Good Riddance
A Comprehensive Guide to Moderne Rebellion


5.0
classic

Review

by owl316 USER (21 Reviews)
September 27th, 2010 | 16 replies | 7,175 views


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "We don't need pessimism...pessimism...pessimism..."

If you were expecting the overused Green Day song, you will be disappointed. That is until you hear this band play good 'ol punk rock. Good Riddance has adapted to all the sub-genres of punk rock. Their earlier work was a blend of punk rock, pop punk and hardcore music, with production qualities that heavily resembled earlier punk oufits like Black Flag. The middle of their career was heavily focused on melodic hardcore music. GR's last few albums were mostly inspired by the Descendents older material. This album fits into the first of the 3 categories I just described.

A Comprehensive Guide to Moderne Rebellion is an album that is nearly perfect. Upon first glance, or even first listen, one would find this album mediocre, or just disregard it as a typical 90's California punk album. But in reality, the album succeeds in many categories that other bands couldn't compete with. It was melodic enough for even the most sensitive punk, and heavy enough for a hardcore zealot. GR sent political messages that were deep enough for politico punks to admire, but not to the point where it would turn off their less politically interested listeners.

The album opens with a 1950's sound excerpt from an American propaganda film, urging the citizens to look foward to the future of the country opptimisticly. "Weight of the World" then explodes in your face, with its signature drumming and bass beat. The guitar riff that still graces the dreams of GR fans begins, which in turn gives way to Russ Rankin's versitile voice.

Russ's singing on this album is actually quite 3 dimmensional. His singing on tracks like "Token Idiot" and "Lampshade" proves he is melodicially gifted, and yet able to spew heavy rants like "Trophy" and "Sky is Falling" on the same record.

The playing on the album is also top notch. Tattooed Sean Sellers keeps a rapidly fast beat in greatly drummed tunes like "Bittersweet" and "Think of Me." Luke and Chuck, guitarist and bassist respectivley, also bring sweet sounding music. The bridge on "Steps" is amazing to say the least. With the song "Sometimes", you can feel the energy of how much the band gets along with eachother, and how well they used that to their advantage.

"Last Believer" is a stand out track on the album, and may be the most important lyrically. The lyrics are surpirsingly originally sounding, accusing the government and media as instigators to racism. Sexism and government oppression is another theme common in the songs "A Credit to His Gender", "West End Memorial" and "Steps."

Possibly the best thing about this album is the shear catchiness of it all. Its already satisfying the album tackles politics and relationships with excellent playing and singing, but if it wasn't catchy, then this might not have worked. "This is the Light", "Up & Away" and "Favorite Son" are arguably the catchiest songs on the album, even if the lyrcis deal with the dark side of conformity, religion, death and drug addiction.

A Comprehensive Guide to Moderne Rebellion will satisfy any revivalist punk rock fan. GR did an excellent job creating an album that blends several sub-genres of punk rock, while maintaing both heart-felt lyrics and catchy melodies. Do yourself a favor and pick this up, or at least sample the songs off iTunes. It won't disappoint...hopefully.



Recent reviews by this author
Pulley Esteem Driven EngineTen Foot Pole Rev
Satanic Surfers Hero of Our TimeGuttermouth Gorgeous
Guttermouth Teri YakimotoGuttermouth Friendly People
user ratings (54)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
owl316
September 27th 2010


83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry I somehow forgot to include the cover song of "Come Dancing"! Its a good song, and when I first heard it, I thoght it sounded too poppy for GR. Then I learned it was a cover. Its a good one though

kitsch
September 28th 2010


5107 Comments


whoa a tbt... this is so nostalgic

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2010


15975 Comments


you make some good points, but overall i would cut back on the personal opinions and do another sweep for spelling/grammar mistakes. also avoid track by track, although many people do that for their first review.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Spec
September 28th 2010


27167 Comments


Bias.

Awesomesauce
September 28th 2010


1084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album kicks arse. Not a 5 though.

cvlts
September 28th 2010


8955 Comments


oh fuck yes.

Satellite
September 28th 2010


20812 Comments


Ahhhh I haven't listened to this in forever.

I met Russ Rankin and Bill Stevenson (the drummer for motherfucking Black Flag and the Descendents!) in Lansing a few years back when they were playing in Only Crime. Shit was surreal.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

Satellite
September 28th 2010


20812 Comments


Review is sort of bad, though. I won't neg, but it's in pretty dire need of a rewrite.

owl316
September 28th 2010


83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah its pretty easy to shit on someone, because we call can do a better job right?

And i would agree that the album isn't a 5, but after hearing it again after a year, it really stood the test of time. It is a classic in the 90's punk category, and it is also the top rated punk album of 1996, so me being biased is full of shit. a lot of peopel seem to agree, and if you don't, then go on fanboy on another review

And i don't know how this review is poorly written. 90% of the reviews on this site are poorly written on this site. some will agree with me and many won't agree with me. we all have opinions. just because you didn't write the review of this album in the time it was on the site for like 5 years, doesn't mean you can bag on it.

owl316
October 1st 2010


83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There...i rewrote the article in a non track by track review.

Satellite
October 1st 2010


20812 Comments


Better, but the opening sentence is pretty lame. There are some basic spelling and punctuation mistakes throughout the review as well (always use spell checker). Also, you should go into much greater detail. I mean, if I'm someone who's never hard this before, MAKE me want to hear it. And using exclamation marks is dumb.; it's like laughing at your own joke.

Awesomesauce
October 1st 2010


1084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. Also, by insulting people who don't like this record in your summary makes you seem like a complete intolerant jerk. I'm not going to neg the review but it still needs work.

The album is really good but I fucking HATE the drum production. It sounds like Flemming Rasmussen recorded it in 1988. Operation Phoenix slays this record.

owl316
October 1st 2010


83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Satellite, you are a dumbass. "I mean, if I'm someone who's never hard this before, MAKE me want to hear it." The fact that this album is the top rated punk album of 1996 ALONE will make people want to at least sample some songs on iTunes or something. It helped regain my interest in this album afterall.

And Awesomesauce, its called a joke. If you don't liek this album, whatever. I was referencing "Token Idiot", the song.
And Operation Phoenix was great too, but the drums on this album rock, even if they have an off sound. i will agree compared to other fat wreck bands, this album's production value is a little low.

Satellite
October 2nd 2010


20812 Comments


Ummmm, how am I a "dumbass"? All I did was tell you that...

a) ...the opening sentence is lame (it is).

b) ...there are basic spelling and punctuation errors that could be avoided simply by using a spellchecker (why you wouldn't do this on your own is beyond me).

c) ...you need to go into far greater detail and make someone who's never heard the album want to hear it (who gives a shit that it's the highest rated punk album of its release year? Your album should be able to stand on its own merit).

d) ...excessive use of exclamation marks in a music review is lame. This one might be trite, but it would look a shit ton more professional if you removed them.

You probably aren't worth the time I spent replying to you, but at the very least try not to get so butthurt when someone offers you constructive criticism on your shitty review.

ShadowRemains
October 23rd 2012


20694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good shit

Digging: Banks - Goddess

gocsa666
August 2nd 2014


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A real gem of the hardcore punk genre.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy