Yes
Time and a Word


3.0
good

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
November 15th, 2010 | 27 replies | 7,971 views


Release Date: 1970 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A transition to much greater things to come.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Before they broke out with The Yes Album, Yes recorded two albums that aren’t particularly remembered as great achievements. Their self-titled debut was however quite good, and very interesting in hindsight of what they’ve gone to achieve later. Not exactly the same can be said about Time and a Word. While Yes’ second effort is decent, it is more of a transitional record, not all that strong on its own. The formation of Anderson/Banks/Squire/Kaye/Bruford of the group’s debut stayed intact, though Banks was fired shortly before this album was released, to be replaced by none other than definitive Yes guitarist Steve Howe.

The album's most distinct feature is that it includes fairly dominant string arrangement in many songs. Unfortunately, this did not mesh too well with the band’s developing style, and in effect was left behind them quickly after this record. The tracks here aren’t quite as memorable as those on its predecessor, but some minor highlights can be found in the organ-driven songs, most notably Astral Traveller. The main problem remains that while the songs in themselves aren’t bad, they don’t contain a lot of energy and can be a slight bore, lacking a daring edge that could be found in the melting of rock and jazz on the debut.

As it is, Time and a Word is good, but remains mostly forgettable, containing none of the things that made Yes such an powerful group at their peak. They did however build to this peak after this album, finding out what they really wanted and exploiting it in grandiose progressive epics. Time and a Word will be interesting only for the more collective of Yes fans.

Time and a Word’s Yes was:

- John Roy Anderson ~ Lead Vocals, Percussion
- Peter William Brockbanks ~ Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Christopher Russell Squire ~ Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Anthony John Selvidge ~ Organ, Piano
- William Scott Bruford ~ Drums, Percussion

TO BE CONTINUED...




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (209)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
November 15th 2010



7966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That makes this covered.

KILL
November 15th 2010



67191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i wish i could write as gd as you

Nagrarok
November 15th 2010



7966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's nothing extraordinary, practice is the key.

KILL
November 15th 2010



67191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea true but every time i try to write i cant help but stop and jam to rush its so fucking hard for me

BigHans
November 15th 2010



26455 Comments


Nag has a good style, straight to the point. Pretty much the opposite of me.

Nagrarok
November 15th 2010



7966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I learned to write to the point since that's the best way to go with these discogs.

Jethro42
November 15th 2010



12059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn, I didn't know Peter Banks was fired. I own his first solo album, released in 1973. John Wetton and Phil collins have been assuring the rhythm section. Awesome stuff:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzhy6kRFFDY
Review is excellent, I only disagree that you've given a lower rate for this one. It contains slightly more enjoyable songs than their first one imo.


Nagrarok
November 15th 2010



7966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It seems I like the debut better and you like this better.

Jethro42
November 15th 2010



12059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nag has a good style, straight to the point. Pretty much the opposite of me.

haha pretty much. But you are truly a good writer Hans, nonetheless. I'm not bad myself, mostly when I write in French =P



Jethro42
November 15th 2010



12059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It seems I like the debut better and you like this better

It seems, yes. Probably like you, I am not inclined to listen to neither one nor the other too often.


Nagrarok
November 15th 2010



7966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Yes Album up to Relayer is so much better, it logically decreases the interest for the first two albums.

Jethro42
November 15th 2010



12059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're absolutely right. Rick Wakeman and Steve Howe were so much welcome to join the fold.
edit: Wakeman joined for Fragile, needless to say.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2010



16126 Comments


The Yes Album up to Relayer is so much better, it logically decreases the interest for the first two albums.


123

Great review Nag.

porch
November 15th 2010



8390 Comments


decent album

ubermensch518
November 15th 2010



52 Comments


i some how missed this in my collecting of yes...nice little review, you've inspired me to aquire this album

EVedder27
November 15th 2010



6088 Comments


nice, short and sweet

AnotherBrick
November 15th 2010



9766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty good album

JustJoe
November 16th 2010



1399 Comments


Nag'd.

Digging: Stevie Wonder - Innervisions

Edwin
November 16th 2010



1399 Comments


Top review, slowly starting to delve into this band.

wrax
November 17th 2010



21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is one of the albums which sounds of its time. It sounds like it's post-hippy, early 70s London and flower kaftans in the rucksack. The albums to come (The Yes Album, Fragile, CTTE, TFPO and Relayer) are timeless and ageless. They could have been recorded last week. Time And A Word has some great moments - Astral Traveller (never thought I'd see that one played live and did in 2008!) and The Prophet. The best however was yet to come.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy