A Day to Remember
What Separates Me From You


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dick Face USER (12 Reviews)
November 15th, 2010 | 46 replies | 8,751 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Less 'Br00tz' and a more refined radio friendly sound makes for the Ocala 'pop-core' pioneers' strongest record yet.

4 of 6 thought this review was well written

When A Day to Remember hit the music scene with their debut release, ‘And Their Name Was Treason’, their unique fusion of pop-punk and hardcore was hailed by some as a bold and well executed step towards musical progression that ultimately paid off, whilst others saw the record as a great dissonance, or as a poorly executed attempt at a potentially good idea. Since then, the band has released two more records, both of which were generally well received, securing a plethora of new fans and haters alike and they have seen their style imitated by an abundance of bands (albeit more often unsuccessfully than not) causing the genre that they helped create to become something of a target of disdain amongst many; discontent with its overproduced nature and the ‘bro-core’ association that has been built up over the years. So with this fourth album, A Day to Remember had something to prove in order to silence the haters and secure their place as a credible band, but did they pull it off?

One could be forgiven for getting the wrong impression from opening track ‘Sticks & Bricks’, a solid post-hardcore track with a strong sing-a-long chorus not too dissimilar to the band’s signature sound. ‘What Separates Me From You’, however, proves to be slightly different from what has come to be expected from the typical A Day to Remember album. Sure the basic elements are still there; blending the infectious melodies of pop-punk with the heaviness and aggression of post-hardcore, creating tracks that are both fun and ‘brutal’, but this time there is something different.

‘What Separates Me From You’ comes across as a more pop-punk orientated album, with only three of the ten tracks being out and out heavy, whilst the others focus on a more mature and radio friendly sound, often ditching the stereotypical chug chug, breakdown laden style that we may have previously come to expect from such a band. This is not to say, however, that those aggressive moments have been completely overshadowed. ‘2nd Sucks’ proves to be the first song in the band’s history that features no clean vocals, whilst many songs incorporate some hardcore ideas into an otherwise poppy soundscape. Furthermore, the production value is far greater than it has been on any previous A Day to Remember release; long gone are the overly prominent trebly bass drum and muddy guitar sounds in favour of something far more well balanced. The addition of new guitarist, Kevin Skaff, also helps to add some more depth to the band’s sound; this being the first group’s first record that doesn’t see lead vocalist Jeremy McKinnon singing all his own backing vocals.

With ‘What Separates Me From You’, A Day to Remember have proven that they can release a strong, sleek and mature CD whilst securing their place as a credible band in a scene that would normally suggest otherwise. No doubt, the band will see more commercial success than ever before in the coming years and continue to grow in stature whilst hopefully not compromising their signature sound in the process, but instead honing it and progressing as they have done here.



Recent reviews by this author
Brandon Flowers FlamingoShadows Chasing Ghosts The Golden Ratio
N-Dubz Against All OddsEmarosa Emarosa
Tiger Please SeasonsNot Advised Fight For This EP
user ratings (1265)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't realise how short this was, oh well.

Very strong record; gives me hope that we could see something truly great from these in the future.

East Hastings
November 15th 2010



4391 Comments


You know that noise where you like snicker but it's so subdued that it sounds like a fart in your throat? I just made that noise

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Maybe you should get checked up, I'm not sure the human body is meant to make that type of noise.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jk it was the sound of East deapthroating my weene and that's perfectly normal


Haha, excellent!

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2010



17204 Comments


not at all. I never really liked ADTR all that much but the first two albums were at least fun to listen to. their last two albums, this included, have just been unbearably boring.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, to each his own. I personally feel that the last two albums have been their strongest, but it's all personal opinion.

climactic
November 15th 2010



18624 Comments


‘And There Name Was Treason’,


It's "Their"

TBliss
November 15th 2010



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. Unlike everyone else, I absolutely loved Homesick, this isnt as good, but is still great.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's "Their"


Fuck! Thanks man, I'm usually such a nazi for the there/their/they're thing. Damn my lack of proof reading.

HighandDriving
November 15th 2010



3274 Comments


This is def not a 4, guess I'm gonna have to neg another noob review.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're negging the score, and not the review, of a 'noob' who has been on this site far longer than you AND has a higher number of posts?

Cunt.



climactic
November 15th 2010



18624 Comments


lol highanddriving i hope youre kidding

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty sure he wasn't kidding. Apologies to him if he was, but I don't really see any other reason to neg this review (not to sound self righteous of course, but I don't feel like it was poorly written).

kingjulian
November 15th 2010



1297 Comments


Review is pretty good. Homesick wasn't very well received, though. Definitely not be me, anyways lol

"for those who have heart>everything else they've done since." [2]

HighandDriving
November 15th 2010



3274 Comments


I'm not kidding and I'm not trying to be an asshole. I'm the resident noob review cop. I neg noob/bad reviews.

Don't be mad bros, officer HighAndDriving is on the scene.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Homesick was pretty successful in a commerical sense, that was more what I was trying to get across there. It was also quite well received in the UK by the general public, they are probably the most popular post-hardcore (ish) band in the UK at the minute.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not kidding and I'm not trying to be an asshole. I'm the resident noob review cop. I neg noob/bad reviews.

Don't be mad bros, officer HighAndDriving is on the scene.


Perhaps you would like to define what you understand to be a 'noob', or point out what is bad about the review; I'd be more than willing to accept legit constructive criticism.

HighandDriving
November 15th 2010



3274 Comments


You know why I pulled you over son?

Cause you have terrible music taste. Let me see your license and registration!

HighandDriving
November 15th 2010



3274 Comments


You better cooperate; just cause you're 17 doesn't mean I won't get rough with you.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 15th 2010



2910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm 18 man!
And 'terrible music taste'...who are you to judge another person's music taste as good or bad? I can bet I like just about every artist you consider to be 'great', simply because I (at least, like to think that I) have a diverse and open minded taste. For example, I have tickets to see Take That and tickets to a Wolves in the Throne Room show over the next few months, amongst others, it's a matter of avoiding a narrow minded approach.

Negging because of ratings is a noob tactic and there's a reason it's frowned upon.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy