Boards of Canada
The Campfire Headphase


3.0
good

Review

by sudonym USER (2 Reviews)
October 17th, 2010 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Boards of Canada, without the signature atmosphere.

Let me just start by saying that Boards of Canada is one of my all time favorite electronica bands. My Spanish 2 teacher lent me her copy of Geogaddi, which first got me interested. I then purchased a copy of Music Has The Right To Children, which solidified BoC as my favorite band at that time. A while later, my friend lent me his copy of The Campfire Headphase. Try as I could, I failed to connect with the album.

The record starts off with "Into The Rainbow Vein," an intro track similar in length to "Wildlife Analysis" and "Ready Lets Go" of Music Has The Right To Children and Geogaddi, respectively. The eleven songs that followed this intro got a satisfied nod from me. The non-filler tracks were good, and the introduction of live instruments was a cool, creative step for the band. I was kind of neutral towards the interludes; they were not bad, they just weren't very interesting.

What really disappointed me was the absence of the evocative, dreamlike quality that made BoC so intriguing. So far, the mood of the album had been light and happy. Then "Slow This Bird Down" started playing. Right from the beginning, I thought, "Now this is what I'm talking about." It had that ethereal mood that originally made the band's music so compelling.

The album closed with "Farewell Fire," a track that had me wondering what was going on about four minutes in. I skipped through the rest of the song, hoping to hear something stand out, but nothing did. It seemed as if Sandison and Eoin had managed to take one of their interludes (normally about a minute to two minutes long) and stretch it out in an eight and a half minute song. Beautiful though it may have been, it only added to my disinterest.

All in all, The Campfire Headphase is a good album. The music is very well done, and the addition of new instruments to the bands repertoire shows that they are still as experimental as ever. However, the overall mood and somewhat boring interludes don't quite do it for me like the previous albums. 3/5.


user ratings (597)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
boomerwrangle (5)
“We were picturing this character losing his mind at the campfire and compressing weeks of events ...

dvs (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
sudonym
October 17th 2010


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry this is a little short, it's my first review. Feedback is greatly appreciated.

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 17th 2010


3742 Comments


I don't know, this is pretty much their best imo. Solid first review though, the length is fine

astralprojector
October 17th 2010


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

short review but for what is there it is a solid review.

Bitchfork
October 17th 2010


7584 Comments


This is my favorite by them.

ConsiderPhlebas
October 17th 2010


6157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I much prefer Music... and Geogaddi but this still rules

Gyromania
October 17th 2010


15941 Comments


Austin... the fuck? a 5 for this? I mean, I like it too, but it's not THAT good.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

Bitchfork
October 17th 2010


7584 Comments


This is either my favorite or second favorite non-Basinski release I have no idea how you don't see a signature atmosphere.

Gyromania
October 17th 2010


15941 Comments


It's bitchin'

Yotimi
October 17th 2010


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album rules. Not quite as good as MHTRTC and Geoggadi but it's still got their signature atmosphere with plenty of stand out tracks.

xfearbefore
October 17th 2010


1245 Comments


Good review. Just got done listening to MHTRTC earlier today for the first time and adored it, I'm going to have to check out the rest of their discography.

sudonym
October 18th 2010


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree, it's a sweet album; I may have rated it a little low. However, I still think that the feel of the album is much less "dark" than their other albums if you know what I mean.

Bitchfork
October 18th 2010


7584 Comments


Dark does not mean good. Apator was supposed to be dark.

couldwinarabbit
October 18th 2010


6996 Comments


this is amazing wtf...listen to it again

scissorlocked
October 18th 2010


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's an amazing album,although the first half is by far better than the second

the atmosphere is ideal,and the name of the album summarizes it well

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2010


31355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not their best work

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

sudonym
October 18th 2010


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bitchfork, this is where opinion takes hold. I personally enjoy their darker stuff, which is why I don't like this album as much. What's good to me may not be what's good to you, and I can respect that.

brutebeard
October 18th 2010


1655 Comments


Pretty good first review. I'll stray away from this album

Yotimi
October 18th 2010


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No dude, seriously don't it's awesome

sudonym
October 18th 2010


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't stray from it. give it a listen, it's good. just personally I don't like it as much as earlier stuff.

brutebeard
October 19th 2010


1655 Comments


I have none of their stuff...not sure what's holding me back



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy