How to Dress Well
Love Remains


5.0
classic

Review

by Sam Feldman's Rating USER (66 Reviews)
September 27th, 2010 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Transcendent.

There's always the fear of overplaying a new release that you've come to know and love after the first few listens or so. That moment is always seemingly looming; where you've been around the album's block one too many times and there's no more surprise or exhiliration anymore from listening. It happens to the best of them and in some cases is impossible to combat. So you try your damn hardest to resist, attempting to occupy your mind with anything other than the wonderful hyperbolic release that has just been layed upon you. There are times when you succeed; where you can put the album down for a few days and then pick it back up again only to be thrown back into the world you love and at that point, an album becomes rather special.

However, with Love Remains, it just doesn't ***ing matter. You may attempt to pry your ears away from Tom Krell's out-of-this-world lo-fi R&B adventure, and you will fail. Miserably. Because when it comes to Love Remains, you are at the mercy of one of the most addicting, enjoyable, and engaging albums of 2010. And the most beautiful thing about it is, Love Remains knows just how incredibly irresistable it is; it knows you will try to leave it alone and it sure as hell knows you will be back for more in no more than a moment. It's as if Love Remains lets you know that it's ok to go, if only because it is assured that you will be back. It's wonderful, because Love Remains is a friend rather than a diabolical enemy. And ironically, Tom Krell doesn't exactly present the most accessible music out there; Love Remains is essentially a compilation and therefore feels disjointed and flowless. Tracks like "Can't See My Own Face" and "Date Of Birth" fly by so quickly under Krell's soothing falsetto that it's difficult to ever get a grasp on them, even if they are structurally sound. Not to mention, there are moments where Krell's DIY flourescent fantasy is grating, as his voice blooms out of the music so forcefully at times you're taken aback and eventually dazed.

But overall, the little moments of abrasiveness is irrelevant as the majority of Love Remains will test your ability to stand still and not be submerged by overwhelming euphoria. Opening track "You Hold The Water" immedietaly transports you to this ghastly universe with choir-like beauty in the form of Krell's gorgeous vocal melodies underneath waves of sonic shards and pulsating life. It's really a transcendant experience, only accentuated by the tracks that follow; "Ready For This World" is Krell's first true take on R&B on the album and it simmers along beautifully; "You Won't Need Me Where I'm Goin" is the metaphorical centerpiece of the album where Krell's cerebral hopefulness shines through into the music and it makes things very hard if you're shy about immediately starting to sway and close your eyes and dream, no matter where you are. "Walking This Dumb", even though it's recorded live on the album, is fantastic; the pounding drum and bass combo over Krell's angelic croons is the easy winner of the "let's ***ing rave right now" award for 2010, and nothing will come close in the next 3 months.

So as I try and ultimately fail to take out my blaring headphones for God knows how long, Love Remains will envelop my body, soul, and mind in its nigh-unstoppable pursuit for transcendence. It's a truly unique listen, as the only album that I can think of that comes close to this aesthetic is Burial's 2007 Untrue. But where Untrue felt gritty and underground, Love Remains is up in the clouds, smiling down at our hopeless souls, knowing full well that we are powerless to succumb to its majestic qualities. And that's ok, because Love Remains isn't out to get us, it's out for us.



Recent reviews by this author
Women Public StrainHip Hatchet Coward's Luck
The Roots undunTwo Door Cinema Club Tourist History
Real Estate DaysJenny Hval Viscera
user ratings (284)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Luke Rhinehart (5)
No Air...

Alex Silveri EMERITUS (4.5)
Immersive, Cold, Beautiful....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Enotron
September 27th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

u souped?

conradtao
Emeritus
September 27th 2010


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

>transcendant
>transcendent

fix that. I didn't even read the review because of that sorry br0

fromtheinside
September 27th 2010


19143 Comments


no you didnt

Digging: Bolt Thrower - ...For Victory

Romulus
September 27th 2010


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome album, awesome review chambered.

fromtheinside
September 27th 2010


19143 Comments


this is a ridiculously good review. like awesome dude.

ready for the world is astonishing

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the thing i love about you chambered is that youre ridiculous but youre honest. good review

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2010


15080 Comments


theres a point where you misspelled irresistible

" And the most beautiful thing about it is, Love Remains knows just how incredibly irresistable it
is; it knows you will try to leave it alone and it sure as hell knows you will be back for more in
no more than a moment. It's as if Love Remains lets you know that it's ok to go, if only because it
is assured that you will be back. It's wonderful, because Love Remains is a friend rather than a
diabolical enemy."

this part isnt really explained. i get what youre saying but how so? edit: and, why not, to what
end? how does this separate itself from "fantastic album that doesnt know its irresistible" or even
"fantastic album that's easy to put down" and "launch" itself into the realm of "fantastic album
that knows its irresistible and which you can't put down"? you know what i mean?

"Not to mention, there are moments where Krell's DIY flourescent fantasy is grating, as his voice
blooms out of the music so forcefully at times you're taken aback and eventually dazed."

the second part of this sentence doesnt really sound "grating" to me. idk

theres a part where you misspell transcendent

""You Won't Need Me Where I'm Goin" is the metaphorical centerpiece of the album"

how so? (focus on "metaphorical"); the other part of the sentence doesn't really explain it to me

""Walking This Dumb", even though it's recorded live on the album, is fantastic"

"even though"? this implies that a live track shouldnt be fantastic. it's not perfect but a fix
might be "is on par with the others" or something to that effect

"because Love Remains isn't out to get us, it's out for us."

i know what you meant but doesn't "out for us" sort of have the same effect as "out to get us"
(especially in, idk, conversation or whatever)

good review havent listened blah lbah etc

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2010


7320 Comments


Enjoyed reading. Good stuff =)

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2010


7423 Comments


really need to hear this, i liked the song featured in the staff blog.

Zizzer
September 27th 2010


915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've been busy and unable to listen to new music recently, but I'm going to try to check this out tonight.

Enotron
September 27th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ever since b4k said this guy works p4k, i've had this fear that this is just a p4k conspiracy and aggghhh

LukeB84
September 27th 2010


151 Comments


Definitely checking this out!

Awesome review Chambered89!

Gyromania
September 27th 2010


16088 Comments


Ghost pos.

Walking This Dumb doesn't dwindle, so I don't question why it's a live rendition

Gyromania
September 27th 2010


16088 Comments


No, your way of mentioning it was fine with me, just adding my input. I enjoyed reading this, and obviously I agree, although it's a little funny that you dropped your rating

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2010


15080 Comments


i feel u chambered sometimes though youre on the fence with ur real rating ya just gotta Write Dat Five

SCREAM!
September 27th 2010


10379 Comments


the song on the staff blog really didnt impress me at all

so should i jsut skip this?

Digging: Svartidau?i - Flesh Cathedral

SCREAM!
September 27th 2010


10379 Comments


vocals and the overall productions

its seems a little crackly which i didnt personally think fit the music

liledman
September 27th 2010


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

knew it wouldnt be long before you had a review for this up.

great review dude.

Zizzer
September 27th 2010


915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Why doesn't the reviewer's 5 rating show up on the chart?

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

he has it a 4.5 but he wrote the review as a 5



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy