The Aquabats
Radio Down!


2.5
average

Review

by Mr. Lean Mug USER (110 Reviews)
November 10th, 2010 | 26 replies | 7,399 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The soundtrack to twenty thousand-ish Aquacadets ejaculating.

1 of 2 thought this review was well written

The Aquabats appear to have lost their minds. Oh, wait, that’s old news. Ok, for the sake of argument, if they still had minds to lose, Radio Down! would be the judge’s gavel pounding resulting in the group being carted off in candy and rainbow coated straight jackets to the sanitarium. Continuing down their synth-pop yellow brick road of recent years, Radio Down! is everything you’d expect from the Aquabats: catchy and smile-inducingly charming.

The EP is half Blondie, half Billy Idol, the latter garnering a prominent nod in their upcoming full-length’s first single, the track this release shares it's name with. Featuring rapper, various-media-personality, and sometimes funny man Biz Markie, “Radio Down!” is the new-age new wave anthem for any teenager trying to forcibly remove an adult’s hand from the volume dial. It’s on “Best Day of My Life!” that the ‘bats start to test the limits of how much synth their listener wants in their ska. At times, this track’s sound seems just a little too forced, something even the feel-good-song-of-the-year lyrics can’t quite salvage.

Radio Down! just comes across as a tad too overproduced and artificial for it’s own good. Christian “MC Bat Commander” Jacobs’ snarky vocal delivery manages to retain the flair of the Aquabats of old, but where are the jingly-jangly guitars? The bumpin’ bass? Hell, I barely even remember the drums and I’m listening to this as I write. The cheesiness of it all (including the album art) is sure to appeal to the most die-hard of fans, but will probably act as a turn off for anyone expecting to hear the sounds of a bratty, old-fashioned ska act. This is hardly a bad indication of things to come on the band’s next full-length due out next year, but one would hope they find a better mix of old and new in their sound lest they become just another pop band using a synthesizer.



Recent reviews by this author
Fucked Up Year of the DragonRome Fortune Beautiful Pimp II
Maxo Kream QuiccstrikesSelf Defense Family Try Me
FatKidsBrotha Eastside Paradise IIMeyhem Lauren and Icerocks Raw Cashmere
user ratings (10)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
November 10th 2010



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/#/11

stream. album art refuses to cooperate. i'll try to fix that or i'll go whine to the mods about it eventually

Digging: Fucked Up - Year of the Dragon

Hep Kat
November 10th 2010



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well i've always lurked here, that's never gonna change. as for why i'm contributing again, idk really. boredom i guess.


also i think it would be hilarious to get my emeritus tag and lord over nubz from my onyx throne on high

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2010



17119 Comments


they lost me at charge... shame because fury and floating eye are the shit

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

WatchItExplode
November 10th 2010



3072 Comments


band is good in small doses...review is a small dose of goodness

Phideaux
November 10th 2010



1653 Comments


Good review. Saw these guys last night and it was awesome. They're tons of fun live. They played radio down, which I thought was pretty good. Gonna have to listen to the stream I guess.

astrel
November 10th 2010



2613 Comments


This EP made me *frown face*

Hep Kat
November 10th 2010



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah theyre a good live band


and i thought this was good, obviously, just not the direction they should be taking

Hep Kat
November 10th 2010



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so uh the summary um



anyone c wht i did thar





anyone? : (

MassiveAttack
November 10th 2010



2684 Comments


I did not sir, explain.

Hep Kat
November 10th 2010



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

*sigh*


it's cuz this psyfgt is never around anymore.

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/37311/Against-Me!-White-Crosses/

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2010



17119 Comments


if this site was a pei wei he'd never leave. but alas, he's pretty much gone. good for him

Hep Kat
November 10th 2010



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

he got out, and i'm getting back in



lord what is WRONG with me

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2010



17119 Comments


i just cave every time. resistance is fucking futile.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 11th 2010



7011 Comments


Fun read. Pos.

Digging: Pixies - Indie Cindy

Pizza
November 11th 2010



687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

great review. EP is terrible . I hope the album isnt like this or I will cry

sniper
November 11th 2010



18584 Comments


I used to love the fuck out of this band. Haven't listened to them in years though.

Pizza
November 11th 2010



687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

don't listen to this then it will just make you cringe

sniper
November 11th 2010



18584 Comments


:c I won't. I love everything up to and including Charge but I lost track of them after that, although I don't think they released anything noteworthy since then anyway.

Pizza
November 11th 2010



687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

same here. i think they've just had a couple songs since Charge, or at least one. if you haven't seen them live then you should still see them though, they put on a great show and it's always fun

Douglas
November 11th 2010



8984 Comments


this sucks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy