Eleventh He Reaches London
The Good Fight For Harmony


4.5
superb

Review

by Dan Norris USER (2 Reviews)
August 20th, 2010 | 60 replies | 11,489 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A despairing look into one of Post-Rock/Post-Hardcores finest bands...

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Eleventh He Reaches London has always been a quintessential post-rock/post-hardcore band. The feel of raw emotion mixed with strong, powerful lyrics makes for a listening experience. The follow-up to their 2003 EP, Diving for Treacher, The Good Fight for Harmony is as solid an effort a band can produce. One ability this band has is the mastery of switching between a melodic depressing soft section to a heavy screaming-filled segment, and back again. The Good Fight for Harmony is a heartfelt album sure to entrap your mind throughout the length of your time spent enjoying it.

The first song on the album, “Coronation”, is an instrumental track that mixes sadness and repetition of a common melody to fully immerse you in the album from the get-go. It has a feel to it that holds true through the rest of the album and carries beautifully into the next offering, “Say You See Why So”. The guitar work on this track is probably some of the best on the album. Ian Lenton’s vocals portray the miserable feel of mistrust that the song speaks about perfectly.

“Swarming” and “What Would Don Juan Say” are two of the heaviest tracks this band has ever released. The guitar chugging in Swarming puts out an aura of anger that this band encapsulates oh-so-well. This is as close to a modern-day epic as can be. The mellow, yet still heavy, guitar riff behind the sorrow-filled lyrics in WWDJS develops into one of the angriest “breakdowns” in the last 45 seconds that yet again flows wonderfully into the eerie filler track “Ruination”.

The album slows down after that with the track “Chilson”. This soft, easy-going track still has the depressing feel as the rest of the album, but just does it without having to be heavy. The track starts picking up the angry emotion towards the end that leads into the last song “Long Grows The List Of The Live And Dead Pretenders”.

Over all, the album is a near-masterpiece. The pure despair this album oozes out in every song is enough to make any true post-rock listener fall in love, but add to the fact the band itself has the talent to play their instruments and be able to keep the passion flowing through-out shows that Eleventh He Reaches London is a band, no…a FORCE…to be reckoned with.

Recommended Tracks:
Say You See Why So
Swarming
Long Grows The List Of The Live And Dead Pretenders


user ratings (86)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
related reviews

Hollow Be My Name
recommended by reviewer
city of caterpillar city of caterpillar

Comments:Add a Comment 
dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Second review ever. and I already see a huge amount of problems...I suck. Time to revise.

vanderb0b
August 20th 2010



3473 Comments


Goddamit, I've had Hollow Be My Name sitting in my itunes for months and I still haven't had the time to listen to it enough (though what I've heard has interested me). Review isn't as bad as you imply with your comment, I'll pos.

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well thank you vander, I just don't want this to be a trainwreck like when i came onto this site with guns blazing and review "Punk Goes...Classic Rock." Lets just leave that in the past. And I recommend listening to Hollow Be My Name.

vanderb0b
August 20th 2010



3473 Comments


Listening to it right now, halfway through the second song and it's pretty awesome.

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For The Commonwealth And The Queen is the 11:03 epic ending to the album, when you hit that, you'll probably blow your load.

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I think this is as good as the reviews going to get...Saw that this album needed a review and I tried to step up to the plate.

fromtheinside
August 20th 2010



17905 Comments


hollow be my name is hit and miss so i'm not really sure i wanna look into this. ok review as well.

Digging: Coroner - No More Color

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like both of them, but I feel for this band, you have to do what I do. Make sure it's a dark room, nothing else to distract you. And be in the mood to feel hopeless. That's just my opinion though.

bmsmcr
August 20th 2010



118 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice review! I love both of the full lengths from this band. Anyone know where I can get or download the "Driving for Teacher"? I can't find it anywhere

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah man, I don't know where it is either. Sorry :/

vanderb0b
August 20th 2010



3473 Comments


Just finished listening to Hollow. Damn, that last song was fantastic.

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Right? I love that song. I've really been getting into this band, and that mixed with the fact this didn't have a review put me perfectly in place to write this.

vanderb0b
August 20th 2010



3473 Comments


Yup. That song, along with Toorali, is definitely the best on the album. Just noticed that the genre that iTunes marked this as is "magic", pretty accurate.

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah ahah, I noticed that too when I got it. "Magic" I listened and thought the same thing! Pretty Accurate.

DoubtGin
August 20th 2010



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album slays dragons

dnor
August 20th 2010



3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that it does. that it does...

Piglet
August 20th 2010



4653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hollow By The Name has to be in my Top 10 albums, I should really look into this. Awesome review as well, informative and concise.

Jim
August 21st 2010



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like this just as much as hollow be my name

these guys have a great sound

Spare
August 21st 2010



5270 Comments


band is awesome. you spelled city of caterpillar wrong.

Mordecai.
August 21st 2010



8276 Comments


fuck yehhhh sweet band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy