Leonard Cohen
Songs of Love and Hate


4.5
superb

Review

by Eric USER (161 Reviews)
November 21st, 2010 | 69 replies


Release Date: 1971 | Tracklist

Review Summary: http://imgur.com/Kv1WRzH

http://imgur.com/Kv1WRzH

http://imgur.com/Kv1WRzH

http://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzHhttp://imgur.com/Kv1WRzH



Recent reviews by this author
Mogwai Rave TapesTau Tau Eyelids
Ghost Ship Golden GirlsCrosses EP
Warren Franklin Your Heart Belongs To The MidwestFrightened Rabbit A Frightened Rabbit EP
user ratings (365)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
vmcoia91 (5)
Leonard Cohen's true masterpiece....

GurS (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SeaAnemone
November 21st 2010


21401 Comments


SeaAnemone tries his hand at a classic...


an old favorite of mine. could use a more current review. and to refute rabbit's claim that I listen to no older music (I know it's not 60's but it's close).

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 22nd 2010


22328 Comments


i love 'joan of arc' need to listen to this again...it's been years

Digging: Sufjan Stevens - Songs For Christmas

AtavanHalen
November 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review needs less talking about you, but is otherwise sound.

ShadowRemains
November 22nd 2010


24277 Comments


lol don't listen to rabbit

good review, pos'd, but atavan's point is valid

SeaAnemone
November 22nd 2010


21401 Comments


I hardly ever complain about honest criticism buuuuuut...

I did use myself sparingly in the first and last paragraphs atavan, and I think it adds to the review seeing as it shows
the approach to listening and analyzing the album that I do now. I don't do it often in my reviews, but I think it adds
color and can be helpful in some situations. I've seen some of the best writers on the site use first person to their
advantage.

What do you think?

Regardless, thanks for reading and commenting on the writing

EDIT: PS if you're referring to that first paragraph that was there, that wasn't supposed to be there! an alternate
start that I didn't mean to copy/paste

AtavanHalen
November 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hate personal pronouns in reviews, it makes me think the reviewer can't go for a couple of hundred words talking about something that isn't themselves without bringing themselves up. "Sure, this happened, but more about me!"



This would be a much better review if it had no "I, me, my"

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 22nd 2010


22328 Comments


i dont know, first person definitely has its place as long as the writer knows how to utilize it to his advantage...

SeaAnemone
November 22nd 2010


21401 Comments


I think it's like almost any other element in a review-- it can be a nice tool when used correctly.

I mean if you think it's used badly in a review, then please by all means tell me how/why : )

But don't you think it's a little dumb going around to every review with "I" in it just to complain about the general use of this?

Like I said, some of the best-written reviews on the site, I think, by some of the best writers, utilize first-person.

Don't wanna sound like a jerk, but yeah I disagree : /

EVedder27
November 22nd 2010


6088 Comments


something tells me i would really like this

AtavanHalen
November 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think it's a nice tool at all. I tried it once and then decided it was stupid. The review is not about you, so don't talk about you. Simple as that.

SeaAnemone
November 22nd 2010


21401 Comments


yeah but it is about my analysis of the record.


and yeah Mike you'd reeeaaaallllyyy like this, really.

robertsona
Emeritus
November 22nd 2010


15307 Comments


I hate personal pronouns in reviews, it makes me think the reviewer can't go for a couple of hundred words talking about something that isn't themselves without bringing themselves up. "Sure, this happened, but more about me!"

This would be a much better review if it had no "I, me, my"


no no no no no no no no stop no fuck no

this is stupid dont listen to atavan please seaanenome jesus christ no this is the WORST fucking advice

AtavanHalen
November 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That goes without saying - you don't need to use personal pronouns to present an opinion in a review. It's as simple as that.

SeaAnemone
November 22nd 2010


21401 Comments


you don't need to use personal pronouns to present an opinion in a review


please stop acting dumb. obviously I know this. like I said, I think it's a tool that can accentuate a review. nothing you have said says otherwise other than "I tried it once and it didn't go well."

robertsona
Emeritus
November 22nd 2010


15307 Comments


atavan you have this same complaint with the best of reviews i really think its time you learned that
its you, not them

the worst thing a reviewer can do is skew the first person (in an OPINION piece) with dumb shit like
"you" or "we" or, god forbid, "the listener" (everyone does this at some point including me its a hard
habit to break)

ShadowRemains
November 22nd 2010


24277 Comments


guys let's not let shit hit the fan here

AtavanHalen
November 22nd 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How does it accentuate the review? Explain that one. All it does is make the writer look less professional.

conradtao
Emeritus
November 22nd 2010


2090 Comments


It adds a personable touch and makes the review more enjoyable to read.

couldwinarabbit
November 22nd 2010


6996 Comments


Even in a formal essay you can use the first person guys.

Great review Sea. This is like on par with Elliott Smith for deep intimate saddness falling short of Tom Waits in said category.

ShadowRemains
November 22nd 2010


24277 Comments


@robertsona: i've used "the listener" before in my reviews and never really had any complaints



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy