The Pretty Reckless
Light Me Up


3.0
good

Review

by GulliKyro USER (8 Reviews)
September 14th, 2010 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rebel music with training wheels.

At what point does blatant posturing and grasping for “authenticity” becoming an overwhelming distraction to the matter at hand? The answer varies from case to case, and in the instance of the debut album by The Pretty Reckless you get to see the precipice without tipping over, because this is one occasion where a desperate search for credibility is softened by the enjoyable pop rock buttress it rides in on.

Ostensibly a four piece the reality of the situation is all ears and indeed eyes will be cast to the front women, the Gossip Girl starring Taylor Momsen. Known to prance around the stage in various stages of undress while cultivating a rebel image which would likely only fool impressionable 16 year old boys, it’s a grating attempt at manipulation that carries the unmistakable aura of the gagafication of mainstream music.

Why should this matter you ask? Indeed it’s a good question, why indeed if the hooks and crunching guitars are delivered as well as you get here should a little dash of fakery ruin proceedings? Well the answer lies in each individual listener. If you are a raging Anti-Flag devotee then nothing this group produces will diminish the acidic bile that rises from your throat so it’s best to just avoid this altogether in the interests of your own health. If you are one of those people who like to intersperse Opeth marathons with some Bitch Alert , L7 or Courtney Love rambling then you should find a lot of enjoy here.

Well I’ve managed to go 3 whole paragraph’s without actually touching the music so I guess I’d better. You like that Hole album Celebrity Skin? Want something that follows it to a letter outside of aspects I’ll mention below? Yes? That’s great, buy this album and enjoy it because Celebrity Skin’s younger more angst ridden sister is what you’ll get. Right from the southern swamp rock infused opening track “My Medicine” the album sets out its stall; Momsen has edgy issues and demands you take note. If you manage to avoid the distraction that it sounds like a neutered track from the second Down record you’ll enjoy it, if not then sucks for you I guess. The whole album is full of these oh so familiar moments, The main riff of Goin Down which is lifted wholesale from the Ash song "Orpheus", the Don Mclean infused "Nothing Left to Lose", the 80s hair metal recall of "Factory Girl" and of course the whole celebrity skin undercurrent which can be found everywhere else, it’s an album full of ghosts and influences badly hidden. The guy's in the backing section meanwhile do their jobs with competent aplomb. The Bass led "Since Your Gone" and the title track allow them moments to push forward for attention (Momsen's slightly gravelly vocals do dominate proceedings overall) and they get the job done. Nothing amazing but its all without fault.

It really sounds like a negative review but in the end the whole shiny package works on a base level. Its derivative, devoid of anything original to say and oh so clearly trying to trying to be something it’s not. But it’s also catchy, easy to digest and with songs like the irresistible “Make Me Want to Die” and acoustic lovers lament closer “You” very hard to dismiss overall.

It’s an album you’ll throw on, enjoy for a short while and then likely set aside with fond memories and in the end that’s no bad thing.



Recent reviews by this author
Antonio Pinto Senna (Original Soundtrack)Clare Maguire Light After Dark
Mother Mother EurekaThe Joy Formidable The Big Roar
Lilly Wood & The Prick Invincible FriendsGold Motel Summer House
user ratings (107)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid review that balanced information & (for want of a better word) entertainment. Good stuff.

To those who wanted me to review this album, I checked out one of the singles (Miss Nothing) & was a bit so-so about it. Her voice really takes a while to get used to.

Actually Gulli, you don't really touch on her voice in the review. Might be worth adding a sentence somewhere.

GulliKyro
September 14th 2010


357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Davey. Was abit ambivalent on the vocals, stuck in my brief view on them

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2010


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No probs. If you're neither here nor there on them, it is fair enough just adding a description as you have.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2010


28791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i was so sure davey would review this with one of those classic davey 3.5's but i guess i was wrong


btw the music is bad but im gonna give it a 3.5 after half a listen.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2010


28791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Known to prance around the stage in various stages of undress while cultivating a rebel image which would likely only fool impressionable 16 year old boys, it’s a grating attempt at manipulation that carries the unmistakable aura of the gagafication of mainstream music.


wut

GulliKyro
September 14th 2010


357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Gagafication refers to something like this

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1311874/Has-Lady-GaGa-killed-sex-Feminist-Camille-Paglia-claims-star-substance.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

Momsen isn't a massive culprit but its rather noticeable non the less. And yes having to link to a daily mail article does makes me feel dirty.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2010


28791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow. you're really stupid if you don't think that article is really stupid.

Pessimist
September 26th 2010


191 Comments


FFFFFFFFFF-

I wanted to review this album whenever I got my hands on it. I had been waiting months for this.

No need to though. Excellent review. I always thought she was trying to rip off Courtney Love for some reason.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2010


28791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[img]http://cache.gawkerassets.com/assets/images/7/2010/10/500x_revolver.jpg[/img]

relevant.

BLUEOmni
November 7th 2010


684 Comments


I can't believe she'd put a child with a lighter on an album titled "Light me up"
What a fucking bitch.

BLUEOmni
November 7th 2010


684 Comments


I hate the singer far too much to accurately judge her music :/

BLUEOmni
November 7th 2010


684 Comments


A few reason why I hate her:

- She's narcissistic and looks down on people. I remember reading an interview with her where she states that she's above everyone in high schools and is too mature to be associated with them.
- She does act like she's above everything.
- This album cover

BLUEOmni
November 7th 2010


684 Comments


Personally, I feel like she's feigning an unfortunate attitude to cover up her insecurities and naivety.

BLUEOmni
November 7th 2010


684 Comments


lawl, there's plenty of teenage girls like that, but there's also plenty who aren't like that. I'm proud to say I haven't met many teenage girls who act like Momsen.

BLUEOmni
November 7th 2010


684 Comments


oh god, now you have me worried haha

BLUEOmni
November 8th 2010


684 Comments


I'm 18

BLUEOmni
November 8th 2010


684 Comments


I have, but not many. I prefer to hang out with people who aren't like Momsen.

BLUEOmni
November 8th 2010


684 Comments


Her attitude gave her age away, but I agree, she does look a bit older than she actually is. It's from all that makeup and slutty clothing.

BLUEOmni
November 8th 2010


684 Comments


She tries hard to front someone she isn't. I don't think she's as "bAd" or "DAAAArk" as she tries to come off as.

BLUEOmni
November 8th 2010


684 Comments


Her musical and songwriting approach is heavily influenced by the hard-edged, hard beat-driven rhythms common to many rock bands of her native Philadelphia, often featuring lyrics surrounding themes of lost love, criticisms of insincerity, the quest for authenticity, the struggles and resolutions of the American middle class.


I got this from Wikipedia (never heard of the woman). Maybe Momsen has a similar grunge style, but it sounds like Jett knew what she was doing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy