The Butterfly Effect
The Butterfly Effect


4.0
excellent

Review

by profoundword USER (15 Reviews)
October 6th, 2010 | 45 replies | 7,100 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid debut that sounds very similar to "Begins Here"

The debut release from Brisbane rockers The Butterfly Effect is effectively a prequel to their first full length (and best) album. It is laden with all the aspects of "Begins Here" that were so enjoyable to listen to and that still endure. Whilst their sound has changed with their recent releases, their debut is a great example of what made The Butterfly Effect such a hyped and exciting band so early in their career.

The sound of The Butterfly Effect at this point in time was one centered around intricate guitar riffs , incisive, emotional lyrics and critically; Bonecrushingly heavy sections and crescendos that neither voided the integrity of the softer passages or distracted from the detail of the lyrics. It was a formula which pleased both headbangers and people more concerned with balance and structure alike. The heavy sections were an important part of their sound. They are brutally heavy but dont detract from the other, softer aspects of their sound. They also give a real edge to the sound that justifies and balances their other love which was of textured, meandering guitar melodies and fragile, brooding vocals which have become especially prevalent on the last two albums.

Some of the riffs are oddly reminiscent of the Deftones, particuarly with their juggling act of a continuous melody with really heavy choruses and breakdowns. These sections are generally done competently and are a great aspect of their early sound. Vocally, the EP is very impressive. The vocals are used to great effect and there is a great range of tones employed throughout.

Overall, all the songs are solid and are performed well by the band, it justifies the buzz that the EP recieved upon its release. It is well produced and whilst it is only an EP, I am judging it as such, hence the high rating as it is a very solid EP. It is a great debut and is a necessary addition to any Butterfly Effect fans collection. It should also appeal to fans of bands like the Deftones, though don't compare them too closely as they are still quite different bands on the whole.



Recent reviews by this author
Silverchair Neon BallroomQueens of the Stone Age Lullabies to Paralyze
Ladyhawke AnxietyThe Smith Street Band No One Gets Lost Anymore
The Jesus Lizard DownFucked Up Hidden World
user ratings (76)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
October 6th 2010


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm glad you reviewed this.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2010


7386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't heard this one, but the disc that follows, i.e. Begins Here is a monster of an album.

Digging: Hilltop Hoods - Walking Under Stars

Powerban
October 6th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This EP rules. Take It Away could be the best TBE song ever. I have always been tempted to review this.

Awesomesauce
October 6th 2010


1084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My favorite TBE release. Solid.

kangaroopoo
October 7th 2010


3175 Comments


Nice review. This was a nice little find after having only heard their albums.

Not as refined or smooth as their full-lengths yet I like it a lot. A bit like the difference between Karnivool's Themata and Sound Awake. I find the vocals more intense and emotive on this EP.



Jim
October 7th 2010


5110 Comments


out of all the butterfly effect i've heard, i like the material on this the most.

cb123
October 7th 2010


2016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this was the shit when it came out

Captain North
October 7th 2010


6787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great EP, although I do think Imago was their best release. Sweet and Low is the only real flaw here, with Clint just mumbling most of it.

Vooligan
October 7th 2010


3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sweet and Low kicks arse. Clint only mumbles at the start.

This has TBE's two best tracks, Take It Away and The Cell. Tis an amazing EP.

Nice review, dude.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2010


7386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah. This EP slays. Just checked it out.

Powerban
October 7th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's personally my favourite TBE album. Older > Newer for me. They tried way too hard on Final Conversation and it showed in some places.

Still, I love every one of their releases and if it weren't for Karnivool's Sound Awake they would be my favourite aussie band.

Captain North
October 8th 2010


6787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree that Final Conversation was a letdown, it doesn't have much staying power.

AnotherBrick
October 8th 2010


9770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i've only heard Imago and i fucking love it. whats 2nd?

Captain North
October 8th 2010


6787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Either this or Begins Here.

cb123
October 8th 2010


2016 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you'll probly like any of their stuff to be honest brick


Powerban
October 8th 2010


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

get it all now or die.

profoundword
October 8th 2010


239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for all the comments people, always appreciated. TBE are probably my second favourite Aussie band in this sort of genre, after Karnivool. And I have always regarded "Begins Here" as their finest moment, but would be happy to be surprised in the future!

Captain North
October 8th 2010


6787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TBE > Karnivool.

kangaroopoo
October 8th 2010


3175 Comments


I really like TBE, but Karnivool wins on so many levels.

Captain North
October 8th 2010


6787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sound Awake was boring, which means Karnivool only has 1/2 good albums (Persona was okay, but eh). TBE on the other hand has like 3/4. Besides which, I actually prefer Clint's voice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy