I know who the father of the first is though.

Jethro42
December 20th 2010


12550 Comments


Tony Royster jr. Man, take a seat, and watch this (recorded a dozen years ago)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPncumXZExo

Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Djeezus, HOW old is he?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2010


7318 Comments


English is also my second language; unfortunately this means I end up using it in a VERY convoluted manner (just take a look at any of my reviews). Given a choice, keeping it to the effective minimum is always better. I for one like your style greatly, so do keep it up.

(I do realized the pointlessness of telling this to a guy who already has 186 reviews, but oh well =p)

Jethro42
December 20th 2010


12550 Comments


Djeezus, HOW old is he?

hahaha, pretty much out of this world, isn't it. Tony may be around 24 yo now. I think he works as a session musician.



DoubtGin
December 20th 2010


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album actually drags towards the end, but that doesn't take away from how good this is.. first two tracks are my favourites

EVedder27
December 20th 2010


6088 Comments


Nice review Nag, not sure how interested I am in this though

Nagrarok
December 20th 2010


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah, I don't think you would be that interested.

Knott-
Emeritus
January 17th 2011


10198 Comments


this is alright

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2011


21453 Comments


Glenn Hughes FTW

I AM A MESSENGER, THIS IS MY PROPHECY...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy