Swans
White Light From the Mouth of Infinity


5.0
classic

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
October 25th, 2010 | 150 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The collateral consequence of the existence of the soul

There is some music that doesn’t need overbearing distortion to be heavy. Rather, its devastating power comes from someplace altogether darker than the engines of untameable noise. These sounds emanate from an unfathomable abyss; the aural manifestation of the darkest recesses of the human mind. Swans were nothing less than the immense gaping maw spewing pitch black winding rivers of emotive unconsciousness into our fragile world.

The astounding Sisyphean drone of songs such as Failure is physically crushing despite often featuring nothing more than scattered guitar chords and the impossible melancholy of Gira’s mournful voice. When he openly states I saw my father crying/ I saw my mother break her hand/on a wall that wouldn’t weep, its all you can do to not go to the nearest train station and hurl yourself under the flashing vacant eyes that propel lifeblood through the collapsing veins of dark cities.

The (barely) more positive Miracle of Love illuminates the darkness with its burning rays as pounding drums and roaring synths scatter the dark clouds of thought, if only for a few moments; Jarboe then proceeds to envelop the music in an impenetrable mist, swallowing the sun as her venomous siren song weaves a sickly sweet wail over the dying rays of light.

Along with the colossal tides of Neurosis and Slint’s lonely masterpiece, Swans cast the most massive shadows over the alternative rock world. The crushing emotion that permeates White Light exudes from the same furnace that radiated Souls at Zero and Spiderland

But whereas the four boys from Kentucky skulked in deserted quarries and Neurosis threw up thick walls of stormy oceanic sound, Swans were the spawn of New York; they lurked in shadow, part of the unfortunate humanity destined to wander forever lost in sprawling, polluted labyrinths. And yet somehow they managed to emerge and create music that was so utterly detached from the rest of world, so singular, that twenty years on there’s still nothing like it. Whilst the burning serpent at the heart of the band constantly writhed and mutated, it remained as infused with deadly passion and poison in its twilight years as it did when it first emerged slithering from the sickening stench of the bottomless pools of sound. White Light from the Mouth of Infinity is the sound of the creature at the pinnacle of its powers; sinuous, deadly and utterly terrifying.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (347)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
October 25th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Im the fuel that fires the engines of doing Swans reviews

pheeeewww

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments


I think you made that overly intellectual. lol.

You've got a heck of a vocabulary though.


Adash
October 25th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nicest thing anyone on sputnik ever said, thank you

I love writing and have problems keeping prose fiction out of my reviews;
just tend to merge them into a review/pretentious story

kitsch
October 25th 2010


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this review makes me think that we should be friends

North0House
October 25th 2010


1764 Comments


Lol no problem.
Yeah, I can see that lol. You've got a way words, that's for sure.

Adash
October 25th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so kitsch I heard on the grapevine that you like Stars of the Lid as well as Swans???

bff


crank
October 25th 2010


332 Comments


good review / awesome band

Spare
October 26th 2010


5311 Comments


was wondering when somebody would review this. awesome review yo. although i'm not really sure what is happening in the summary.

Digging: Best Witches - Wishes

Adash
October 26th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Swans went major label for The Burning World
By 'the darkness' I mean a sanctimonious way of saying indie label obscurity

geng
October 26th 2010


1986 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretentious little cunt. Pos'd.

Spare
October 26th 2010


5311 Comments


i mean "After the jading experience of the music industry experienced during the recording of The Burning World". it reads awkwardly. experience doesn't need to be used twice within 6 words, jus sayin.

Adash
October 26th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

aaaaah spare you genius just read it and its sound stupid
let me make some change

Spare
October 26th 2010


5311 Comments


new summary is of such a high quality i can't even fathom

Adash
October 27th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what can I say, you inspired me

just reread this as a whole, don't think I've ever written anything more ott



Adash
November 3rd 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

some neggin lil cunt on sputnik must not like swans
or me

Adash
November 3rd 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they're both classic, but in such different ways
and failure is one of the greatest songs ever


dfumagalli236
November 11th 2010


69 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Where can I get this album?

Adash
November 12th 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its been out of print for years
so unfortunately and with heavy heart all i can recommend is that you type its name followed by 'mediafire' into google

Slipping Away
December 14th 2010


1261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow...quite a review man, pos'd. Picking this up soon

Adash
December 21st 2010


1356 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

why thank you very much



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy