Virus (NO)
Carheart


4.0
excellent

Review

by Voivod STAFF
November 11th, 2010 | 21 replies | 6,851 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In a nutshell, Carheart could be seen as the immaculate fusion of the avant-garde convictions of Ved Buens Ende with the dark prog rock era of Voivod.

The immaculate transition of Canada’s metal pioneers Voivod from Rrroooaaarrr to Killing Technology and Dimension Hatross was utterly overlooked at the time of its occurrence. Few people also took notice of the band’s shape shifting process from Dimension Hatross to Nothingface and Angel Rat. It’s like when someone sees a bright comet shredding the dark sky at the speed of light. Few people saw it, while it’s almost impossible to convince the rest whether the incident has actually taken place.

Carl Michael Eide (aka Czral) from Ved Buens Ende was among the very few people that took hold of Voivod’s musical endeavors from day one. Ved Buens Ende’s Written In Waters was issued in 1995 and introduced a superb mixture of the Voivod legacy along with the Norwegian eerie black metal ethics. The second comet shred the sky, however the waters were unfortunately shaken only a little and shifted back to their previous “unwritten” status.

From 1995 to 2003, Carl Michael went on to explore diverse fields of extreme metal with several bands that were more or less “out of the box” as well (Aura Noir, Cadaver, Dodheimsgard), while he began to test and improve on his skills as a guitarist. However, the musical territory that Ved Buens Ende first paced remained largely unexplored, while it could be translated in more ways than one. Virus and their debut album, Carheart, constitute an atypical first step towards that direction.

In a nutshell, Carheart could be seen as the successful fusion of the avant-garde convictions of Ved Buens Ende with the dark prog rock era of Voivod. The first listening sessions reveal that the band has revised with the utmost detail the songwriting ethics of both VBE and Voivod and kept those elements that would produce something truly unique and original. As a guitarist, Carl Michael retains – to a certain degree – the dissonant and atonal “vapor cloud” touch of Vicotnic’s riffing in Written in Waters. His breakthrough in Carheart is that he incorporates that aura into a strictly rock “less-is-more” songwriting attitude. The rhythm section – both drums and bass – could be seen as an original re-interpretation of Away’s and Blacky’s ingenious work in Angel Rat (more) and Nothingface (less). The bass lines adapt ideally either to playful/frenetic tempos or serpent-like moves, taking place in and out between the drums and the guitars. As for the drums, they may follow the copious road to minimalism, however they carry superb vigor and technicality, regardless of whether they go mid or slow tempo.

Behind the microphone, there lies Carl Michael. Carl Michael did the vocals on Written in Waters back in 1995. His baritone voice sounded then atonal, abstract and somehow “lazy”. In this album, he follows a different path. He enhances his baritone pitch, while he is exceptionally ironic when it comes to how he sings the lyrics, in the vein of Snake’s work with Voivod. The lyrics… A look at the tracks’ titles and the album artwork reveal that they belong to the realm of lunacy, just as Carl Michael is.

Commenting on the the band’s overall performance, Virus add up on the firmly established tradition of rock/metal trios being tight as hell. This is even more amplified by the superb sound production, which is both “clean” and “dirty” at the same time.

All in all, with their debut, Virus set a whole new musical car-heart into function, strong enough to simultaneously incorporate influences from the avant-garde spectrum of extreme metal and rock and to live up to the most demanding expectations from today’s avant-garde rock/metal scene.

Recommended songs:
Carheart
Queen of the hioace
Road
It’s All Gone Weird
Beelevator



Recent reviews by this author
Essence Beyond CarnivalismElectric Citizen Sateen
Vicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American PunishmentMayhem Esoteric Warfare
The Graviators MotherloadMekong Delta In a Mirror Darkly
user ratings (20)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream: http://virusnorway.bandcamp.com/album/carheart





Constructive criticism is most welcome.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

Foxhound
November 11th 2010



4570 Comments


walrus

lostforwords
November 11th 2010



445 Comments


Being a huge fan of Ved Buens Ende, I don't think this record comes even close to Written in Waters. The lack of black metal - more as a feeling than as a sound- is crucial.
Very good review otherwise and I don't understand why the hell you haven't reviewed any Voivod yet.pos

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



7164 Comments


Great review of Voivod, Voivod.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed, Virus are different from Ved Buens Ende, however they hold a certain influence from VBE.

The riffs are rock-oriented but they bring in mind Vicotnik's work in Written In Waters

And Carl Michael's vocals are awesome.

As for Voivod, i'm getting there, i'm getting there...

I'm waiting for words and pieces to fall in place.

This review was difficult to write too, as Virus isn't easy to describe.



Great review of Voivod, Voivod.

haha lol

It was so difficult to write this, without referring to Voivod.

Virus, as well as Ved Buens Ende back in 1995, are fruitfully influenced by them and certainly they do not copy them.

Carl Michael Eide is such a great Voivod fan, that all his groups' names, in which he is the "leader", start intentionally by the letter V.

I can't blame him, would you? lol


On the other hand, their second and most recent album, The Black Flux, doesn't bring in mind anything.

Adash
November 11th 2010



1356 Comments


how old were you when you had your dark prog rock era?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Adash

i'm not quite sure what do you mean by your question :-)

Adash
November 11th 2010



1356 Comments


im talking about your immaculate fusion with VBE

by Voivod, I presume you mean you

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you mixed my username with the band.

I'm a huge Voivod fan, that's why i use this username.



pizzamachine
November 11th 2010



12571 Comments


Great production values, those instruments sound very raw. Nice review!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the band plays with tremendous vigor

Thanx man.

Willie
Moderator
November 11th 2010



15909 Comments


Good review. This and Ved Buens Ende both sound interesting.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Trey, i was planning to give you a notice about this, the minute i uploaded the review, as i was sure you would show interest in it.

But you got me first.

Thanx for the feedback.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



7164 Comments


Username/band name jokes aside, this was really a great review =) I certainly enjoyed reading it (and learnt quite a lot too!).

Adash
November 11th 2010



1356 Comments


I always get voivod confused with intronaut

+ you should write a review about yourself

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

+ you should write a review about yourself

lol


Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



7164 Comments


you should write a review about yourself


That'd be his self-titled debut.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lolololololololololol

perhaps i should change my reviewing name to

"The User Presently Known As Voivod"

so that people won't get confused.

Jethro42
November 11th 2010



12391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LOL "The User Presently Known As Voivod"
Good review mr Voivod. Band is so unique, and you're right, Virus isn't easy to describe. Will you cover 'The Black Flux' too, or perhaps everything has been said on here?
Virus > Ved Buens Ende
btw

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the vote of confidence Jethro

i will review The Black Flux in time.

I just mp3'd my physical copy into my mp3 player.

In The Black Flux, things are done a bit different, there is more groove and more "anger".

I think Ved Buens Ende is as good as Virus.

If Voivod decided to play black metal the Norwegian way, they would sound like Ved Buens Ende.

Virus is more rock-oriented and thus more "accessible".



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy