Crossbearer
Transgressor EP


4.0
excellent

Review

by matthew turok USER (32 Reviews)
November 8th, 2010 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Crossbearer's 2008 release was the clear maturation of their sound.

Crossbearer was one of the more powerful metalcore bands to come about over the past decade. Taking influences from melodic metalcore with societal commentary along the lines of Shai Hulud or extremely atmospheric post hardcore like Hopesfall, Crossbearer melded it into a sound somewhat distinct to themselves, but conventional enough to keep them from rising to the top of their scene. Transgressor is the culmination of the sound they had been working toward their entire career: a powerful blend of metalcore and post-hardcore that contains nearly no breakdowns at all.

Comparisons are always tedious, but this is something along the lines of bands like Misery Signals, Era, and For The Fallen Dreams, but somehow more honest sounding. The lyrical content could be described as strongly atheist and misanthropic, as the majority of their material is a verbal assault on organized religion, and the hypocrisy of most beings currently in power:

"The death of the ghost in the machine brings the redefining of mind and being; and carries a sure consequence for man's freedom of will and all his knowledge both presuppose the fact of mental causes as matter in motion is enslaved to the laws of nature--cold and indifferent, deaf to our prayers, blind, mechanistic."


As you can see, unlike most bands of the sort, CB's lyrics are actually thought out and put to a manner that's both catchy and thought-provoking. The vocal delivery only augments this, as the vocals are very intense and relentless during hardcore segments up until their quite engaging melodic interludes.

This EP is a great example of the contrast between heavy and soft that plagues metalcore these days, but done right. Rather than going from the most metal part possible to the most sing songy clean chorus, these guys took their hardcore segments where they needed to go and built them into moving instrumental segments that make the works sound complete.



Recent reviews by this author
Mayak (Rus) The Art Of Not Feeling FineRitual Mess Ritual Mess
Tower Of Rome & Gun Kata SplitStray From the Path Our Oceania
Codex (USA) DelusionsManners Pale Blue Light
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is kind of a shitty review, I'll definitely rework it throughout the night.

Anyway, here's a few samples:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TN9TkNyyRH0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJOp2kFNEIc

And here's the download link, that the band put up themselves:
http://www.mediafire.com/?d5wgl5ykjyq

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


31617 Comments


Stupid artwork

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


17230 Comments


could have sworn this had some weird blue/green photoshop artwork when i downloaded this

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


31617 Comments


I checked a few sites and they all had this - it coincides with all their other artwork as well

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


17230 Comments


it was years ago so i could be wrong. my memory has been destroyed.

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the artwork they've had up on myspace this whole time.

Would you guys mind giving me critique as to what I could improve with the review, I mean I'm just kind of sick/half asleep and having trouble writing atm, so direction would be much appreshed. c:

cvlts
November 8th 2010


8984 Comments


wow thats seriously the album art? gaay

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like the album art, made me lul.

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Or just neg and don't say anything helpful whatsoever, that would be awesome guys.

cvlts
November 8th 2010


8984 Comments


didnt neg but it probably doesnt help that you state right off the bat that its a shitty review

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


16478 Comments


Taking influences from a wide array of places, be it melodic metalcore with societal commentary along the lines of Shai Hulud or extremely atmospheric post hardcore like Hopesfall, Crossbearer melded it into a sound somewhat distinct to themselves, but conventional enough to make them stand out on top of (to the listener clearly) a scene that they never got too popular in.


I thought this sentence was a bit of a chore to read, probably could clean that up.

Transgressor is the culmination of the sound they had been working for the four years that they released their powerful blend of metalcore and post-hardcore... with nearly no breakdowns.

Transgressor is the culmination of the sound they had been working toward their entire career: a powerful blend of metalcore and post-hardcore that contains nearly no breakdowns at all.

I think something along those lines would read smoother. Also more description of the instruments would be helpful.

Review is a little rough around the edges, but nothing that can't be fixed. Hope that helps Mappy.

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It also doesn't help that I know of a few specific "trolls" that vehemently dislike me that neg every single thing I write.

Thanks Crysis!

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


17230 Comments


hey i pos'ed this so yeah

Adash
November 8th 2010


1356 Comments


i know this is quite cuntish and unhelpful, but don't write reviews when you're sick/half asleep

+ i think people are negging the artwork

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


16478 Comments


Woops missed one

catchy and thought provoking.


thought-provoking*

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Redskys: d'aww thanks!

Adash: lol the "cunt-ish"ness is lolzy and true

Crysis: thanks again, I'll edit this shi real soon.

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay slightly tweaked, thanks to the help of user Crysis.

edit: oh and samples and link provided. :]

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010


16478 Comments


Might take a listen to this EP, haven't heard a good metalcore record in fucking ages.

witchxrapist
November 8th 2010


11057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do it up yo, tell me what you think.

Maniac!
November 8th 2010


26257 Comments


They sound like a preachy Christian band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy