Bayside
Sirens & Condolences


3.0
good

Review

by Nevin USER (56 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2010 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bayside's debut provides just enough of a punch to ward off stagnancy, but leaves the listener wanting more.

If ever you've come across bands like Alkaline Trio, Brand New, or maybe even Death Cab For Cutie, then essentially you've heard Bayside's debut record, 'Sirens and Condolences'. These New York hailing punk-rockers take everything you've heard from pop-punk and emo and throw them in a simmering pot of hate and distortion. However bland that may sound, the execution is actually quite endearing. From the opener, 'Masterpiece', it's clear what kind of record this is going to be, and that's what is really enjoyable about this record. You can shamelessly enjoy each pounding, harsh song with just as much enjoyment as the band had in creating it. The repetition of chords and choruses is all but expected from the genre, and Bayside does it well while still being able to have enough lyrical substance to keep them above stagnancy.

The group's lead man and driving force, Anthony Raneri, is really who carries this record. With his passionate shouts and intensely personal lyrics, it's evident that he really takes pride in this. And while the record is certainly serious, it still keeps that sort of fun that comes with the gritty-punk style that they're going for. Much like their genre-sharing predecessors Alkaline Trio, they utilize their ability to craft catchy music, while still remaining lyrically solid and genuine. While some of the lyrics can be relatively cheesy, there are a handful of memorable moments tossed throughout the record. On the album's closer, 'Guardrail', Raneri's shouts of, "Break your neck like you broke my will!" holds a really legitimate intensity that would soon become the band's niche.

When it comes to instrumentation, it's the same blasting distortion with the electric guitar and pounding drums that make up a majority of the album. However, as previously mentioned this is all a suit of the genre and it fits Raneri's vocals quite nicely. It would be hypocritical not to mention that this is really nothing new, and is easily one of the shortcomings of the record. Whether it clearly aspires to just be another fun and emotionally packed punk record or not, it still stands that had there been more depth in the instrumentation, it could have been a really fantastic outing by one of the now more prominent names in pop-punk.

'Sirens and Condolences', has its hits and misses, but it has a lot of heart, and for a debut record it does its job. Despite being stale in a few spots, Bayside present themselves concisely and in a fashion that would soon become their own style. Their emotional-punk trend continues onto their second release and to great effect once again. Bayside exhibit that there are still bands willing to have fun while playing and hold that raw punch in their lyrics to keep them interesting, and that is all too refreshing.



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Scars Never Born, Never DeadFaux Reality Faux Reality
Andrew Jackson Jihad Knife ManBomb the Music Industry! Vacation
I Can Make A Mess Like Nobody's Business Gold RushDan Andriano in the Emergency Room Hurricane Season
user ratings (230)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
BGChargers123 (4.5)
A strong debut littered with moments of near excellence from a talented and emotional band out of Qu...

XenonDrive (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
September 3rd 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fucking love this album and this band is close to being my favourite.

Slum
September 3rd 2010


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I knew you'd comment on this! I think I just overplayed this when it came out, was super obsessed and it just starting getting meh after a while

Knott-
Emeritus
September 3rd 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did that with Walking Wounded really, and Shudder last year when I got into that. They're such an easy band to binge on though, Raneri's whole tone is addictive as hell.

Slum
September 3rd 2010


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Definitely man, is his solo record Ever gonna show up? All I have is that one song he posted last year

WatchItExplode
September 3rd 2010


3316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bayside is a cult...

edit: this band is pretty awesome and super consistent

Knott-
Emeritus
September 3rd 2010


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there's only so many chances that you get to do something that's this important

WatchItExplode
September 3rd 2010


3316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This rises above most pop-punk/pop-rock for me because of the interesting lyrics and guitar work

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review Nevin. You sum it up very well. This debut is so promising & paved the way for their future. 'Masterpiece' is incredible.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2010


28838 Comments


phil nevin?

[img]http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR1UTlQ-QBShZ7eXAbnqMdEPmFtqosDj8O8k78YLVhP7Uq3uAE&t=1&usg=__VavsbhxNliNGcr7AdAcbESPrGc4=[/img]

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

Slum
September 4th 2010


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks a lot, Davey! Always appreciate a word from you.

Also I do some baseball on the side, keep it hushush plz

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 4th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In fact, review is worth a pos.

NeutralThunder12
September 4th 2010


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

easily the best pop punk band around. Their self titled is awesome

Tits McGee
September 4th 2010


1876 Comments


nice review, I have a soft spot for this band actually

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Long Island quartet Bayside deliver a promising debut LP with 'Sirens & Condolences'. Anthony Raneri’s vocals are an acquired taste, yet they - & the mainly depressing lyrics - are perceptive & delivered in a sincere & passionate fashion. Containing indie influences, but delivered with a punky edge, it is a little up & down (odd-numbered tracks are the best) since it lacks a large amount of memorable hooks (hurt by picking the wrong cut from their split with Name Taken). Yet, this is ultimately a satisfying debut from a band with heaps of potential. Recommended Tracks: Masterpiece, Guardrail, Phone Call from Poland & If You're Bored.

Slum
February 14th 2011


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed, it's definitely one of my favorite Bayside songs. I think it was the first I heard from them as well

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm just trying to think what the 1st song I heard from them was. Probably Devotion & Desire, but it may have been Masterpiece.

Slum
February 14th 2011


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Devotion & Desire is a close second I think, this band and Alkaline Trio are pretty much just pure nostalgia for me

Knott-
Emeritus
February 14th 2011


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For me it was definitely Masterpiece.

Slum
February 14th 2011


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That seems to be it with a lot of my friends too, we were all obsessed with this band for a long time

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And what's your personal fave? Mine is actually 'Blame It On Bad Luck', although I'm probably on my own on that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy