Fields of Locust
Subtopia


4.5
superb

Review

by Powerban USER (9 Reviews)
October 3rd, 2010 | 34 replies | 8,781 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Finally, something that doesn't sound like everything else in the genre.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Lately there have been so many uninspired Isis-wanna-be bands popping up all over the place. The worst thing about it is that most of those bands also think that downtuning their guitars and playing sludgey riffs in whatever order they choose is "good". These bands usually have one stand-out track per album where they have seemingly just lucked out and got their power chords in a correct sequence.

So how can a band that has only been together for two years basically blow every other Post-Metal band out of the water instrumentally and not sound like they're ripping someone off? Firstly, they're entirely self-funded and this means they already have 100% passion and dedication for whatever they're creating. This doesn't mean it's going to be perfect of course. You need the creativeness and skill to back up your motivation to make a good release, and thankfully Fields Of Locust deliver.

You will often find yourself nodding your head to a riff, or just relaxing to a nice Stoner-Rock-esque passage. Opener 'The Province Of Thieves' is the most aggressive on the album. The reason for this is the overuse of vocals. They sound like a Pterodactyl screeching out of Jamey Jasta's(Hatebreed) ass. While I've slowly become accustomed to them, they're easily the only downfall of this album. Good news though. The singing is few and far between and when the vocals do come into the foray, they're usually at the correct time.

The albums standout track '...Under The Hunters Moon' overflows from the previous track with a bassline which builds into serene distorted guitars that interweave into each other. A drum pattern lets the dual guitars battle each other for a climax just after the five minute mark where vocals kick back in. The vocals are brief and in the background as to let the guitars go onward with their battle. The pivotal climax in the song is just after the seven minute mark where a solo finally overwhelms the other guitarist and takes victory. They both celebrate the occasion with a softly picked outro together. Beautiful.

If you're looking for an album to match Rosetta for the post-metal crown this year, look no further than this inspirational debut from a band who promises a lot in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Sinew The Beauty of ContrastSika Redem Entheogen
Leech The Stolen ViewAmenra Mass IIII
The Paper Chase Someday This Could All Be Yours Vol.1Tephra A Modicum Of Truth
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowRemains
October 3rd 2010



20252 Comments


paragraph structure is off...

this sounds really good

Powerban
October 3rd 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed. Sputniklag is killing me at the moment. I already seen a couple of errors that I need to fix again and it's taking forever.

puma35
October 3rd 2010



972 Comments


was just thinking about reviewing this, I really like it. I think I even got the rec from one of your lists! nice review

Powerban
October 3rd 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alright, got it. I really can't stop listening to this album currently.

EDIT: Thanks dude, this album came from nowhere and surprised me.

eternium
October 3rd 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So awesome.

ShadowRemains
October 3rd 2010



20252 Comments


review is good, short, but informative, will pos

Powerban
October 3rd 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys. What's your favourite track, Eternium?

eternium
October 3rd 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh, I'm not sure. I'd have to listen to it again.

TheSpirit
October 3rd 2010



17192 Comments


Why did you italicize genres? Other than that good review

Digging: vhmnt / blsphm - vhmnt / blsphm

Powerban
October 3rd 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like my italicizing I guess. It just felt wrong being normal. But now looking at it, I agree it looks pretty retarded. Going to change now.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2010



8318 Comments


nice, concise review man. I loved Rosetta (probably my AOTY at the moment) so I'll check this out for sure.

Powerban
October 4th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think you will enjoy them.

Powerban
October 5th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bump for fappingness.

puma35
October 5th 2010



972 Comments


listened to this again, if it wasn't for the vocals this would beat Rosetta for that post metal crown you speak of

Powerban
October 5th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's only the first part of The Province Of Theives where they sound really out of place.

Maybe they can get someone else on vocals next time.

Jebull
October 7th 2010



1340 Comments


This is quite awesome!

eternium
October 7th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't mind the vocals at all.

Powerban
October 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've totally grown to like them. I can just see people disregarding them because of the vocals.

eternium
October 7th 2010



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell, I can see people disregarding Isis or Cult of Luna because of the vocals, even though I absolutely love them and how they enhance the music.

Powerban
October 7th 2010



2380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disregarded Isis because of the vocals (didn't know post-metal). It was only the constant praise which made me continually relisten. However this is quite an unknown band and doesn't have that factor to support it.

There is a lot to this album if you give it the time it warrants.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy