Morgen
Morgen


5.0
classic

Review

by Miltos Papayiannopoulos USER (2 Reviews)
September 5th, 2010 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A psych rock classic.

It is usual phenomenon, as it seems, to discover the majority of gems of old raw and psychedelic sound in bands that have been impossibly short-lived. This collectivism has lent its name from the frontman and lead guitarist of the band, Steve Morgen. The record was released in 1969, that is to wit in a fully flowered decade for this genre as all betray (1965-1975).

The whole record climax indicts a live recording and, aye, there are many who long for alike sound scapes even nowadays. Hardly can the album cover predispose what's going to be heard. Edvard Munch's marvelous painting, "The Scream", ornates the mentioned release. If we spherically try to analyze this specific creation, we conclude to a beautiful psych rock album which could be easily memorized by a greater audience. Especially, each one of the tracks of this release is a masterpiece for the universal musical world with enviable performances which indiscriminately impassion the senses. The moody world of Morgen is openly shown and the band's sound reminds me of the recordings of unforgettable Jimi Hendrix. Songs like "Welcome to the Void", "Of Dreams" and "Purple" are already in the pantheon of electric music. Of course, the band's great ammunition is that they've composed inspired melodies which they managed to make as pleasing listenings through the whole chaotic labyrinth of their songs. This record will make up guaranteed pleasure to any vintage worshipper. Find this one and listen to this at any cost.


user ratings (12)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
vanderb0b
September 5th 2010


3473 Comments


You're new to Sputnik, so you probably don't know this yet, but it's against site etiquette to have more than one review on the front page at a time. I'll probably give this a listen because of the Munch artwork.



Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2010


31878 Comments


If we spherically try to analyze this specific creation,


What.......

Canyons of Static
September 5th 2010


638 Comments


almost as pretentious as his name

JackBaker
October 24th 2011


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really didn't expect to find this band on here! Really like this band. 'She's the Ninetime' is a fantastic track! I have no idea how these guys went without notice or critical acclaim.

JackBaker
October 24th 2011


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really didn't expect to find this band on here! Really like this band. 'She's the Ninetime' is a fantastic track! I have no idea how these guys went without notice or critical acclaim.

KILL
December 24th 2013


73771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

goin to lose my miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiind



man this rules

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2014


7710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Excellent 60s psych. Thanks for the rec man.

Digging: Deaf Dealer - Journey into Fear

Cygnatti
January 8th 2014


24623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

srs bmup

Digging: John Wiese - Deviate From Balance

Cygnatti
June 8th 2014


24623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i say welcome to the voyyyyyy duh

i say welcome to the void

gypsyrick
June 8th 2014


205 Comments


This review is awesome.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2014


7710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As is this album.

WeepingBanana
September 24th 2014


10298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

purple goes down so smooth

Cygnatti
November 14th 2014


24623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lovin' the fuzz outta this

MOJ
December 6th 2014


219 Comments


I need lsd so bad!!!! this album is pure wonder

Cygnatti
January 26th 2015


24623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the opener is fuckin godly

KILL
January 27th 2015


73771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its heavy

TheSpaceMan
January 27th 2015


3342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

KILL whats this like?

KILL
January 27th 2015


73771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

check this dude



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEDqeGpPTr8

ResidentNihilist
January 27th 2015


1265 Comments


Hey KILL check this, Osamu Kitajima;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c87ARHzyO4k

don't know you'll make of it but i'm jamming it now and it seems really good

TheSpaceMan
January 27th 2015


3342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

jams hard gonna get this now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy