Actress
Splazsh


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
November 14th, 2010 | 71 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hybrids

Actress is certainly one of the more interesting producers plying his trade in London these days. His excellent debut Hazyville showed that he wasn’t content with chasing his tail around the dark and deadly corners of his own sprawling metropolis; it was obvious that he’d spent a good deal of time wandering the dirty streets of Detroit and Berlin. Splazsh continues this trend; it’s a nomadic record, a well thought out and occasionally fascinating work that sets the standard for intelligent electronica.

The majority of the tracks are characterised by throbbing synths and slow percussion, with the icing on the musical cake provided by squealing melodies or jerky beeps that lacerate the soft rhythmic underbelly. Hubble, with its slowly pulsating synthline, sets the template for what follows; this is music intended to make you move, but created with enough skill to ensure multiple listens are needed to fully appreciate it.
Lost is an enthralling six minute journey through shadowy streets where grey hooded silhouettes appear fleetingly, drenched in the amber rays of a crippled streetlight, before merging once more into the impenetrable dark. The scattered sighs that echo from the somnolent depths provide the albums greatest moment; cold electronics fuse with a nervous and troubled humanity to sublime and utterly compelling effect.

Polar opposite Purrple Splazsh is yet another testament to his skill, for a completely different reason. It’s a sharp, focused banger featuring an erratic guitar riff, cut up vocals and pounding drums. Actress knows how to party as well as enthral; this one begs to be played though a massive sound system at maximum volume.

In the end, it’s Actress’ uncanny ability to draw dichotomous sounds from all over the sonic spectrum and weave them together into an intricate web that makes Splazsh stand out from the crowd; Actress is a musical globetrotter, and he’s not afraid to admit it.

An intriguing listen, and easily greater than the sum of its parts.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (81)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Ghettoville

R.I.P

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
November 14th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thank you unsound festival

Enotron
November 14th 2010


7695 Comments


oh word just dl'd this yesterday

hard to get into but nice review

Adash
November 14th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

much obliged

yeah the first time I listened I thought it was pretty average. Its not perfect but is really interesting nonetheless

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2010


15051 Comments


listened to this and was so bored i couldnt get past the third track

noticed there were eleven more

nearly died

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2010


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice work, album is awesome and will easily be in my end of year list

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

Adash
November 14th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

cheers, its definately a grower
need to give hazyville a few more spins

Adash
November 14th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

double posting is annoysing

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2010


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hazyville is better, but only by a fraction

Adash
November 14th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

just reread this and realized that ' ; ' is by far my favourite word

now time for some eleven tigers methinks

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2010


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good choice

Yotimi
November 14th 2010


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really like this. And Robertsona it picks up as the album goes along

MaskAtTheMasquerade
November 14th 2010


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Darma Initiative

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
November 15th 2010


3772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eh, this is one of those albums where I'm like yeah I appreciate what he's trying to do but I don't know if I like it. I think I'm not undrgrnd enugh for this.

Digging: The Flaming Lips - With A Little Help From My Fwends

Adash
November 15th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

you're a kissy sellout is what you are

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2010


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Down under but not underground

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
November 15th 2010


3772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I kinda sorta dont mind kissy sellout

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2010


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHAT'S WRONG WITH KISSY?

Adash
November 16th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

streetlight seems to have some inexplicable grundge against him and actress

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
November 16th 2010


3772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mostly I just hate nice things.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2010


31362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Guess that means we can't talk anymore then



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy