Nadia Ali
Embers


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
November 28th, 2010 | 38 replies | 5,917 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: blissfully blissful blissfulness.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

The fabricated sound of dance/trance music always has the potential to be stimulating. This potential can often turn lethal when the softer side of trance music is employed. Also with the possibility of quality over quantity, an equation still remains: the music consumer may look upon the album with apathy. Even when the production qualities are great, synthesizer sounds are blissful, and songs are executed excellently, some albums will still wear a bit thin. Such is the case with Nadia Ali’s debut album, which fails in memorability simply because of a lack of punch. What it does not fail in, however, is capturing the listener with heart-felt lyrics, and smooth sailing.

Embers is an oddly appealing album. For some inexplicable reason, no matter how many times I listened to it, I wanted more. There was something magnetizing about the Pakistani American singer Nadia Ali. There was something celestial in the way her exotic vocals melted into calm beats and soft electronics. It was like waking up and finally feeling the pulse of the world, listening to its breath. There was an unmistakably beautiful quality to the sounds which burst out of the blue. Some say that listening to music can instill a spiritual encounter, and if such is the case, Embers certainly seems like a brush with Heaven. Or maybe only a handful of the songs are that wonderful and the rest are forgettable. Who cares, it was blissful.

So what if the album is somewhat typical dance music, this one stirs your soul. It is like bumping into that sweet heart (ten years later) that you never had the guts to ask out, but then you finally tell her how hot she is, and then violent kissing happens. This album is your best friend, it is that dog or cat that you always wanted. Give it the time it deserves, and it will grow on you like hair on a man’s chest or like something else on a girl. However, due to its regrettable typicality, despite the controlling charm of Nadia Ali, the album is too average to stick in memory. Directly in the middle of songs, they could have switched to soft rock, and no one would have noticed the difference. So if it is difference you are seeking, you will leave empty-handed. If you want to feel music, however, you will feel remarkably different after listening to Embers.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.7
great
recommended by reviewer
Sarah McLachlan Laws of Illusion

Comments:Add a Comment 
ConsiderPhlebas
November 28th 2010



6157 Comments


Brilliant review

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



5997 Comments


the summary kills

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom

PuddlesPuddles
November 28th 2010



4772 Comments


Niiiice, great review

kintups!

pizzamachine
November 28th 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys! It's my 40th review so I'm glad it's good. Also, Puddles, I love it when people call me by my previous account.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



7164 Comments


It's a machine of pizza!!!

Nice review mate. It made me lol quite a few times, particularly at the chest hair bit haha.

Only criticism I can think of is the fact that 3.5 seems rather low for such an (apparently) fine album. But that's splitting hairs, really.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

pizzamachine
November 28th 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's Irving!!! Yeah, good point, it was difficult to settle on a rating. I consider this a high 3.5, so I suppose I'll bump it up.

bloc
November 28th 2010



34752 Comments


Niiiice, great review

kintups!


I thought I was the only one who knew....you PUDDLESWIMMER

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Jethro42
November 28th 2010



12390 Comments


the summary kills [2]
immensément immense d'immensité
Good 40th review, pizz!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



5997 Comments


immensément immense d'immensité

i think you should omit the "de apostrophe" my friend.




pizzamachine
November 28th 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ BLOC: Ah-ha! So Puddles *is* puddleswimmer!
@ Jet: I see what you did there. Cheers!

Jethro42
November 28th 2010



12390 Comments


^Non Voivod, désolé
Edit: @ pizz; Cheers

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



7164 Comments


Yes I influenced pizzamachine's review!!!

My purpose in life has been achieved XD

pizzamachine
November 28th 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol you sure did! Although if I were you I wouldn't kill myself yet haha.

Jethro42
November 28th 2010



12390 Comments


Devant une voyelle, ça prend toujours une apostrophe, Voivod.

pizzamachine
November 28th 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Prendre garde Voivod, Jet est bon en Français!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



5997 Comments


Moi aussi mes amis :P

Depuis quinze ans quand je etais un bon etudiant lolololololol

Jethro42
November 28th 2010



12390 Comments


I have no merit since it's my mother tongue. Well in fact, it's pretty much more than that; It's actually a passion.
=]

Jethro42
November 28th 2010



12390 Comments


j'étais =/= je étais
Kapitche, Voivod?

natey
November 28th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It is like bumping into that sweet heart (ten years later) that you never had the guts to ask out, but then you finally tell her how hot she is, and then violent kissing happens.

acquiring now

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2010



5997 Comments


je comprends presque tous ce que je lis en francais.

Le problem pour moi consiste en parler le francais a quelque person, parce que je n'entends pas la langue dans mon pays.


Thanks guys for the french dialogue, it has been really invigorating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy