My Ticket Home
The Opportunity To Be


3.5
great

Review

by ANewTypeOfPunk USER (12 Reviews)
November 13th, 2010 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: jun to my ears

This band is like every other band that's been coming out in the past few years. And that's not exactly a bad thing, it's just most likely people will give it zero attention. Which to be honest, is understandable. You won't be missing out a lot unless you either have a guilty pleasure now and then for some modern (young) metalcore, or you're fan of the genre. This is by no means ground breaking stuff in any way, shape, or form.

Well, that's not entirely true. There are a few certain aspects of Ohio based My Ticket Home that set them apart, certainly their lead vocalist Sean Mackowski has some pipes. Now when I say pipes, I'm not referring to the cliche "whiny" high pitched vocals that seem to be in abundance lately. Sean has a great calming voice, and he uses it well. There are at no points where his voice is grating or tiresome, in fact he creates some of the more shining moments on the album.

Sean, in partnership with screamer Nick Guimenti create flowing verses, lush with catchy hooks, and great sound. The music in itself is slightly lacking, not very technical, but then again, not all bands need technicality to be good.
The guitarists are there to make sure you're never bored, but they never really shine, one going more for a "jun" to "sludgy" feel, while the other soars in the higher frets (you'll know what I mean if you listen). The drummer is pretty good, nothing special, but he does however show potential. He just needs more experimentation with time signatures. He is capable of keeping a very solid beat however and throws in some great fills (also check the intro to Refuge In Purpose). The bassist is virtually non-existant. He really only reinforces the drop-d tunage of dissonant low junning and power cords. Make no mistake though, this band isn't all junning, it's just used a fair amount if not a bit too much.

The screams are great. Nick has great range, and I for one have trouble not tapping my foot and screaming along.
Unfortunately most people peg this kid a copier of his older friend Caleb Shomo (vocalist of Attack Attack!) but interestingly enough, this band released a few singles much earlier than any of the new Attack Attack! stuff came out. Also interestingly enough, this kid sounds VERY similar live, which is nice to hear. Too often are screamers over-produced and riddled with lies, LIES.

And with the album closer, slow, soft singing based 'The Opportunity To Be" (piano with Sean showing off his range really, its good but I tend to skip it usually unless I'm in the mood) the band even shows some diversity.

Anyways, My Ticket Home is basically one of those fun bands that are catchy and sound great. They are nothing special, but I think if you had to pick only a few bands to listen to of the recently released, this would have to be in it. They deserve some attention for being simply put, solid.



Recent reviews by this author
Tom Caruana Enter the Magical Mystery ChambersBring Me the Horizon There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It
Scarlett O'Hara Lost In ExistenceThe Word Alive Empire
Addison Closer To HomeAttack Attack! (US) Attack Attack!
user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
lucasjcockcroft (3)
Attack Attack 2.0...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know i'll get shit for this one. I just enjoy em :P

ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really andcas you don't like them? I'm surprised, usually we're pretty similar.

ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think the singer shows some potential, as with the drummer. the rest are meh.

the screams are great though...

ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

granted if they weren't so catchy this band would have nothing

RosaParks
November 13th 2010


14927 Comments


Cannot stand this band

ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoy experimental a lot actually, ambient hardcore is great too, really good for setting specific moods in the song.

this band is just a guilty pleasure for me i guess haha

ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this band is a million times better than attack attack. at least i've listened to them a million times more... lol

PinkBlackberry
November 13th 2010


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ill give this a listen for shits and giggles.

and god damn a new type. you're literally maturing before our eyes.

that is a pretty decent review. excellent in comparison to your others.

kudos my friend

ANewTypeOfPunk
November 13th 2010


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man, i wrote this at like 4 am really burnt out, i'm surprised it turned out coherent at all...

near-collapse exhaustion FTW!

TheOceanInside
November 13th 2010


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

band is pretty good. i agree they are better than AA!

RosaParks
November 14th 2010


14927 Comments


band is barely better than AA!

youdontknow37
November 14th 2010


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This is by no means ground breaking stuff in any way, shape, or form.

Well, that's not entirely true."

How can these sentences possibly be one after the other? Other than that, decent review. I really like this band, but don't like the new melodies in surroundings and refuge in purpose. They pretty much sound exactly like new attack attack.

TheOceanInside
November 14th 2010


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

transition^

crsini
November 19th 2010


93 Comments


"They are nothing special, but I think if you had to pick only a few bands to listen to of the recently released, this would have to be in it."

This sentence is a bit awkwardly worded and unnecessary. The change from "they" to "this" is also a bit awkward. If you want to keep that sentence intact though, you should probably change it to "They are nothing special, but if you had to pick only a few bands (possibly switch the word bands with "albums"?) to listen to of the recently released, they (obviously if you switched the word bands with albums, "they" would be changed to "this") would have to be one of them." Just my two cents.

Pos'd though. I agree this is a solid review in comparison to your others.

crsini
November 19th 2010


93 Comments


o rly?

PinkBlackberry
November 20th 2010


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

he, like our little posse likes to spam furiously.

We taught him well.

TheOceanInside
November 20th 2010


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i got banned for posting a gay porn from lemonparty, sonic took offense and reported me :/

oh well

TheOceanInside
November 21st 2010


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sputnik is just a homophobe i guess...

TheOceanInside
November 21st 2010


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah haha I fully agree with you there, like arguing with a wall haha. oh well, fresh start with this account...

so andcas, any band recommendations for me? i'm bored

TheOceanInside
November 21st 2010


439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like, any others?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy