Venetian Snares
My So-Called Life


3.0
good

Review

by Eno USER (34 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2010 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Venetian Snares album that fails to find its niche in his ever variant discography.

After the heights of acidic dissonance that Aaron Funk achieved on 2009's Filth, it was clear that Funk had reached his limit of skullfuckery and that any expansion on the sound would be bloated, even for him. And this is self-evident, as My So-Called Life is in essence a throwback to his numerous sounds of the past, dabbling in all sorts of breakcore, offensive sampling, and melodramatic arrangements. According to Funk, his new lp was a "a collection of short stories than a novel... diary entries". It's a statement that My So-Called Life would be devoid of a concrete statement, a release of Venetian Snares pursuing whatever concepts on individual tracks. And while this notion could suggest an incoherent, lazy sounding record, it was the loose mix of acid techno, d'n'b, and nintendo-esque synth programming that made Detrimentalist such a rewarding listen. And the same could've been said for this new LP if it wasn't so shallow.

Opener "Posers and Camera Phones" is hardly suggestive of the content in My So-Called Life. Featuring standard Venetian Snares programming mixed with a neo-classical harpsichord loop, it's fun for a while until it gets lost in endless breakcore jamming. The next four tracks plow through ranges of self-parody and genericism, plummeting through frenetic loops and godawful samples all utilized for immature comedic effect(when Aaron Funk resorts to sampling different people saying "retarded", you know he has lost his edge). The second half of the record is recognizably more musical, "Ultraviolent Junglist" in particular aiming at darker tones in the vein of Meathole. The programming on some of the later tracks are particularly cinematic, but the songs don't match up to the mastery of dynamics and controlling of sound that Funk had mastered on earlier releases.

To be fair, devoted fans of Venetian Snares will find something to love in this record. My So-Called Life is ultimately the culmination of Aaron Funk's career, except with a decidedly half-assed sound and some tracks poorer than others(the title track being the only song nearly as impressive as any of the material on Rossz Csillag Allat Szuletett). Unfortunately this record pretty much lived up to what expectations there were; if Filth was his mid-life crisis, this could be considered his acceptance of his insecurities, a recognition of his musical bounds. Of course this isn't the most accurate way of depicting Funk, seeing as the incessant goofy humor on this release reveals that he is pretty content with what he is producing. The songs are inarguably fun and there is quite a fair amount of breakcore madness for listeners to revel in. But it's the particular absence of a sound or conceptual guiding point that makes My So-Called Life an unimportant addition to Funk's discography that fails to define itself as an individual release. But I'm sure he has no problem with that.



Recent reviews by this author
Beau Navire HoursWeekend Nachos Worthless
Raekwon Shaolin vs. Wu-TangTim Hecker Ravedeath, 1972
Palmkite The Sound Of SnowfallEmeralds Does It Look Like I'm Here?
user ratings (31)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Enotron
August 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pissed over new venetian snares album, however i gave it its props and a complementary pat on the back.

critiques are welcome, point out any typos, i'm going surfing.

Enotron
August 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

also, i'm a crazy big venetian snares fan, you guys should check out the rec's if you haven't. this was just underwhelming

ConsiderPhlebas
August 23rd 2010


6157 Comments


Good review. Love VS but haven't heard this.

ConsiderPhlebas
August 23rd 2010


6157 Comments


3 is... good?

scissorlocked
August 23rd 2010


3510 Comments


I've known this guy for some Black Sabbath dub remixes.They were quite good.


Enotron
August 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually really liked Filth.

this was just kind of underwhelming, though it had its fun moments. the last track is hella epic though

Spare
August 23rd 2010


5308 Comments


9. Hajnal2
oh god what i don't give a shit what the review says i'm getting this

Digging: Best Witches - Wishes

climactic
August 23rd 2010


18936 Comments


oh god what i don't give a shit what the review says i'm getting this


THIS

HAJNAL IS 100/5

Enotron
August 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

guys it's just a remix of hajnal, with some extra drum touches

climactic
August 23rd 2010


18936 Comments


Easily my favorite

Enotron
August 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha easily the best on this too

Enotron
August 23rd 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

do you own calvacade(the first album i put in rec'd by reviewer)? really underrated album

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well this disappeared off the page super fast

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2010


7112 Comments


I've only heard like two albums from this genre (if you can comfortably put VS in one), and as much as I like Rossz I feel like this is the kind of music where I would hate it if it was any less than spectacular.

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i'd imagine it's grandiosity would be dependent on how much of his material you have heard, but it's probably worth listening to just for kicks.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


31169 Comments


Disappointed, nice review though and its always nice to see someone who knows what they are talking about. Even though I am going to ask you to explain "acid techno" to me. Not now though, later

Like in the morning - my morning I mean

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh, deviant. you and your intimidating knowledge.

I was basically referring to that sort of endlessly tweaked filter sound that sort of syncs up with the rhythm, like the sound on Mt Saint Michael mix by Aphex Twin. then again it's been awhile since i've put on dentrimentalist, so maybe i'll have to look back into that.

have a good....night I suppose? it's about 9:30 in the morning for me.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


31169 Comments


I was just being facetious. If you've ever seen Meatplow get annoyed over people's liberal use of the word 'electronica', i'm the same when it comes to 'techno'

Enotron
August 24th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha...I thought he just hated the term in general, saw it as a commercialized word for electronic music

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2010


31169 Comments


He does, and it is in a way. Same goes for 'techno', its really nothing more than an umbrella term to define more "dancey" electronic music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy