Jimmy Eat World
Stay on My Side Tonight


3.5
great

Review

by BringHomeTheBacon USER (7 Reviews)
October 12th, 2005 | 103 replies | 12,498 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


4 of 4 thought this review was well written

A year after Futures was released and after opening a massive tour with Green Day, Jimmy Eat World released a new five song EP- Stay on My Side Tonight. None of the songs are actually new however. The first three tracks are based on previous songs demoed by the band. "Half Right" is a Heatmiser cover and Drugs or Me is only a remix of the song heard on Futures. For a small EP just to last fans until the next full album, its quite worth its five bucks.

1. Disintegration- Begins with crescendoing reverb guitar chords and appreggiated chords played on a higher scale. The song is reminiscent of "Cautioners", especially the on and off drumming. Its funny the song is called Disintegration because it does resemble The Cure a bit. The tempo is slow, making the song a bit of an odd choice for an opener (then again, JEW have done this before with "Table for Glasses". Towards the end of the song, there is a huge singalong line- "Try to lie better next time, stay on my side tonight, Woah..". Its incredibly catchy and will certainly get stuck in your head. The song is rather depressing and an odd choice for an opener. Still, a great listen throughout the long length of it- 7:44. 9/10

2. Over- Like "Disintegration" this track begins with quiet guitar chords and leads into a louder distorted series of chords and vocals. Originally, this song was written and sung by Tom during the demos for Clarity. This version was arranged with different lyrics, phrasing, and a different structure by Jim, who sings this version. Its another catchy track with a similar lyric theme to the previous song. Once again, this song is powered by answering vocals sung in octaves. The whole song flows very nicely, especially the chorus which hits hard after the verses and bridge. 8/10

3. Closer- After 2 somewhat pessimistic songs, this one picks up the mood. The lyrics are positive and the guitar lines that continue throughout the song sound happy. At about 2:15 the song breaks into an instrumental section, its a great section. Its filled with guitar harmonics, octaved riffs, and an 80's sounding synth-guitar fill. After more distorted power chords and clean quiet appreggio lines during the 2 and a half minute section, the song leads into another verse and ends soon after at 5:50. Another great song. 8/10

4. Half Right- A sensible cover to do after a line in "Kill"- "Like your favorite Heatmiser song goes, its just like being alone." This is that Heatmiser song. Its played on an acoustic guitar playing more appreggiated chords along with bass and drums. Although I must admit I've never heard the original, I can tell from the cover that its very well written and quite beautiful. Its a nice ballad and good cover from what I can tell. It fits JEW's style nicely. However, its another depressing song like the first two. 9/10

5. Drugs or Me (Styrofoam Remix)- A very strange remix, adding new parts to the song. The remix wasn't done by the band, but by a remixer by the name of Styrofoam. Its hard to describe what's remixed. It sounds like the original vocals are broken into tiny bits and scattered through the song. Its a techno style remix of what was originally a slow ballad. It doesn't do the original song any justice really. All of the strange digital effects and sped up vocals ruin the song. 3/10

Pros- Songs are incredibly catchy
Songs have good lengths
First four tracks are all great

Cons- 5 songs? Even for an EP that seems too little.
Drugs or Me (original)>>>>>>>>>> remix
The remix is pretty much a filler song. Filler ratio- 1 to 4.

Overall, its a nice way to keep fans satisfied until the release of the next album. Worth your five bucks.



Recent reviews by this author
Unwound Leaves Turn Inside YouOasis (What's the Story) Morning Glory?
Switchfoot Nothing is SoundWeezer Blue Album Deluxe Edition
Led Zeppelin Led Zeppelin [DVD]Foo Fighters Everywhere But Home
user ratings (140)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Davey Boy STAFF (1.5)
Despite adequate reasoning for the release and good length for an EP, these are average album tracks...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2005



15697 Comments


I'm quite a fan of Jimmy Eat World. Loved em live when they opened for GD. Bleed American is their best album. If they recapture that with their next album, that'd be good.

NEDM
October 12th 2005



1113 Comments


EPs usually have 5 or less songs.

Zebra
Moderator
October 12th 2005



2647 Comments


Jimmy Eat World is alright, but I don't get why people like them so much.

Good review even though it was a track by track.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2005



15697 Comments


What's wrong with track by tracks? I think they're far more in depth than a paragraph or two summarizing the highlights and low points of an album.

incubus62086
October 13th 2005



147 Comments


track by tracks are better IMO

mx
Moderator
October 13th 2005



733 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I didn't find this to be that great... although 'Over' is a good song

mx
Moderator
October 13th 2005



733 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That 2 rating wasn't on purpose... I need to fix this. I'll add an option to change your ratings sometime this week.This Message Edited On 10.13.05

kolzig33189
October 13th 2005



335 Comments


yeah bleed american was the best and about half or futures was really good. they could have had more success making a full album cuz the recent tour with green day probly got them alot more listeners

RollerQueen
November 10th 2005



209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hm... The Heatmiser cover is pretty faithful to the original. The only difference is Jim's voice; otherwise, you could pass it off as the original. It's a bit specious that "Kill" started getting played less than a month after Elliott's death... Ah well.

The interlude of "Closer," at least the guitar part, reminds me too much of "23," like they barely changed the lead and put it in the EP for fun.

Ah well. I love this band; they're one of my favourites. Can't wait for their next album, I.

(>dragon~guitarist<)
November 13th 2005



243 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Im looking forward to their next release, but this EP has really let me down. Over is a good song though, the rest are ok at best, I don't know what is up with that Drugs or Me Remix, but its a poor excuse of a remix.

FrddyBrnRgrJhn
April 25th 2006



81 Comments


okay first off, don't believe commercials. and second off, this is more of a b-sides release from what i've heard. they didn't really record a new "abum" per say.

i love heatmiser (ESPECIALLY elliott), and i love jimmy eat world, so i should probably get a copy of this. the only thing that was stopping me from buying it when it came out was that dreadful "drugs or me" remix. i usually don't like spending money on shitty remixes.

foreverendeared
March 12th 2007



14678 Comments


by the way if one song was a filler then the "filler ratio" would be 1 to 5..... not 1 to 4 like you say. just a little fyi. not really important or anything

Jips
November 8th 2009



1127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this ep deserves a better review... im sorry but i think track by tracks are poor... analyze each song sure... but put it in paragraph form... same thing with the pros and cons... not doing this just looks lazy... also if the album contains a cover... go find and listen to the original so you dont have to state that you havent heard the original... which also looks lazy...

also 5 tracks pretty much defines an EP... finally your ratings in your tack by track dont average to a 3.5... you over/under rated...

sorry if im an asshole to drag up a review that hasnt been commented on in 2 years to tear it apart... i just listened to this tonight and really enjoyed it...

Sanders
January 29th 2011



2326 Comments


Had no idea this existed. It's really good.

minty901
November 15th 2012



1915 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

opener is one of their best ever songs wtf

ViperAces
November 15th 2012



12358 Comments


"What's wrong with track by tracks? I think they're far more in depth than a paragraph or two summarizing the highlights and low points of an album."

tommygun
July 23rd 2013



21345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

disintegration is just the greatest thing

InfamousGrouse
July 23rd 2013



2900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wonder why i'm so caught off guard when we kiss

Minus.
July 23rd 2013



2666 Comments


Why do sputnikers get their panties all bunched up when users do track by track reviews? Honestly, I see nothing wrong with it.

tommygun
July 23rd 2013



21345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

prob cos they usually suck



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy