Brand New
Daisy


2.5
average

Review

by DhA USER (19 Reviews)
August 26th, 2010 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This SOUNDS like a band with nothing left to do.

Daisy is an album that highlights Brand New's limitations. Although they are widely praised for their constant growth due to their stylistic change between each album, this album not only marks an end to that trend but also shows up the fact that, for all the distortion, screaming annd ambiguously religious lyrics, Jesse Lacey's songwriting is actually quite limited. It's not a bad album, but songs like "Bed" and "Bought A Bride" are over before they begin - you can, with total accuracy, predict how these songs will progress after the first few seconds. Whilst a band having their own style which they stick to is commendable more than anything, there still needs to be an element that is new and fresh, otherwise we might as well just listen to The Devil and God again. What I found with this album is that the best moments are obscured by woefully misguided "samples" (Vices) or cut short (Be Gone). The remainder of the album has some nice tunes - the closing trio of songs are pretty good - but it never elevates itself to the (unreasonable) levels of expectations that preceeded the album's release.

In addition, Jesse Lacey's lyrical style is beggining to grate - maybe it's not them, maybe I've just gotten sick of it - but the melodrama of his vocals in particular has begun to sound laboured (as oppossed to the "tortured" he would perhaps prefer). Like I said, I enjoy some songs on this, and most of them are not that bad, but I can't see myself wanting to sit through this allbum as a whole too often - the songs have begun to sound too similar and unremarkable, and as a body of work it is well below the bands previous two efforts.



Recent reviews by this author
Tyler the Creator BastardKanye West The College Dropout
Gorillaz Plastic BeachBritney Spears The Singles Collection
Busted A Present For EveryoneGirls Aloud The Sound of Girls Aloud
user ratings (2631)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
SeanFracture
August 26th 2010


35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Spelling errors everywhere ("ncie", "begginging", "mroe") and Lacey only wrote the lyrics in their entirety on "Vices" and "Bought a Bride".

Piglet
August 26th 2010


4654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, might want to break up the paras a bit and add more depth but overall I see where you're coming from.

Sheeple9000
August 26th 2010


1349 Comments


luLz, this review.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2010


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really enjoy the compressed feel of this album. I don't know what's the point of stretching the song out to 5 minutes when you have ideas to cover only 3. Brand New just realised that with this album. So, respectfully I disagree.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

DhA
August 26th 2010


421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The length of the songs is a positive I agree, but it feels like a left overs album more than anything else.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2010


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know. This is actually my favorite album of theirs. Perhaps because this is their tightest and darkest and I like the combination of these two features.

Locrian
August 26th 2010


1003 Comments


Short review is short.

BigHans
August 26th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

correct rating, album sucks hard compared to the previous two.

STOP SHOUTING!
August 26th 2010


631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

s/b "opposed".
nice soundoff.

DinoX
August 26th 2010


3582 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You rate Brand New a 2.5 I rate yo mama a 2.5

Counterfeit
August 26th 2010


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whats with all these dumbass negative reviews lately?

Obfuscation24
August 26th 2010


3939 Comments


didnt read, assuming the review sucks cause of rating

Gyromania
August 26th 2010


15702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

All we need now is a 1 and 5 star reviews and we have every objective perspective

G3N3R1C
August 26th 2010


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Daisy > TDAGARIM >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> the lame Taking Back Sunday rip-off albums they recorded before that.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2010


15980 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

you bring up some good points, but this review is too short if you want to attack a highly regarded album like this.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

ebay
August 26th 2010


501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

All you talk about is the limitations of Jesse's lyrics and songwriting, which is find if that is your opinion, but you really have to explore more of the album to make this a complete review.

Gyromania
August 26th 2010


15702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I have an entire review written up for this album that's a 2.5, but it would be totally pointless to post it.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2010


15980 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

why? if you think you have solid points that you can back up, post it!

Deceptioneer
August 26th 2010


509 Comments


because we don't need another 2.5 for this heap of awesomness

Gyromania
August 26th 2010


15702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I would post it, and I definitely backed my points up well enough, but with all the reviews here already, don't you think it would be a little redundant? Besides, my perspective of the album has changed considerably since.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy