Sika Redem
Entheogen


4.0
excellent

Review

by Powerban USER (9 Reviews)
November 11th, 2010 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A monolithic underground masterpiece.

Finding music you enjoy is quite simple these days. It's too bad there are still a lot of bands that slip under the radar. Guess what? Sika Redem are one of those bands. They're based in Conventry, England and are known for melding post-hardcore, post-rock and post-metal with erratic transitions. They mention Converge, Isis, Mogwai, Circle Takes The Square, Pink Floyd and Off Minor as their influences. I can safely say that this is pretty much as close as you will get to the sound of all those bands combined.

There is also an added instrument into the mix. When Tommy Jones isn't unloading his emotionally distressing post-hardcore vocals, you will often find him singing in indistinguishable clean vocals. Even though they're usually hard to decipher, they build a whole different atmosphere by adding chant-like meloncholic spaceyness and a different vibe to break up the chaos. You will immediately notice it on the albums opener The October Bird Of Death where he uses his voice to actually intensify the incoming climax. On your first listen through, that track will be the one you may come back to first because it is slightly more accessible than the rest.

The other track I would like to mention is perhaps the most colossal monster to ever meet your ears. Stretching For The Zenith starts off with a nice softly played riff with the bass and drums following to play along to it. The song seems like it's going to be a nice stoner-esque chill out session to flow into the end of the album. This is far from the truth. When Tommy's screams start, everything gradually gets more claustrophobic as the song progresses. Unlike other tracks that let you have a breather, the breaks are about as long as a blink of an eye. The screams are basically unrelentless for about 8 minutes and just when you think the song can't possibly change to another direction, it does. The climaxes are quite quick and slightly overwhelming. Sekret Redem is placed right after it and slows everything down to let you try to absorb everything you've just heard before it's all over.

The mathy technicalities are also a highlight. They never try to go over the top and just show off. Their compositions, while quite spastic, seem well thought out. To put it simply: Entheogen is an unconventional must listen for everyone. There is just so much emotion in this album that you need to listen to it a few times over to correctly absorb all the different feelings it outlays.



Recent reviews by this author
Sinew The Beauty of ContrastFields of Locust Subtopia
Leech The Stolen ViewAmenra Mass IIII
The Paper Chase Someday This Could All Be Yours Vol.1Tephra A Modicum Of Truth
user ratings (17)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Powerban
November 11th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh and the guy who produced the Cult Of Luna albums also produced this.

Get onto it.

The October Bird Of Death:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbhlmXu1gXA

Stretching For The Zenith:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpvNiC1_OoU


Gyromania
November 11th 2010


15706 Comments


They're based in Coventry in England and they meld post-hardcore, post-rock and post-metal with random chaos.

You might want to change this to something like this: They're based in Conventry, England and are known for melding post-hardcore, post-rock, and post-metal. I would expand on that 'with random chaos' bit.

they sound quite amazing and adds a chant-like meloncholic spaceyness and a different vibe to break up the chaos.

Just a pet-peeve, but please refrain from saying things like 'sounds quite amazing'. Also, change 'adds' to 'add' because 'adds' doesn't work in context.

as a blink of your eyelid

Might want to change this to 'as a blink of an eye'.

I noticed that you italicize both bands and song titles. To help differentiate I like to italicize album titles, leave band names as they are (obviously capitalize them), and frame songs in quotation marks. Good review though, you used artists as a comparison to give the listener an idea of what to expect when listening to them. You can obviously write well, but you should transition things more appropriately and work a little on sentence structure. But yeah, make those corrections and you're all set. Pos'd.

Powerban
November 11th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll go fix it now.

eternium
November 11th 2010


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This sounds like something I'd love.

Powerban
November 12th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check out the youtube videos dude.

Powerban
November 12th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's a shame that no one has checked this out yet.

Relinquished
November 12th 2010


25054 Comments


all you had to do was mention Cult of Luna

Powerban
November 12th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like how the first linked video for Stretching For The Zenith on youtube is "Me on Acid, Coke, Speed and Ecstasy all at once. in 2008"

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2010


31161 Comments


Hmmm, sounds interesting. Will get

Nice work Powerban

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Powerban
November 12th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks dude.

Josh D.
November 12th 2010


13968 Comments


Listened to a track on YouTube. Not bad.

Relinquished
November 12th 2010


25054 Comments


I heard Stretching... but the snare sucked

Powerban
November 18th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can understand that assumption. this album is pretty raw. it takes more patience than usual. it's rewarding though, probs needs about 5-6 listens to get into it.

Powerban
November 18th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maybe this song might help you guys out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jo0OOUUMtEk

it's their latest stuff yet to be put on an album.

a lot more post-metal, and sexy.

tkxxx7
November 28th 2010


6153 Comments


Band sounds interesting, but I'm not digging the review. Awkward in many parts, doesn't seem to flow nicely. Short, but not as sweet as I'd like. Not trying to sound like an ass or anything; just putting my couple cents out there.

Powerban
November 29th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

While you seemed to have put your two cents out there, you haven't helped me out at all. Not saying you're an ass either, just more information like Gyro suggested would be great.

I can probably use a few dashes/hyphens in some places actually. I have an uncanny way of making my reviews seem awkward and I'm not quite sure how.

Grignard
November 30th 2010


127 Comments


I can see why you suggested this to me Powerban. This is pretty sad how unnoticed this is...

tkxxx7
December 1st 2010


6153 Comments


Well, you tend to start paragraphs with sentences that belong in the middle of paragraphs ; i.e. ones containing "also", "as well", etc.

The other thing that stands out is how you write two sentences that could easily could be combined, which makes the review seem choppier.

As far as things like the information/opinion ratio, though, your review excels, which is where so many others falter.

wacknizzle
June 14th 2012


13226 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've had this album on my Itunes for like 4 years and it wasn't till recently that I gave it a full listen, this album is incredible, sucks that this band flew completely under the radar.

Digging: Dioramic - Supra

Feels
June 21st 2012


267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Absolutely loved this album, and I'm sure I'll get many more listens out of it; surprising more haven't heard it.

Digging: Brontide - Artery



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy