Teebs
Ardour


4.0
excellent

Review

by Eno USER (34 Reviews)
November 13th, 2010 | 53 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ardour further solidifies why 2010 belongs to Brainfeeder.

Artists like Teebs are the essential component of influxing music scenes. Flying Lotus' very own Brainfeeder label has been pummeling 2010 release after release with his own magnum opus Cosmogramma, two conceptually solid releases from Mono/Poly and TOKiMONSTA, an underwhelming yet undeniably chill LP from Lorn, Daedelus' haunting debut on the label, and not to mention the Gaslamp Killer produced A Sufi and a Killer. Continuing the winning streak for the LA-based electronic label, Teebs' has put out an LP of jazzy, beat-based soundscapes on Ardour. It's an atmospheric and varied release, with airy hip-hop tracks such as "Wind Loop", string-heavy production mixed with glitch beats on "King Bathtub", to more texture-based tracks in the vein of "Bern Rhythm". Considering it's length of 50 minutes, it's incredibly digestible as two to four minutes tracks flow and fade into each other with much cohesion and a unique touch. Ardour doesn't introduce anything particularly innovative, but it's rather a celebration of the sound it presents and the scene it belongs to. Teebs' debut works wonderfully as an amalgamation of the various sounds of Brainfeeder. The record takes influence from the highly-produced and textural sounds of Flylo and TOKiMONSTA, but presents itself in a dilla-esque format more familiar to fans of Samiyam. It's the psychedelic sounds of LA electronic artists, stripped down to a mix of short tracks presentable to beatheads and hip-hop fans alike, with vinyl crackles to seal it off.

This isn't to say Ardour is without flaws; it at times gets a bit too chill, especially for its sprawling length. Though he's certainly not an exact replica of his fellow Brainfeeder producers, Teebs' debut leaves a pathway for him to further mark his personality and niche in the current electronic scene. It's not a particularly expansive release, varying itself to a delightful extent, but never throwing the listener into the unknown. Nonetheless, Ardour is a lush, blooming record that works as a masterful mix of everything that's right about the Flylo-led, jazz-tinged electronic scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Beau Navire HoursWeekend Nachos Worthless
Raekwon Shaolin vs. Wu-TangTim Hecker Ravedeath, 1972
Palmkite The Sound Of SnowfallEmeralds Does It Look Like I'm Here?
user ratings (106)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

E S T A R A
recommended by reviewer
TOKiMONSTA Midnight Menu
Samiyam Rap Beats Vol. 1

Comments:Add a Comment 
Enotron
November 13th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A luv-letter ta brainfeeder

album rules

point out any typos and such

thanks

Enotron
November 13th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ok no but really check this out please, someone besides deviant?

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2010


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yah solid

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2010


31493 Comments


Ok fine, I wont comment

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Enotron
November 13th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

meh we can talks bout it

JustJoe
November 13th 2010


1399 Comments


I should look into this. The album artwork looks pretty cool.

Nice review, Eno.

shortz
November 13th 2010


201 Comments


This album is awesome, good to see a review on here.

Short and to the point - pos'd

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2010


31493 Comments


I'm just happy that people are talking about people like Mono/Poly and TOKiMONSTA on this site

But in all honesty, this album is a very low 3.5 - it loses its focus far too often

Enotron
November 13th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eh i kind of like how loose it is

it was gonna be a 3.5 but I just digged the textures and feels of it too much.

liledman
November 13th 2010


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

downloaded this yesterday, going to listen asap.

nice review eno.

Enotron
November 13th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks eddie

liledman
November 14th 2010


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listening now, and this is pretty damn good.

some of the criticism ive seen was saying that this is just a dull and boring cosmogramma, but i think its a bit harsh and they shouldnt really be compared in that respect anyway.

Enotron
November 14th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find it to be a bit more pristine than Cosmogramma and the tracks on Arbour tend to sort of explore individual themes, while personally(though some disagree) I find Cosmogramma to be a bit more album structured and cohesive.

Gyromania
November 14th 2010


15967 Comments


Pos

liledman
November 14th 2010


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think the main thing with this is that its more about the textures in each track, cosmogramma has a lot more experimentation in different sounds/styles.

this flows very well, but probably doesnt feel as structured as an album mainly because it doesnt have any real direction.

Enotron
November 14th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nothin i don't agree with there

cheers for the pos's gents

PurpleDrank
November 17th 2010


417 Comments


double fifths is the biggest mindfuck.

this is really great.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2010


15069 Comments


pretty cool. a good approximation of the kind of stuff i want right now

edit: although my future with gonjasufi is not looking bright; hate the sin not the sinner

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2010


15069 Comments


this album is the beach bowl galaxy level in super mario galaxy

[img]http://media.strategywiki.org/images/f/f8/Supermariogalaxy-bbg1.jpg[/img]


mmm. delicious. might even bump this up; great find eno

Enotron
November 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad to see you're liking it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy