Aereogramme
Sleep and Release


4.0
excellent

Review

by Phideaux USER (6 Reviews)
December 16th, 2010 | 26 replies | 6,848 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One last chance to hide upstairs, to watch gentle lights from the window.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

As Aereogramme vocalist, Craig B. said of the band’s 2003 endeavor, Sleep and Release: “I'm incredibly proud of it but I'm not surprised we didn't bother the charts. It's not an easy listen.” Sleep and Release is an extremely dynamic album that covers a huge variety of moods. To truly understand the album’s intricacies demands the listener’s full attention. Sleep and Release is the second full release from Glasgow’s alternative/ post rock band, consisting of Craig B. (vocals, guitar), Iain Cook (guitar, programming), Campbell McNeil (bass) and Martin Scott (drums).

After the initial outburst of strings, guitar, drums, and percussion on The Black Path, the song melts away into Craig’s soft, venerable-sounding vocals, accompanied by only a single cello. It’s like watching fireworks and waiting to feel the sound of the explosion in your chest, never quite being able to anticipate it. Even at its most simple, Sleep and Release never quite lets go of the immense amount of tension that these moments create. The listener is never allowed to sit comfortably. You know something is going to happen, but you can’t quite predict when.

Aereogramme make it extremely difficult to know what to expect. The album’s songs include a huge spectrum of different elements, including: noisy alt-rock, seas of heavy, metal-tinged guitar, pounding drum work, emotional piano and string arrangements, electronic noises, and ambient post rock. Sometimes all incorporated into the same song. Though at times lighter and infused with simple pop hooks, there’s a certain denseness that these songs never escape from.

Following The Black Path is A Simple Process of Elimination. It’s a slower, more ambient and somber sounding track and is one of the handful of songs on the album that stay in the more restrained, post rock territory. The song has an interesting drone to it with its pounding drums and glitchy sounding electronic noises. Midway through the song the string swells return. Simple Process, like all the other songs on the album, is just so multilayered and dense. This aspect of the album is one of the things that really does make Sleep and Release such a difficult listen, but also makes it so rewarding.

Wood is arguably the heaviest song the band has written. It starts with just a mid tempo alt rock sound before a chugging, ominous sounding guitar line begins. The song leads into a surprisingly aggressive explosion of heavy guitars, violent strings and Craig’s screamed vocals, and then simmers back to the calmer sound of the beginning of the song. Quite a few of the songs on the album follow the same trend, if you can say they follow a trend at all. They often include both soft and heavy, or both ambient and upfront. However, it’s never quite confusing or unnerving. It never feels schizophrenic or unfocused due to how well designed each transition is.

With Sleep and Release, Aereogramme have made a great album that covers a wide spectrum of moods and emotions. At times loud and angry and at times soft and delicate, each different part of the album is constructed so well that it’s hard not to come away pleased.



Recent reviews by this author
Arcane Roots Left FireSilverchair Diorama
Sky's The Limit Sky's The LimitRyan Shupe & The RubberBand Dream Big
Shaimus The Sad Thing is, We Like it Here
user ratings (78)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Phideaux
December 16th 2010



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was originally a strong 4.5 for me but the band grew off me a little bit. Still a great album.

thumbcrusher
December 16th 2010



3546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i was tinking about getting this, probably will now

Phideaux
December 16th 2010



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's fantastic. I'm not sure how I had never heard of this band before a couple weeks ago.

PayneTiger777
December 16th 2010



4366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a pretty awesome album. My favorite tracks are Wood, In Gratitude, and A Winter's Dischord. A very underrated band.

thumbcrusher
December 16th 2010



3546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Phideaux
i only heard of them recently too and then i heard a life worth living and was like "phwor!"

Phideaux
December 16th 2010



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Payne:
Definitely underrated. This band needs much more attention. You should check out the Unwinding Hours if you haven't already. Its the new project of two of the guys from this band.

@Thumb:
Is that from their last album? I haven't heard that one.

crazyblinddude
December 16th 2010



3389 Comments


Sweet review. Aereogramme are are a really talented band. I'm surprised they're not as popular on here.

And definitely check out The Unwinding Hours if you're looking for more Aereogramme.

thumbcrusher
December 16th 2010



3546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Phideaux
yeah it is :-) their last ones supposed to be calmer than thier other stuff, although i havent heard much else of theirs, definately going to though.

PayneTiger777
December 16th 2010



4366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Phideaux
Awesome! I've been wondering what these guys have been up to lately. I'll definitely check them out.

FourSquare20
December 16th 2010



320 Comments


Pretty good review. I've been meaning to check these guys out ever since i downloaded their collaboration with Isis.

Jethro42
December 16th 2010



12034 Comments


It might be something I'd like. I'm gonna read the review tomorrow.

Jethro42
December 17th 2010



12034 Comments


k, listening to it now, definitely not my thing, and very good review.

AnotherBrick
December 17th 2010



9766 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Such an underrated band

Phideaux
December 18th 2010



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Out of curiosity, What don't you like about them, Jethro?

And thanks on the review guys. I'm gonna start doing it more consistently, I think.

Jethro42
December 18th 2010



12034 Comments


''Aereogramme make it extremely difficult to know what to expect. The album’s songs include a huge spectrum of different elements, including: noisy alt-rock, seas of heavy, metal-tinged guitar, pounding drum work, emotional piano and string arrangements, electronic noises, and ambient post rock. Sometimes all incorporated into the same song.''

It reflects pretty much my thoughts.
They sound like they try to hard to define their own identity. Music shows evident lack of depth, and they are a tad previsible on the edge. But hey, it's just me. I'm just an old grumpy progster.


Phideaux
December 18th 2010



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could see that. Though I have to disagree.

thumbcrusher
January 12th 2011



3546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

got it. so good.

Phideaux
January 14th 2011



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome. Glad you like it, man. You listened to Unwinding Hours yet?

thumbcrusher
January 14th 2011



3546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no, i haven't, but i feel like i really should. have the the two members changed much musically since aereogramme?

Phideaux
January 14th 2011



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It sounds the most like My Heart Has A Wish. Still very Aereogramme sounding. Same singer and everything.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy