Argentum
Ad Interitum Funebrarum


2.0
poor

Review

by DeafMetal USER (2 Reviews)
September 12th, 2010 | 12 replies | 4,188 views


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This poor excuse of a black metal album is one of sheer hilarity, not brutality.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Argentum is a relatively unknown band from Monterrey, Mexico, that plays a cheesy style of keyboard-heavy, atmospheric black metal. They are:

Khabee Asura Baba Bathra - Vocals
Setar Fher Sabboth - Guitar
Owen Dhelium Kunrath - Guitar
Senoath Mortum Mahanad - Bass
Henry Graves - Keyboards
Darkkus Baron Samedi - Drums

Argentum's first full-length release, "Ad Interitum Funebrarum" is as off-putting as black metal gets. The album does almost nothing right, and thinking that it's dark, atmospheric, and evil, makes this release all the more intolerable.

The attempt to create a bleak ambiance with frequent, annoying horse whinnies (a complete rip-off of Bathory's near-perfect "Blood Fire Death"), Casio keyboard choral passages, weak Gregorian chanting segments, and echoing spoken excerpts is completely laughable. The production stands as pretty run-of-the-mill by black metal standards and does not take away, nor add to the atmosphere of the album, although the drums do sound a bit muddy (which is mainly fault of the terrible drumming).

Yet, there are a few redeeming aspects this album carries. Although the guitar riffing throughout is stale and uninspired (to say the least), the Peste Noire-influenced soloing is superb. There's quite a lot of shredding to be heard on "Ad Interitum Funebrarum", but more often than not, it's accompanied by thin, keyboard-laden riffs. Beautiful, Spanish-style acoustic guitar is placed sparsely throughout the album and helps break up the dull monotony of the songs it's featured on, but these instances are few and far between. It's actually a shame, as these moments are the only real aspects worth listening to.

An example of this is displayed on the track "Ad Posthumum". The song begins with a tasteful, melodic acoustic passage, only to be quickly ruined by the drums and keyboards that come in playing one of the stupidest riffs I've ever heard. In addition, every song on "Ad Interitum Funebrarum" is too long for its own good, with tracks at least 6 minutes in length that have absolutely no progression at all. Argentum begins every song playing the same lackluster riff, followed by several minutes of characterless, open-chugging, which leads back into the main riff, all the while thinking it's more evil than it really is and as a result, hardly any atmosphere at all is created.

To top everything off, the vocals are fragile and forced. Typical shrieks and wails are present, but are poorly executed and come off as pathetic sounding. Vocalist, Khabee Asura Baba Bathra, can often be heard intentionally squawking like a bird. The mental picture evoked is one of pure hilarity. Not to worry though, Khabee breaks-up his terrible vocals on "Pax Moriendi" with spoken passages so awful, you'll wonder if Argentum is a serious band. Unfortunately they are.

With pretentious song titles in Latin that are far too long, drumming that sounds plastic and muffled, a non-existent bass, and basic, bland guitar riffing, Argentum succeed in creating one of the most cringe-worthy black metal albums I have ever listened to. Every song falls flat and is devoid of any kind of progression. The vocals are horrific (in a bad way) and halt any kind of great enjoyment that this album could provide. Avoid "Ad Interitum Funebrarum" at all costs. If you want to hear great black metal guitar work, listen to Peste Noire. If it's atmosphere you're after, listen to Bathory. There is no reason whatsoever to listen to Argentum. Unless, that is, they decide to form a vocal-less, acoustic, mariachi band.

Pros:
- Great guitar soloing.
- Beautiful, albeit short, acoustic passages.

Cons:
- Overall poor instrumentation.
- Cheesy keyboard riffs.
- Spoken sections are overdone.
- Lengthy songs.


user ratings (1)
2
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
vanderb0b
September 12th 2010



3473 Comments


Excellent review, man. Might give this a listen, it sounds absolutely terrible.

DeafMetal
September 12th 2010



8584 Comments


thx a lot man listen to it for the laughs if anything

Digging: Satan's Satyrs - Wild Beyond Belief

brutebeard
September 12th 2010



1655 Comments


Definitely evident are Bathory rip-off horse whinnies.

The squawking is sort of immature.

Children Of Bodom's younger pen pals

The Spaniard scales sort of reminisce of Nile

DeafMetal
September 12th 2010



8584 Comments


album just sucks

DeafMetal
February 20th 2011



8584 Comments


^

GoodGirlsGetGutted
July 10th 2011



3 Comments


Very well written review, but quite offputting. Every other review I read had more or less described Ad Interitum Funebrarum as one of the greatest death/black/doom metal hybrids ever made. Personally, I think it's a masterpiece. I apologize if I come off as patronizing, but I'm more than a little surprised that you didn't enjoy this.

DeafMetal
July 10th 2011



8584 Comments


i'm touched you created an account to comment my friend. i didn't know there were many reviews for this album... i'd be interested in hearing the praise for the album. other than burzum, some emperor, etc i'm generally turned off by keyboards in black metal

GoodGirlsGetGutted
July 10th 2011



3 Comments


Well, I've read around, but this is the first review that I was really surprised by enough to comment on. To be honest, I don't really listen to black metal, but I am a death metal fanatic. I think Argentum is more atmospheric death/doom than black metal, although there's certainly plenty of BM influence. I can actually understand how this sort of thing would sound cheesy to a diehard black metal patron, but maybe if you looked at it as an avant-garde death metal record, you would see why Ad Interitum Funebrarum is so highly respected. Me being someone whose favorite atmospheric death metal includes similar bands like Phlebotomized, Visceral Evisceration, Acrostichon, Creepmime, Hypnotic Scenery, Disharmonic Orchestra, Infester, Carbonized, Belial, Rippikoulu, and so on, I guess I'm just wondering if you can at least acknowledge that this album isn't a joke to alien/abstract/bizarre death metal aficionados like myself and many (okay, maybe not so many) others. I mean, man, you really ridiculed the shit out of this album, haha. To me, this album getting a "poor" rating yields the same reaction I would get if someone said Transcendence into the Peripheral was garbage.
Anyway, there's a good, very glowing review on metal-archives, as well as on some lists at RYM. The rest were personal recommendations from fellow metalheads that I respect.
Thanks for responding, and y'know what, if I was a black metal guy, I'd probably hate this, too. Funny how the same music could be perceived so differently, isn't it?

DeafMetal
July 12th 2011



8584 Comments


that is a very interesting way of perceiving this album, but once again upon listening to it, the music nods so much to black metal for me not to dislike the overall atmosphere it attempts to create. and as much as i love most of the bands you listed, phlebotomized's 'immense intense suspense' is another example of a band trying to create atmosphere and it just killing the album for me (although the violin is nice at times). perhaps this album is a classic and my preference just doesn't allow me to appreciate it as much as i should, idk.

GoodGirlsGetGutted
July 12th 2011



3 Comments


Well, you admitted it was your personal preference, and that's really all I wanted to see. I think it's fine that you don't enjoy this album. The only thing I took umbrage to was how you made it out to look like such a joke that death/black metal fans who could potentially love this album might be steered away from it. Like I said, the review was well written, and I voted it as such. However, when you write about an album like this that simply happens to evade the scope of your personal preference, I would recommend that the review be written from a slightly less obtuse standpoint. In lieu of mocking the band, I find it much more prudent to present the pros and cons of the album, and then let the listeners decide for themselves what to think of it. I'm not trying to change your opinion or your style, I'm just saying that I think it would really be a shame if someone decided not to give Ad Interitum Funebrarum a chance because of a review like this that makes the band look ridiculous. I'm just looking out for my fellow atmospheric death maniacs here, because I wholeheartedly believe that most, if not all, will love or at least enjoy this album. That's all.

CK
August 9th 2013



4532 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agreed. This could have easily been better in like twenty ways

DeafMetal
August 12th 2013



8584 Comments


old review my writing was baloney. buuuuuut yea i listened to this again recently and was crackin up



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy