Blackbird Blackbird
Summer Heart


4.0
excellent

Review

by AggravatedYeti USER (46 Reviews)
October 14th, 2010 | 26 replies | 9,065 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blackbird fly,

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Sometimes it is hard to believe that Mikey Sanders, aka San Francisco dream pop wunderkid Blackbird Blackbird, has only been active since the beginning of 2010. With a slew of EPs, a full length (re-recorded with the obligatory extra remixes and mind *** cover art) and seemingly more coming every other week --he’s been a busy man. Though back in March, when still known as Bye Bye Blackbird, Sanders was little more than another artist with a four track EP and a “chillwave” tag slapped onto him. A name change and a few “Most Blogged Artist” tags later via The Independent UK things changed. And while The Summer Heart LP may be his debut full length, if his work ethic so far has been any indication (see side project: Cursed Kids) there is plenty more to come from Sanders.

Fitting too, being that Summer Heart is really just a collection of re-recorded singles, EP tracks with only a handful of new material--but oh does it flow. Rather than clumping everything together chronologically, Sanders constructs the songs into a proper album. At only thirty-two minutes with none of the fifteen tracks surpassing the three minute mark it is good that he did. Summer Heart doesn’t overstay its invitation but rather is a delectably sweet collection of soft dream-pop songs with strong holds in minimalist house (think early Saint Etienne), M83’s first proggy progressions (in much less time) with a shoegazer’s penchant for washed vocals. Sanders envelops his guest vocalists (or at times presumably himself) in lush, key heavy bedroom tunes akin to a Washed Out or Memory Tapes. But unlike his peers and usually for the better Blackbird’s recordings always possess a level of polish unseen in many of his peers riding the chillwave. The bass lines are fuller, cleaner; the synth work not as lo-fi and he seems less wary of multi-tracking keys/vocals or taking cues from more straightforward electric genres (see Dubstep and IDM). In the end culminating into a easily accessible, instantly appealing collection of groove-centric dream-pop tracks--that also happen to be some of the best in recent memory. Keep trucking Mikey. Please.



Recent reviews by this author
Los Campesinos! Hello SadnessM83 Hurry Up, We're Dreaming
Big K.R.I.T. ReturnOf4evaG-Side The One...Cohesive
De La Soul De La Soul Is Dead Wavves King of the Beach
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really surprised no one has reviewed this yet.
so:
albums rules...still.

pizzamachine
October 14th 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, pos'd. I was hoping to find some new dream-pop soon, so this album will probably hit the spot.

MassiveAttack
October 14th 2010



2688 Comments


hoorays. Dayman approves.

robin
Emeritus
October 14th 2010



4241 Comments


dylan!

AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

woo!
approval!
and robin!

Ponton
Emeritus
October 14th 2010



5784 Comments


oh my god

yeti review sighting

klap
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2010



10258 Comments


wut is this

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rly good bb

klap
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2010



10258 Comments


fucking tired of chillwave but i guess ill do this FOR YOU

AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're tired of everything
its got mucho groovage rudy!

also thanks ;)

PorkchopExpress
October 14th 2010



387 Comments


I hadn't ever heard of this guy, but the review made it seem right in my wheelhouse. And it was. Good stuff.

SeaAnemone
October 14th 2010



19755 Comments


thank you so much YETI this is indeed awesome... what a year for chillwave... you definitely did this justice that everyone (yeah I'm looking at you, Kirgasm haha) refused to give it, and succinctly too!

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

crank
October 14th 2010



332 Comments


Rush rating; I liked this but I've only given it the one listen.

AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2010 has been the utmost in chill
and thanks eric, much appreciated.

oh hey kanecooper. its ok, you know its good.

crank
October 14th 2010



332 Comments


is pretty great and yet I just don't ever feel like listening to it. I'm sure that'll change at some point?

AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its up to you kane.
make it change.

crank
October 14th 2010



332 Comments


I kind of just wanna Sonic Youth all the time ya kno?

AggravatedYeti
October 14th 2010



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well who in their right mind doesn't?

Kiran
Emeritus
October 14th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i actually wrote this here review, sea, but yeti was on a cold streak so i let him have the glory. i'm a man of the people.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

alachlahol
October 14th 2010



7477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm here to take the glory by announcing that i am Blackbird Blackbird



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy