Converge
You Fail Me


4.5
superb

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
October 28th, 2010 | 70 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


A followup album to a critically acclaimed album is undoubtedly tough. If you do it wrong, you fall into the dreaded “not as good as 'x' album” pit. However, Converge figured out how to avoid this problem... kinda.

You Fail Me is the followup to Jane Doe – the album that is widely heralded as a metalcore classic. Instead of following Jane Doe by trying to replicate their previous sound, Converge took a new approach to their style. The result of such experimentation is a dark, dense, sludgy and atmospheric album. No longer relying on lightning riffs and drums being played at breakneck speeds, instead you get a slightly slower, but by no means less intense sound.

The album kicks off with an intro track entitled “First Light”, which bleeds into the first real song - “Last Light” sets the mood for the majority of the album. It begins with yells and cries for help and ends with hammering riffs and Bannon's signature screams. In typical Converge fashion, the album flows from track to track almost seamlessly.

From “Last Light” to the title track you are bombarded with their bleak atmosphere. Then when you think you think you have gotten used to the pace of the album, they throw in “In Her Shadow”. The aforementioned song is a slow acoustic track which features Bannon actually singing for a change. While it may kill the momentum that the album previously had, it does far from hold back the album. I personally like the track because it changes the pace of the album and gives it more depth. But those of you who are not fond of their soft work, you don't have much to worry about. The album picks up right where it left off with “Eagles Become Vultures” and finishes with some of the fastest and most hardcore influenced songs of the album.

You Fail Me is one of Converge's best works. While it may not be as influential as Jane Doe, it certainly is a superb album and is one of the most original metalcore albums I have heard yet.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (1742)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Maniac!
October 28th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A quick write-up. Sort of finished in a hurry, so critiques and pointing out mistakes before negging would be appreciated. ;)

Counterfeit
October 28th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

OMFG HES BACK BABY

Counterfeit
October 28th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

5 THE REVIEW MAN.
But seriously it was decent. A little short and less descriptive than it could have been, but still decent.

cvlts
October 28th 2010


8967 Comments


Yeah, I really wish you went into more detail but its passable.

Maniac!
October 28th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm coming out of a long writers block. It was tough to break out of

eternium
October 28th 2010


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Feels like more should have been said.

Inveigh
October 28th 2010


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review for someone who's been struggling with writer's block especially

yeah, more description would have been nice but this is easily a pos-worthy review.

2nd best Converge album, yo

sniper
October 28th 2010


19076 Comments


Review could have been better but it's not terrible by any means.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010


6205 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is my favorite Converge album.

The cover art omg

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

eternium
October 28th 2010


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your favorite Converge album is a 4?

You fail me.

Counterfeit
October 28th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he fails me too

sniper
October 28th 2010


19076 Comments


lol

Xenophanes
Emeritus
October 28th 2010


10614 Comments


Review could have been better but it's not terrible by any means. [2]

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Maniac!
October 28th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys. I figured the best way to beat writers block was to write something, whether it was horrible or not.

AnotherBrick
October 28th 2010


9771 Comments


NEG

Gyromania
October 28th 2010


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a concise review. Pos'd. "You Fail Me" is my favorite Converge song.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

ConsiderPhlebas
October 28th 2010


6157 Comments


Good to see you writing again. When I'm struggling with writer's block I just imagine I'm speaking it, like it's a conversation or something. It's just easier thinking of shit to say rather than write for some reason.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2010


8371 Comments


yea it's nice and concise but it also looks kinda lazy, Brandon, sorry :/

Maniac!
October 28th 2010


26250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's all good styles. Just a quickie to get the juices flowing again, ya know?

eternium
October 28th 2010


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's what she said.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy