Amon Tobin
Bricolage


4.5
superb

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
October 13th, 2010 | 40 replies | 10,902 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Songs of Life

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Having cleaned off the foam from his last musical venture, Amon Tobin climbs up to the highest springboard and leaps headfirst into the swirling river of plunderphonics.

He emerges clutching inconceivable treasures from long forgotten shipwrecks of sound; ancient chests filled with priceless riches, obsidian tools, the waterlogged and indecipherable diaries of men long dead, slowly dissolving in the shadowy resonance of the perpetual currents. Bodies salvaged from the shattered ribcages of somnolent ruins, lost for eons in deathly sleep; horrific puppets that for all sakes and purposes should be as lifeless as their abandoned surroundings. For a moment, all is still.

All of a sudden, a heartbeat flutters faintly before fading again. On the sandy banks of the river, in the luscious shadows of concerned plants, minutes pass. The distant sound of tribal drums echoes through space, carried along by the vibrant breeze. Painstakingly resuscitated fragments are pieced together by this musical shaman; slowly and hesitantly former inanimate objects come to life under the dark green leaf canopy

Bricolage is the sound of the rainforest; life-giving rain inundates the greenery which steams beneath the benevolent gaze of the sun, soundlessly absorbing the pattering footsteps of the invisible creatures scurrying through the undergrowth. Sinuous basslines wind their way like snakes through the foliage whilst plumed and vibrant birds croon in harmonious tongues above. The trees strain to be heard above the organic tremors, their hushed and rustling voices punctuated by the rhythmic crackling of the bark covering their soft underbellies.

Even in its darkest moments, when the fertile vegetation gives way to the silent encroachment of the concrete jungle, the music never feels cold. The sensations its radiates are those of shy smiles and shining eyes looming out of the darkness, gentle caresses tracing out sensual patterns, replacing the bitter sketches of stillness with crawling arabesques of life . Tremulous whispers resound amongst the monolithic tombstones, reducing their sharp outlines to delicate pastel tones that breathe the hazy air with joyous trepidation;

Simply put, I’ve never heard anything so alive



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (135)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
October 13th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even the pedantic pricks at Pitchfork gave this a 10/10

geng
October 13th 2010



1986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Up there with his best?

Adash
October 13th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not a 5 because I don't think its better than perm or super but its a classic
nonetheless. Lot rougher round the edges and less heavy
That said, Easy Muffin is probably the Tob's best song

geng
October 13th 2010



1986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A friend of mine saw him at that car park rave in LDN. Bare jealous.

Adash
October 13th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah me leaving london annoyed the shit out of me
i wonder if lustmord in krakow is a worthy replacement

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2010



30316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Breaking the mold and posting with an avatar

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

MaskAtTheMasquerade
October 13th 2010



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice to see this reviewed. personally my favorite of his work

Adash
October 13th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

at last I'm done with Tobin reviews and the discog is complete

where is my avatar?

Zettel
October 13th 2010



581 Comments


Very nice read. I like your reviews.

JustJoe
October 13th 2010



1399 Comments


Insta-Pos'd because this was in dire need of a review. Nice work, indeed.

Digging: Stevie Wonder - Innervisions

Adash
October 14th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

much obliged

I felt really bad that a beast like Tobin was so lonely and reviewless, had to set right pronto

JustJoe
October 15th 2010



1399 Comments


I would've tackled one of his albums, but I don't think I can articulate my thoughts on his work properly.

Adash
October 16th 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah its easy
you just have to find a way to translate 'god' into words



JustJoe
October 17th 2010



1399 Comments


Well if it's that easy, then what am I waiting for? Oh, Jesus.

xfearbefore
October 22nd 2010



1201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So this is rather enjoyable.

Digging: Placebo - Sleeping With Ghosts

MaskAtTheMasquerade
October 22nd 2010



2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you guys are groovin to this you should check out 'The Bridge' by Cujo (Tobin)

Adash
October 23rd 2010



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

every beat this nigga touches turns to gold

nicolauz
March 30th 2011



62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stay Gold Poneyboy.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2011



6250 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still his best work

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2012



20250 Comments


loving easy muffin

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy