Sufjan Stevens
The Age of Adz


5.0
classic

Review

by Furapika USER (20 Reviews)
October 12th, 2010 | 78 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Vesuvius, fire of fire, follow me now as I favor the host.

As Channing Freeman once said, "This album makes me feel things. Listen to it." in regards to Joanna Newsom's Have One on Me, the same line applies to Sufjan Stevens' The Age of Adz for myself. Let's get this straight; this album is a statement. Throughout the 74 minute run-time of The Age of Adz, Sufjan straddles the fine line between madman and genius, destroying boundary after boundary. The result makes me "feel things" to a magnitude perhaps far greater than most music.

Therein lies the beauty of it all. Orchestras, choirs, electronic bleeps and boops, with even autotune and vocoder on "Impossible Soul," all paint an atmosphere of a distant, previously unexplored planet that Sufjan has created. Whether it's the journey through the anthems "The Age of Adz" and "Vesuvius," or the crazed madness of "I Want to Be Well" where Sufjan vehemently proclaims he's not f*cking around, the immense beauty created by the instrumentation takes on the form of artificial sunshine. Listening to it is almost akin to a man who lived in a cave his entire life stepping outside into sunlight for the first time; it is a joyous, unforgettable experience, only The Age of Adz is that experience caught on tape. Rarely does it ever falter in consistency, with the somber and mundane "Now That I'm Older" being the only misstep, and even that contributes to the overall mood and ultimate greatness of the album.

Sometimes, the sound becomes so transcendent that I can forgot where I am, who I am, that the sounds filling my ears are even music. The Age of Adz goes beyond art at times, a window to the human mind and soul. The smooth mesh of bombastic orchestral music, pulsating electronics and Sufjan's trademark style can be perhaps described best in three words; happy, beautiful, and jarring. What it provides is not only a look through the mind of Sufjan Stevens, but maybe even a look into the inner emotions of us all.

And it's pure magic.



Recent reviews by this author
Demon Hunter ExtremistSamiam Clumsy
Skyhill Run With the HuntedNinja Sex Party Strawberries and Cream
Swans Children of GodThe Sleeping The Big Deep
user ratings (899)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lakes.
October 12th 2010


27921 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry if this was unnecessary, I had to do it.

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Enotron
October 12th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

too gay

Lakes.
October 12th 2010


27921 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah listening to this makes me feel gay...


as in happy

Enotron
October 12th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

lul soo clever

Lakes.
October 12th 2010


27921 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

negger!

Enotron
October 12th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

not me

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2010


16136 Comments


kiss chan's ass some more why don't you

Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

RosaParks
October 12th 2010


14912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

omg a joey b review. instapos

SeaAnemone
October 12th 2010


20370 Comments


And it's pure magic.


Digging: Holy Sons - Lost Decade II

couldwinarabbit
October 12th 2010


6996 Comments


...so I should get this?

SeaAnemone
October 12th 2010


20370 Comments


I'm still really hesitant to be honest. I'll probably get round to it eventually. This hype train doesn't have me too enamored (though some of the reviews have been spectacular).

pizzamachine
October 12th 2010


12571 Comments


Good review, I'm astounded by the amount of negs.

couldwinarabbit
October 12th 2010


6996 Comments


I've always found Sufjan Stevens to kinda be like Tom Waits without balls...that's just me though.

AggravatedYeti
October 12th 2010


7685 Comments


interesting way of putting it.

Enotron
October 12th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this shit is magical broskis

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2010


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only staff and contributors can write 5 reviews for this who do you think you are

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Slum
October 12th 2010


2579 Comments


Magic everywhere in this bitch

conradtao
Emeritus
October 12th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

myfacewhen magic

Jethro42
October 12th 2010


12456 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've only heard his EP All delighted people, and I like it. What should I listen to next? Illinois? Michigan? This? None?
Good review Lakes. Sounds a bit fanboyish though.
pos'd

Xenophanes
Emeritus
October 12th 2010


10594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its kinda short, for a five you didn't have much to say about the album. That being said, I read through its entirety, and what was here is well written. I'll give you a mild pos.

Digging: Grouper - Ruins



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy