Anathema
Pentecost III


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dreamflight USER (4 Reviews)
November 23rd, 2010 | 18 replies | 9,841 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Anathema’s career has always been in constant motion, forever taking risks and never sticking into one musical genre. This time they approached for a more pure form of doom metal, leaving behind the death metal influences of their previously releases. Sadly (or not) it was their sole attempt of doing so.

Throughout the six (+1) songs contained on this record, the band plays a kind of doom metal closer to what Tony Iommi idealized and bands like Candlemass and Cathedral mastered. Of course there’s also the usual Anathema’s melancholy trademark very present on the guitar leads and solos. The rhythm is usually mid paced or slow, however the band managed to add some groove to make things sound more interesting.

All these elements are perfectly blended on the album’s best track “We, the Gods”, an epic journey clocking at almost 10 mts. Some great heavy riffs could be found on “Mine is yours..”, and Kingdom takes the listener through a sorrowful landscape haunted by Darren White’s wails.

Speaking of Darren, Pentecost III also marks the final collaboration between Anathema and their original vocalist, who was fired due to his inability to sing. In fact if you listen to this record, you won’t find many singing, however Darren did have some interesting vocal lines. Here, he uses mourns and shouts, almost dropping the growls used on Serenades and The Crestfallen.

In short, 41 minutes that helps us to understand the evolution of one of the best bands ever to come out of Liverpool.


user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dreamflight
November 23rd 2010



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry for any spelling or grammar mistakes. Some feedback would be appreciated.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2010



5985 Comments


kudos for the review.

commenting on your recommendations, i would put Forest of Equilibrium from Cathedral, not The Ethereal Mirror.

The latter has so much groove and intensity btw. Awesome record.



Very good review, short and descriptive.

i don't see any grammar mistakes, at least not from where I'm standing.

Separate the second from the third paragraph.



Speaking of Darren, PentecostIII

Pentecost III

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom

Dreamflight
November 23rd 2010



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man both for the words and advices

About the Cathedral reference, maybe you're right, the feeling on FoE is much more closer to Pentecost III than TEM.

FilthyBorgir
November 23rd 2010



1334 Comments


Good job on your review, short and right to the point I like that.

Willie
Moderator
November 24th 2010



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"We, The Gods" and "Kingdom" kick ass. The rest of this is average.

Dreamflight
November 24th 2010



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@FilthyBorgir: thanks dude

I read on some interview that Anathema wanted to play some gig in Liverpool with Darren this year. Wonder if that actually happened.

scissorlocked
September 27th 2011



3509 Comments


short reviews are great reviews

grats for this one man, album is a monster

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Music For The Uninvited

Dreamflight
September 28th 2011



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It sure is. Heard this for the 1st time back in 2002, and still rocks my ears.

Thanks again :D

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why the hell did i hold off listening to this

it's some of anathema's best by far

Willie
Moderator
December 14th 2011



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The first and third tracks are awesome. The rest is average, IMO.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you think so? i think all five tracks, the ones you mentioned in particular, are superb. kingdom is probably one of their best. :]

Dreamflight
December 14th 2011



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd rank PIII like this

We, the Gods
Mine is yours
Memenot Mori
Kingdom
PentecostIII

Willie
Moderator
December 14th 2011



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really? Kingdom down that low?

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kingdom is easily my favorite track here, i got chills the first time i heard it and every time after that. :]

Dreamflight
December 14th 2011



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh I just preffer the other 3. If Kingdom was on Serenades or The Crestfallen, it would be my fav track from either record.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bought this the other day with 'The Crestfallen' EP. It's nothing I've not heard from Death/Doom Metal before, but it's still pretty good in terms of gloomy atmosphere and somewhat meaningful lyrics.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

Egarran
December 25th 2013



258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favourite Anathema. I have a thing for Memento Mori especially.

manosg
December 25th 2013



5877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Early Anathema rules.

Digging: Anacrusis - Manic Impressions



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy