Hey Monday
Beneath It All


3.5
great

Review

by Adam Amanse USER (12 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2010 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Overall, this EP leaves some things to be desired, but it achieves its goal of being a fun and catchy release that you can't help but sing along to.

Pop music has taken many forms in the past 50 years. From the Beatles to Blondie, and from Avril to Brittney, it has infiltrated the popular culture of the world, changing with the current trends. Pop demands that you sing even the most hated of songs because of their undeniable catchiness. I'm sure I'm not the only one who have caught themselves singing the lines " Making my way downtown, walking fast, faces pass and I'm homebound" followed by a poorly sung piano melody. It just sticks with you, whether you like it or not.

Now that being said, Hey Monday have been able to write the kind of pop songs that you like having stuck in your head. Their first release, "Hold On Tight", was nothing groundbreaking, just a collection of fun and catchy tunes that never really get old. Their second release, EP "Beneath It All", is 6 more songs of just that, fun. "Beneath It All" sounds exactly like front-woman Cassadee Pope said it would, and that being " 90's era pop." Songs such as "Wondergirl" and "Mr. Pushover" really do ring that 90s era vibe, but at the same time, still sounding contemporary.
The beautiful Cassadee definitely has the voice for pop, and tends to hook you in with a plethora of catchy choruses. Track number 4, "Hangover", has one of the catchiest choruses that Hey Monday has written to date, rivaling that of "Run, Don't Walk" and "Arizona".

Instrumentally speaking, there is nothing special about the EP. It is what you should expect from pop. Simple power chords and single string melodies are what encompasses the sounds from both guitars. The bass keeps a simple groove to follow the cliche, but fitting drum patterns. Overall, the instruments are really there to just back Cass' vocals, and provide the backbone of the catchy sound that is thoroughly present in the EP.

Though having it's flaws, this EP will still have you singing along, if you give it more than one listen.


Recommended tracks:

Hangover
I Don't Wanna Dance



Recent reviews by this author
Switchfoot Fading WestDIR EN GREY The Unraveling
Oh, Sleeper Children Of FireZao Where Blood and Fire Bring Rest
Coheed and Cambria The Second Stage Turbine BladeBishop Allen The Broken String
user ratings (60)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
Eric (2)
Trite pop music with catchy hooks is forgivable, but when it’s this poorly executed, there’s jus...

related reviews

Hold On Tight

Comments:Add a Comment 
heyadam
August 23rd 2010


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry it's so short, it is an EP so there wasn't too much material to talk about

Digging: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties - We Don't Have Each Other

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


why does your personal rating differ so much?

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


"Instrumentally speaking, there is nothing special about the EP. It is what you should expect from pop."

so our standards should be dreadfully low because of the genre? I'm sorry but that's ridonkulous, sir.

and you never mentioned the goddawful production.

heyadam
August 23rd 2010


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Because I'm a big fan of the band, and I like it a lot. And for the type of pop Hey Monday is, you shouldn't have high expectations for the instrumental part of the music anyways

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


still don't understand why you're giving an album a 5 after you just took the time to explain why it's clearly a 3.5?

still don't understand why you're overlooking all the shitty aspects of this (i.e. atrocious lyrics, songwriting, production)?

not trying to be a dick, honestly, just confused

mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Because what might be shitty to you might not be to others. Sometimes in music, it's very personal and we must agree to disagree.

My only problem with the EP is that the choruses sometimes are a bit of a letdown after the verses build up. The first album didn't have that problem. But they are still very good pop.

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


so you think Hey Monday are great songwriters and the lyrics are fantastic?

mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

BTW, the review was short but concise, which I like. Pop music does have its own conventions to it. You either like them or not, but they have their place.

I'm going to be pickier about negs from now on - not neging unless it's an obvious troll review. Although I stand by what I said about SeaAnemone's review, I guess I shouldn't have neg'd or pos'd it.


mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I like the lyrics even though they aren't aimed at my demographic. For what they are, they are relatable.

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


a) I like pop music

b) why don't you just neg when a review is not well-written, like the question "Was this review well-written?" suggests?

c) who are the lyrics relatable to? and if that's what constitutes the quality of lyrics, being relatable, it pains me to find "bad" lyrics anywhere in music

mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You obviously don't like the same kinds I do. And being relatable is a part of having good lyrics, period. It's the ability of lyrics to connect with the listener. If you were someone young and female like Cassadee, I think they would have a good chance of connecting.

I still didn't like your review, BTW. Just thought maybe it wasn't bad enough for my neg.

Lakes.
August 23rd 2010


28401 Comments


wait, so you and heyadam are the same person?? confussed

Digging: Scott Walker and Sunn O))) - Soused

mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

No, you can even do an IP check. We are not the same. But we sure agree on Hey Monday.

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


a) "you obvious don't..." that wasn't my point at all, I'm simply saying I enjoy simplicity and catchiness just as much as you do, I think, no matter if it's the "same kind"

b) ok, yes, maybe that's one small aspect, but I have to keep asking... what makes these lyrics good? "Candles"? seriously, every song on here is trite and not very well-written. can you point out what you find positive about the lyrics please, instead of saying "somebody somewhere can relate to them so in effect I like them"?



mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

No, because we'd disagree, and we'd just go round and round on the lyrics all day. I like the lyrics and you don't - end of story. One man's bad lyric is another man's gem; it's part of what music so subjective.

SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


I'm just asking what positives you see in the lyrics, dude? pleasey please please? how do you know if we disagree if you refuse to even tell me where you're coming from?

mvdu
August 23rd 2010


606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I just think they are very perceptive about romance and they describe her point of view very well. Perceptive, well-written, gets the point across, etc.

Lakes.
August 23rd 2010


28401 Comments


One man's bad lyric is another man's gem; it's part of what music so subjective.






SeaAnemone
August 23rd 2010


20534 Comments


mvdu: ok thank you

ConsiderPhlebas
August 23rd 2010


6157 Comments


Some people relate to Kesha I would imagine. There's just no accounting for taste, although youth and inexperience can be a major factor.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy