Fear Factory
Demanufacture


4.0
excellent

Review

by Apathy USER (11 Reviews)
October 23rd, 2005 | 193 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


Fear Factory-Demanufacture

There I was in my local CD shop. I needed a new CD really, really badly, but I wasn’t sure what to buy. To make matters worse, my brother was hurrying me up, and pushing me toward a Dark Tranquillity album. Five minutes later, the band name Fear Factory caught my eye. I had heard many good things about them from assorted sources, so I decided to pick up the remastered version. But enough about how I got the disk. It’s time to get started on the review.

Fear Factory is widely known for their crazily fast double bass, stuttering guitar riffs, and singer Burton C. Bell’s throaty roars. Before I picked Demanufacture off the shelves, I had only heard the “new" Fear Factory, which involved the band showing off a poppier and more mainstream sound than that displayed on this work. Upon placing this in my car stereo, I was immediately treated to what sounded like a soundtrack to a science fiction movie. Dino Cazares’ guitar riffs were simple, but they went great with the double-bass rolls that were played often. Although Bell’s clean voice leaves something to be desired, his growl (I don’t know how else to describe it) is really cool and robotic-sounding.

It’s obvious that the band members were very close at the time of this release. All of the instruments meld perfectly and have their time in the spotlight. “Body Hammer" has a crushing intro guitar riff; whereas the title track has a brief bass fill. The drums are ever-present in all tracks, and it is clear that Raymond Hererra is the most talented member of the band.

Remember, this album was released over ten years ago, when recording technology was not as advanced as it is today. One of the greatest aspects of Demanufacture is the fact that even if it is old, it still sounds like a new, ground-breaking album. It was the first album ever to mix extreme metal and industrial metal, and it does so extraordinarily.

Alas, every piece of music has its flaws. Admittedly, there are a few boring tracks and riffs on here. “New Breed" is a track that I loved at first, but now I skip it every time. “Dog Day Sunrise" is a cover of a Hanna & McEuen tune, but it, also is repetitive and boring. Most of the bad things are made up for by extraordinary tracks such as “Replica" or “Zero Signal."

Demanufacture greatly surpasses all of Fear Factory’s later works. It sounds the most advanced, the heaviest, and just the overall best of all of the band's records. If the only Fear Factory tracks you have heard are off Archetype or Transgression, and you hated them, you still owe it to yourself to check this out one way or another. It is a different style than anything I have ever heard before, and I love it. It’s a pity that no other bands pushed the boundaries like this, or else modern metal as we know it today might be a better place.

Recommended Downloads:
-Body Hammer
-Replica
-Demanufacture
-Zero Signal

Recommended Listening:
Chimara-Pass Out of Existence
Slipknot-Vol.3

Pros:
(+)Powerful, stuttering guitar riffs
(+)Some great drumming
(+)The heavy vocals are great
(+)Earthshakingly heavy

Cons:
(-)The clean vocals are odd and sometimes off-key
(-)Dog Day Sunrise
(-)New Breed
(-)Can cause headaches

Overall:

Here’s the hardest part of reviewing: assigning a rating. Although the site ratings state that 5 stars is a classic record, I have always considered a 5 star album to be flawless as opposed to classic. This album is most definitely classic, but it’s not perfect, so:

4/5

87%

A



Recent reviews by this author
Darkest Hour Undoing RuinNevermore This Godless Endeavor
Alice in Chains DirtDevilDriver The Fury of Our Maker's Hand
Chimaira ChimairaMegadeth Peace Sells... but Who's Buying?
user ratings (783)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
michaelcraig (5)
It's as if Fear Factory are androids programmed to be a metal band....

Jeremy Bentham (5)
Presenting a sound way ahead of its time, Demanufacture is and always will be the definitive Fear Fa...

(4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Apathy
October 23rd 2005


645 Comments


Feedback would really be nice, you know. :upset:

Toaster
October 23rd 2005


343 Comments


Nice review man! I see you've ventured into the realm of the overall review. Good first effort by all accounts.

Just hate this album, though.

Apathy
October 24th 2005


645 Comments


Bump

Storm In A Teacup
October 27th 2005


13226 Comments


Great review Mazz improving well as a reviewer. Does this really sound like Slipknot Vol. 3? I have a burned mix cd of old and new Fear Factory, but it doesn't really sound like the new Slipknot.

Apathy
October 27th 2005


645 Comments


Well, the new Slipknot and the old Chimaira are the only other acts I have heard that mix grinding, detuned guitars and spacey electronics. Plus, the electronics on this are keyboards, not these crappy samples.

Storm In A Teacup
October 27th 2005


13226 Comments


It isn't in Canada which is where Mazz is from.


taylormemer
November 30th 2005


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Demanufacture towards my ears didn't really strike a note. I was at times impressed with the musicianship, and drums, but still a pretty decent effort in my opinion.

Dancin' Man
November 30th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Can't stand it. Actuall, I have not liked any of their releases. Nice review though.

sj_2150
December 2nd 2005


251 Comments


your all crazy this album is amazing

ChrisD
December 19th 2005


44 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Alongside "Obsolete", this is the definite Fear Factory album.I never get sick of it.Amazing production as well.

quote:"The drums are ever-present in all tracks, and it is clear that Raymond Hererra is the most talented member of the band."

I wouldn't say he is the most talented.I used to be a huge fan but I hear he uses alot of computer sounds and computer help to form drum tracks since computers are his main hobby.I also find that FF's live show is very boring!


canadapantsman
January 16th 2006


236 Comments


well Dino is talented, but at this point in time he wasnt very accomplished. the original Concrete recordings were very sloppy as were some songs on SOANM, but by Obsolete they all had peaked alongside Hererra.

Tarantino's Tarantulas
May 7th 2006


819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a decent album, although it can be a tad samey and Dog Day Sunrise, while providing a break from the ear rapingly good heavy stuff, is repetitive and dull. Apart from that aforementioned song, there really isnt a bad track on here, OK some arent amazing, but still solid songs. They played Demanufacture and Replica off this album when I saw them live last month - awesome set.

bloodycrepe
January 4th 2007


55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review although the comparison between chimaira, slipknots vol. 3 and this album was slightly confusing as they don't sound anything like each other.

This is my favourite Fear Facotry album. I agree it sounds really tight, especially on the faster paced songs.
Burtons growl is pretty awesome too.

whackerinc
July 25th 2007


28 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even after all these years, this album still makes me smile and headbang wildly. The production still makes some current ones raw by comparision. Everyone on this really got their game on and it's always great to listen to classics such Demanufacture and the almighty Self Bias Resistor.

astrel
July 25th 2007


2614 Comments


87% = B (just saying)

Putrefaction
July 25th 2007


59 Comments


Well, over here anything over 85% is an A

MagnetaMorning
March 12th 2008


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know how you made a jump from DT to FF. That seems like moving backwards to me. I on the other hand came from the opposite direction, and have never looked back. DT is so much superior. Fear Factory also is almost incapable of putting on a live show, due to their overwhelming reliance on Matrix like concepts. I like them, yes. But I've moved past, and am now able to identify the simplistic repetitiveness of albums like this one. I think the "poppier" sound you refer to is FF's only hope, because a return to roots like these would push me away permanently.

Foodforthegods
April 8th 2008


425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A real classic for me. It was a turing point in my musical appreciation. It was the split from korn to slayer. Demanufacture is such a great song.

FenderUsa
May 6th 2008


582 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fear Factory are like my favorite band now and this is their best album fo sho

industrialjunkie92
July 21st 2008


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Magneta: Obviously not a fan of the early, groundbreaking, death metal. Great review, I digg this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy