Trophy Scars
Darkness, Oh Hell


5.0
classic

Review

by Comatorium. USER (42 Reviews)
October 26th, 2010 | 53 replies | 7,239 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Trophy Scars is one of those bands that get way better with every single release. Its pretty crazy. Also, this EP is dank as shit.

8 of 10 thought this review was well written

Trophy Scars seem to get better with every release, and apparently they don't even skip a beat for EPs. Darkness, Oh Hell is Trophy Scars' 4th EP, and consists of 6 songs fusing jazz, post-hardcore, blues, and the occasional Converge-like freakout courtesy of lead front-man and drug enthusiast Jerry Jones. Every song varies greatly, while maintaining a distinct Trophy Scars sound that listeners have come to expect.

Opener "Sauvez-Moi De L'enfer" sets a vibe similar to the beginning of the Hospital Music EP with a slow and haunting start with some restrained piano playing and female singing, it segues into the next track "Nausea," which features some horns and other instruments that add well to the dynamic of the music when backed by the guitar, stand-up bass, drums, and those sweet, sweet vocals from Jones.

"Darkness" is catchy as all hell, and features some of the coolest guitar work yet in a TS song, and some of Jone's best vocal and lyrical work to date. "Trazodone" and "Time In Heaven, Forever In Hell" stand as the best two tracks here, the former being a narrative of Jones' pill addiction, with some cool jazz backing the song's spaced out vocals and themes. The latter is one of TS's saddest songs, but is also fascinating with its piano and post-rockish guitar intro. The song morphs into a culmination of all the best parts of Trophy Scars, ending the EP on a high note leaving the listener wanting more.

In between these two gems lies "Sad Stanley," Trophy Scars' longest recording yet, clocking in at 7:22. A seven minute TS song is cool enough in its own right, but the fact that the song is a beast of a track with building tension going through the song, climaxing numerous times with one of Jones' signature vocal freakouts. Like post rock with a pair of balls.

Anyone who listened to Bad Luck knows what to expect here, as the EP is a natural progression of the band's sound. There is a lot more instrumental variety and experimentation here, resulting in a much more textured soundscape than their previous work. Jones still croons, growls, snarls and screams over all of th's what we've come to expect from Trophy Scars, they're just doing it a little differently and a whole lot better than ever before.



Recent reviews by this author
Andrew Jackson Jihad Knife ManBad Lamps Soultronic
After The Burial In DreamsSwashbuckle Crime Always Pays...
Beach House Teen DreamThe Word Alive Deceiver
user ratings (595)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Comatorium.
October 26th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Short EP, short write up, so awesome. Honestly all that needs to be said about this is the last paragraph, but i felt like i
should expand it a tiny more.

Gyromania
October 26th 2010



15202 Comments


they don't even skip a beat for EP's

EPs*

which features some horns and other instruments that sound awesome

This is a small pet peeve of mine, but I hate seeing 'sound awesome' in reviews.

and those sweet sweet vocals from Jones.

sweet, sweet *

ending the EP on a high note leaving the listener wanted more.

wanting*

its what we've come to expect

it's*. This review seems very rushed, and you tend to repeat your points. Still decent, nonetheless, but I think you should add additional information, make the changes I've suggested above and just re-read it, you'll pick up on what to expand on/get rid of.



HaloDude442
October 26th 2010



692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review. Short, but I enjoyed reading it. Pos

But no mention of Sad Stanley?

Gyromania
October 26th 2010



15202 Comments


I have an entire paragraph written on Sad Stanley, lol. It's perhaps their best song in my opinion. I was really hoping to get my review out by tomorrow, but I don't think that's going to happen =/

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2010



7144 Comments


Gyromania needs moar reviews.

The review is solid (pos). The summary though, is something else (not in a wholly positive way, unfortunately).

HaloDude442
October 26th 2010



692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gonna be massive? I also half expect a greer review

SeaAnemone
October 26th 2010



19755 Comments


never been real big on Trophy Scars but I guess this is worth checking out eventually...

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Gyromania
October 26th 2010



15202 Comments


It's a mystery as to what Greer thinks of this album, but I know that John Hanson is also writing a 5 review for this... so that's probably going to cast a shadow. But yeah, my review is gonna be massive.

Comatorium.
October 26th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

totally went back and cleaned that bitch up. it was pretty rough. god damn i love this ep.

Gyromania
October 26th 2010



15202 Comments


Pos'd after corrections. Yeah, I'm glad to see that someone else shares my enthusiasm.

HaloDude442
October 26th 2010



692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm gonna have to agree with both of you. It's just soo GOOD

pizzamachine
October 26th 2010



12571 Comments


So this was amazing. Also, I gave it a 5 since it's Gyroscope's avatar (yes, I'm calling you Gyroscope now)!

Comatorium.
October 26th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I truly think it deserves a 5. There's not a single moment of less than stellar material here.

dcha
October 26th 2010



990 Comments


"dank". What are you 14? This is a good review for a 14 year old. Pos

SeaAnemone
October 26th 2010



19755 Comments


Really? I mean remember... it is an EP that was just released. I mean I'm not saying it's definitely not a 5... it just looks a little silly to me, personally. You think in a few months you'll like this more than all your 4.5's?

Comatorium.
October 26th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I dunno about that. But for the moment its a 5.

Comatorium.
October 26th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

jerry jones-


we just finished the mixing and it came out sonically ridiculous. chris badami did a wonderful job and "darkness" is certainly our dankest sounding recording yet. no one in the band realized how scary it really was until we heard all the songs fully conceptualized and strung together. the final running time is about 28 minutes. it gets mastered by scott hull (bruce springsteen, elvis costello, meatloaf **** yeah!) on April 14. jason oda is beginning the first stages of artwork for the disc and i'm super excited about that.

Comatorium.
October 26th 2010



4090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

hahah chambered im sure thats what this will be like. though hospital music is a solid 5 for me. who knows.

DeadbeatDankity
October 26th 2010



149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sad Stanley is the "Oh shit!" point on the album.

"Also, this EP is dank as shit." lol

Gyromania
October 26th 2010



15202 Comments


Really? I mean remember... it is an EP that was just released. I mean I'm not saying it's definitely not a 5... it just looks a little silly to me, personally. You think in a few months you'll like this more than all your 4.5's?

Well then you're going to think my review is REALLY 'silly'.

So this was amazing. Also, I gave it a 5 since it's Gyroscope's avatar (yes, I'm calling you Gyroscope now)!

Hahaha. Awesome!




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy