AC/DC
High Voltage (International)


4.0
excellent

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
November 8th, 2010 | 25 replies | 4,691 views


Release Date: 1976 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Young fellas playing some rockin' music.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Released in ’76, High Voltage was AC/DC’s first international album, introducing the world to their electrifying brand of rock. ‘It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll’, lead singer Bon Scott proclaimed in the album’s opening song. And a long way it was indeed, but AC/DC got to there. They didn’t do it by being amazing as musicians. They did it by being amazing as performers, with a type of instantly catchy and simple music that took more heart to write than the majority of the commercialised music that comes out today.

Leading the whole party is of course Angus Young, the rare occasion of a guitarist being the face of the band (see album covers for proof), giving the music its basic power with his ever-effective three-chord riffs and ditto solos, while Malcolm can always be expected to provide great rhythm interplay with his brother. On High Voltage, the band simply plays about being in a rock ‘n roll band, something which, as we all know, they have never ceased to do. Scott is already throwing out his typical lyrical wit: ‘I hear it pays well’, he sings about his profession in Rock ‘n’ Roll Singer, but the simple shout of ‘high voltage rock ‘n roll!’ on the title track is just as effective. Otherwise, we are entertained with more AC/DC traditions that were there since the start: self-empowering anthems (Live Wire, T.N.T.), and their infamous sexual innuendos (The Jack, Little Lover). It’s the band’s signature traits, and they will force you to either love or hate them.

What is certainly true is that AC/DC are and have always been good at what they do. The music is simple, the music is catchy, the music just rocks. High Voltage was an excellent worldwide debut that showed us all perfectly well what these boys from Australia were capable of: creating high voltage rock ‘n’ roll. It was something they would continue to do for quite a few years to come.

High Voltage Rock ‘n’ Roll Songs:

It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll)
The Jack
Live Wire
T.N.T.
High Voltage


High Voltage’s AC/DC was:

- Ronald Belford ‘Bon’ Scott ~ Lead Vocals, Bagpipes (R.I.P.)
- Angus McKinnon Young ~ Lead Guitar
- Malcolm Mitchell Young ~ Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Mark Whitmore Evans ~ Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Philip High Rudd ~ Drums




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (640)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
November 8th 2010



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Pre-emptive: No, this is not going to include all AC/DC albums. These will be short because I would run out of things to say. Doing this because BigHans requested.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010



7177 Comments


Good to hear from you again mate. This was a sweet, concise, and solid review. I enjoyed its informative style. Pos.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2010



15893 Comments


ugh. never liked ac/dc that much but it is hard to deny that this record is at least good

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Emim
November 8th 2010



26618 Comments


CAUSE I'M

T
N
T

I'M DYNOMITE

BigHans
November 8th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you're doing this Nag. Bon Scott era fucking rules hard.

Title Track and Its a Long Way To the Top are such classics.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2010



20450 Comments


Great review, pos'd

Bon Scott era >>>>>> Brian Johnson era

BigHans
November 8th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

theres no comparison between Scott and Johnson era. Aside from Back in Black, nothing Johnson ever did comes close. You could make a small case for Razors Edge or For Those About to Rock but it wouldnt be convinving.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2010



20450 Comments


^Agreed

tiesthatbind
November 8th 2010



7373 Comments


Bon Scott era AC/DC is all I can stand. Good review.

Nagrarok
November 8th 2010



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's pretty undebatable. Simply enough, Scott-AC/DC ruled, then they made one (surprisingly terrific) album with Johnson before becoming mostly boring and generic.

Thunderstruck is easily one of their best songs though.

And thanks all.

Jethro42
November 8th 2010



12402 Comments


I don't know pretty much their Scott era. Band is good, but I never took the time to look into their discog. Back in Black is a pretty great album to me.

Nagrarok
November 8th 2010



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If you're interested you should check out Let There Be Rock and Highway to Hell, their best two.

Jethro42
November 8th 2010



12402 Comments


I personally think Back in Black > Highway to Hell. I'll give to it another spin, if you say so. Never heard Let There be Rock, thanx for the recs.

BigHans
November 8th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let Three Be Rock rules. Powerage is an underrated classic.

Jethro42
November 8th 2010



12402 Comments


Oh! Two Classic Rock authorities have spoken, so I'll let you know what I think about that album, Nag and mr Classic Rock.

Nagrarok
November 8th 2010



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I personally think Back in Black > Highway to Hell.


I used to think so too, more HTH spins changed my mind.

Scott albums ranked:

Highway to Hell
Let There Be Rock
High Voltage
Powerage
Dirty Deeds

BigHans
November 8th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would go

Highway
Rock
Powerage
Dirty Deeeds
High Voltage

Nagrarok
November 8th 2010



8197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I never liked Dirty Deeds as much, almost seems like leftovers from High Voltage. The rest rules, Powerage is underrated but it's not as consistent as the other three.

BigHans
November 8th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What I like about Dirty Deeds is the lesser known songs, like Squealer, Ride On (their only ballad, and a great one), and Aint No Fun Waitin Round to Be A millionaire.

Jethro42
November 8th 2010



12402 Comments


Dirty deeds and they're done dirt cheap
Dirty deeds and they're done dirt cheap




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy