Mae
(e)vening


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
October 26th, 2010 | 85 replies | 17,375 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like watching The Everglow from a field at night.

Three cheers for knowing your strengths. At the very least, if Mae didn't know them before (e)vening, they should do now. (m)orning and (a)fternoon were to varying degrees experimental and flawed, exposing major chinks in the armour of a band which had, up to that point, seemed to carry confidence and poise which allowed them to pull off concepts and songs as universal and grandiose as those on The Everglow without a hint of awkwardness. Maybe it's that the evening provides the most comfortable aesthetic fit for Mae's sound; waves of soft riffs and simply stunning piano always having formed the best backdrop to their sound; just listen to 'The Sun And The Moon' and you'll see what I mean.

So in a gesture of defiance to the musical elitist inside me and among us, I find it an absolute honour to declare that Mae should stop seeing themselves as a band capable of, or indeed desiring of, pushing boundaries. I say this with such certainty only because (e)vening is so phenomenal and no number of musical risks would or could make it better, and it is therefore my duty to inform the band that if they wish to keep pulling softly at the hand of the still-breathing romantic inside me, they already have all the tools necessary. See the 'Seasons' suite: a thirteen-minute, three-movement group of songs comprising just a piano. Erm, no vocals. Just piano. So I guess you'd call it a classical piece if it weren't so undeniably Mae.

And the 'real' songs on (e)vening fare just as well, re-introducing listeners to the band's sublime and delicate ability to balance transcendent, wide-reaching emotion with real human impulses. Lyricist and vocalist Dave Elkin is laid-back here, even when he's at his most adamant; neither the sounds around him nor the feelings inside him can sway him from his most effortless performance yet in a Mae shirt. The music plays likewise, even the up-tempo and guitar-driven 'I Just Needed You To Know' finding a groove rather than a momentum by virtue of it's spacious verses and overlapping guitars.

As if to consolidate the musically relaxed texture, (e)vening is also perfectly structured, easing you in with an instrumental track, kicking into three superb pop-rock cuts, morphing into easily the most gorgeous 15 minutes of the year so far in 'Seasons' and finishing up with a bang. It's a return to form that finds Mae doing exactly what they do best, asking questions like, "Do you remember watching fireworks?" and following them up with, "As we looked into the sky I made my plans. I did my best to put my love in words, when I knelt down at your feet and took your hand." And despite how easy it is to digest these songs, they're actually damn heavy with feeling, just like everything good in Mae's back catalogue. Chalk this one up as a victory for staying within your comfort zone if you like, but don't miss the chance to feel completely safe alongside it.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenMotion City Soundtrack Go
Sigur Ros ValtariSilversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
user ratings (121)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
SowingSeason STAFF (4.5)
(e)vening is a transcendental experience that gives one the sensation of a night underneath the star...

Eli EMERITUS (4)
With (e)vening, Mae have truly exceeded expectations, releasing a strong finish to their EP series....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yesssssssssssssssss

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2010



15889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yesssssssssssssssss

rating is correct. review is correct, and not a 2 page long concept track-by track like mine. pos is forthcoming.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Romulus
October 26th 2010



8423 Comments


i need to listen to this

Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Sowing.

Yes, Rom, you DO.

And I'm so happy with the summary for this, I debated not even writing a review.

SeaAnemone
October 26th 2010



20035 Comments


I'm really falling behind on what I need to listen to this year... stop reminding me Knott!

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

North0House
October 26th 2010



1764 Comments


Pos'd awesome review.
I remember, back in the days, I used to be really into Mae, then I found out about the best band ever, Brand New... That led me into the post-rock and post-metal scene... So, I've ventured quite far from Mae in the past few years.
This review makes me want to listen to Mae again, they're a great band. So, I bet this album's great.
I'll check it out.

AmericnZero02
October 26th 2010



3337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man. I reeeeaallly need to get this.

Maybe it's that the evening provides the most comfortable aesthetic fit for Mae's sound; waves of soft riffs and simply stunning piano always having formed the best backdrop to their sound; just listen to 'The Sun And The Moon' and you'll see what I mean.

Couldn't agree with you more. "The Ocean" was always one of my favorite Mae tracks; it definitely fits into that category.

What's with all of the low ratings all of a sudden? Wasn't this just a 4.4?

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2010



15889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i honestly can't see someone giving this a 2, that's gotta be a troll vote or something. and the 2.5's i'll bet never even listened to it

Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Actually the 2.5s are Silveri/Thomas so I'm after an actual opinion on that front.

Ire
October 26th 2010



41754 Comments


I was looking forward to this review










knott-

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2010



20856 Comments


Questiond for information's sake:

How long is this all up?

Is the 3 part series technically a trio of EP's or LP's?



Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Technically they're EPs, but this is 37 minutes long. And the others clock in somewhere around there.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2010



20856 Comments


I'm usnure what the definition comes down to, but that's long enough to be classified as an LP imo.

Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well, yeah, so I guess 'technically' is the wrong word, but the band call them EPs. Sometimes I think the only real difference between an EP and an LP any more is that you're not allowed to complain if an EP isn't that great.

Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Either way this is a little short to be their 'next LP' but it would still be a high rating even if it fell into that category. 3 songs short, though, at least.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2010



15889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

im still upset this fell below a 4

Knott-
Emeritus
October 26th 2010



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Might 5 it just to bump it.

ziroth
October 26th 2010



1252 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

finally, thought this was supposed to come out in 2009.

Eko
October 26th 2010



2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the songs ive heard off of this are phenomenal. seasons is sweet. seeing these guys in like a month on their farewell tour.

Slum
October 27th 2010



2579 Comments


At the very least, if Mae didn't know them before (e)vening, they should do now


Might want to re-read that. Great review though, knott. Will be checking this out soon.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy