Lecrae
Rehab


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheMabee USER (18 Reviews)
October 3rd, 2010 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


While the rap game is controlled mostly by Eminem, Little Wayne, and Drake, Lecrae's new album entitled Rehab slipped under the radar this week. Becoming the number two hip hop album upon release Lecrae evolves as a rap artist sampling different beats, and maintaining a great message to every song. Rehab overdoses at seventeen tracks featuring artist such as Trip Lee, Sho Baraka, Pro, Kb, and much more. Rehab succeeds on being unique and holding its own against secular rap artists, showing that rap doesn't have to be all about cash and materialism.


My only complaint with "Rehab" is that he has very few solo songs on here. This album exploding with seventeen songs, has at least eighteen counted feature albums. This also is a compliment though as he works with artists like So Baraka, Tedashii,Pro and Trip Lee. Anytime Lecrae is on the mic though he expresses how he is "a living testimony so you can do it to". His lyrics are well thought out and meant to reach many people. One of my favorites is " New Reality" which opens with the line "Dear you yeah you the person listening its God using me trying to get your attention, yeah".With lyrics like that I hope to see Lecrae get more respect in hip hop.


With Rehab while the message is still about Christ its also about Lecrae's internal problems and struggles with sin. Just Like You ft J Paul is the best example as Lecrae shares how he suffers from not having a father, and how he is affected from it. Lecrae still brings in heavy beats in songs like Killa, Walking on Water, High, 40 Deep, and New Shalom. In the song Children of the Light Lecrae has a hip hop, rock and reggae beat all in the same track to show how he has truly evolved. Many artists have difficulty combining styles(Rebirth) and while its not amazing it still sounds really good. Boasting has an acoustic beat and a slower feeling to it while Gotta Know has a more jazzy style to it.

Its good to see Lecrae back on the mic, and with seventeen songs Rehab is worth a purchase.Also Rehab is worthy of its title as it boasts a diverse rap sound and an evolution in sound. One of the things I admire about Lecrae is though with all the fame and offers from other artists, he will not give in. Lecrae will be true to his message and not sell out, something other artists should pay attention to. This is how we do it! Congrats to Lecrae for such a good album.



Recent reviews by this author
Andy Mineo Heroes For SaleMacklemore and Ryan Lewis The Heist
Dookati A.R.R.I.A.ELecrae Gravity
Swoope Wake Up116 Man Up
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
cvlts
October 3rd 2010


8955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow, i cant believe anyone on sputnik knows this guy.

JustJoe
October 3rd 2010


1399 Comments


Nice to see someone giving this guy a bit of attention. The review is a welcome one, albeit seems much too brief. Maybe expand on the style of the music/message of the album, or how it operates as a foil to the more mainstream rap artists you mentioned in the opening? And though it is written in paragraph form, it's still basically written as a track by track. I suggest that you give this review a bit more substance in terms of informing us about the artist, because-- as This Life is Genocide correctly pointed out-- the Sputnik community as a whole will have most likely not heard of this guy before and therefore will need a greater deal of convincing if you want them to indeed check out this artist, this album or this review in general.

Pos'd but I'd like to see this review expanded if at all possible.

Digging: Daniel Land, & the Modern Painters - Love Songs for the Chemical Generation

Outnumbered
October 3rd 2010


370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yes, very happy to see some attention for 'Crae - one of the best Rap albums to hit this year, secular or not.

LetoAtreides
October 4th 2010


315 Comments


Lecrae is one of the most solid REPPIN FOR THAT JAYZUS rappers out there.

brutebeard
October 4th 2010


1655 Comments


Nice short n' sweet review.

If you throw in some needed commas, I'll give you a pos

like here:
"Becoming the number two hip hop album upon release, ..."

Word up for anti-materialism hip-hop

MrSenior
October 15th 2010


212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, agreed 100% with JustJoe.

This is probably my favorite hip-hop album of the year so far. I think this could be a big hit in the sputnik community for those who aren't prejudiced against Christian music. Lecrae's ability to utilize different styles and flows makes for one entertaining listen.

melgosa41
January 10th 2011


93 Comments


I honestly hate this style of music, but I bought his album anyways because of how strong his lyrics are. Plus he does truly bring something different to the rap market.

Lakes.
January 21st 2011


27743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this should have been on a buttload of year-end lists

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

melgosa41
January 26th 2011


93 Comments


He actually just came out with part 2 to this cd. It's called overdose.

Paincake
January 27th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lecrae is an amazing inspiration! His rapping is by far my favorite and some of the best I've ever heard and his lyrics are increadible and inspiring! If he were a contemporary artist (although I, personally prefer him continueing christain music), I have very little dout in my mind he would blow lil' Wayne, Eminem, Drake(all whome I love as well.), and every other great rapper of today away!!!

TheMabee
March 12th 2011


24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I edited it a bit and added more

Pharoh
July 21st 2011


3326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy