Unfathoms and Blasphymartyr
Votre Cote Mon Cote


2.5
average

Review

by cinaedus USER (19 Reviews)
September 11th, 2010 | 164 replies | 5,867 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Does what it is intended to. Blandly.

5 of 8 thought this review was well written

When I first heard that Unfathoms (Austin Tracey) and Blasphymartyr (Mappy) were doing a collaboration, I was not thrilled to say the least. Unfathoms' body of work ranges from awful to average grating and meandering noise. His last album, Rogue partially succeeded on the mere fact that he incorporated more variety into his music and less unlistenable noise. Unfortunately, it was too forgettable and average to go anywhere. I had not heard of Blasphymartyr's work until recently, but after listening to this split EP I can safely say that it is of the same category of noise as Unfathoms, albeit slightly more appealing and slightly more listenable.

Unfathoms' side of the EP, while not having much going on musically, does what it was intended to do; it maintains a calming, relaxing and often dreamlike feeling through minimal progression and ambient/post-drone instrumentation. "Tale of the Astral Plane Chapter One" soothes the listener with muffled text-to-speech lyrics and an atmospheric progression. "Chapter Two" follows the same concept, only this time the TTS is louder and more annoying. As the song faded into Blasphymartyr's "Disharmonious Latitude," my ears began to ache.

Blasphymartyr's work comes across as a stab at Unfathoms' early noise projects. "...And Harmony Escapes" wakes the listener up from the ethereal state of "Chapter Two" and is painful and thoroughly unenjoyable. The rest is more mellow, yet just as grating and with as little appeal to the ears. Closer "Benadryl: Please Stop Now, Kthxbai" is the only saving grace, with the noise more repressed and more attention paid to musical progression. The song ends with leaving the listener in almost the same state as Unfathoms' side. Still, it is obvious Blasphymartyr has a lot of work to do if he wants his noise to resemble good music.

In short, Mr. Tracey improves exponentially with Votre Cote, and Mappy fails blandly with Mon Cote. The result is an at times decent, yet usually inoffensive and forgettable release. Try again next time.



Recent reviews by this author
Skyhill Run With the HuntedNinja Sex Party Strawberries and Cream
Swans Children of GodThe Sleeping The Big Deep
Menomena MomsSwans Cop
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Done. Now you owe me a review, b4k.

RosaParks
September 11th 2010



14592 Comments


whoa I didn't know you write reviews

cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I write a lot of reviews.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
September 11th 2010



14513 Comments


review is good, very brief and to the point. pos'd

one of your best yet, dare i say it

RosaParks
September 11th 2010



14592 Comments


I write one every 3 months lol


I have better things to do. And most stuff i listen to has over 9000 reviews already

TheSpirit
September 11th 2010



16671 Comments


Reads like the rating should be much lower

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@sowing Thanks, I've had a lot of practice with reviewing lately due to my job at RRR.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
September 11th 2010



14513 Comments


what's your job at RRR?

and yeah, it does read more like a 2 or less...but nevertheless outstandingly worded

cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I gave it a 2.5 for benefit of the doubt.

I review new releases for ReviewRinseRepeat Sowing, hence why I haven't devoted as much time to Sputnik reviews.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
September 11th 2010



14513 Comments


whats reviewrinserepeat?

cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://reviewrinserepeat.com/

TheSpirit
September 11th 2010



16671 Comments


I gave it a 2.5 for benefit of the doubt.



Ahh okay. It's still a pretty good review so pos

Meatplow
September 11th 2010



5524 Comments


I like this.

Can you review the Unfathoms/Cripples Crossing Highways split coming up?

SowingSeason
Emeritus
September 11th 2010



14513 Comments


so you have a job there? like staff or something? i don't get it...

and yeah, i was wondering how i got so far ahead of you in reviews bro...at one point i had 20 and you had 18 or something like that

cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, Sowing I have a job there as a staff reviewer. Had to send an application and everything.

iscarabaid
September 11th 2010



385 Comments


Right now I am listening to the Disintegration Loops in commemoration of 9/11 but I do plan to listen to this later.

Digging: Wolf Vostell - Dé-Coll/age Musik

NeutralThunder12
September 11th 2010



8742 Comments


lol B4k

SowingSeason
Emeritus
September 11th 2010



14513 Comments


lol sites other than sputnik

NeutralThunder12
September 11th 2010



8742 Comments


lol sites other than sputnik [2]

cinaedus
September 11th 2010



26204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

who neg'd?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy