Volbeat
The Strength/The Sound/The Songs


4.0
excellent

Review

by BigHans USER (108 Reviews)
August 10th, 2010 | 88 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kind of like how Freddy Krueger is the son of a hundred maniacs, Volbeat are the sons of a hundred musicians who know how to rock. Hard.

When I listen to Volbeat, I am oddly and perhaps sickeningly reminded of being married. The almost uncontrollable urge to drink is aligned with the substantial feeling of having the $hit kicked out of you (metaphorically speaking), and of having your balls firmly entrenched in a blender with the “on” button permanently engaged. The only difference is listening to Volbeat is unequivocally awesome; these experiences are manifested in a good way, namely, the way of Rawk. To say Volbeat rocks hard is an understatement of proportions similar to saying Lindsey Lohan is a disheveled crack whore. We can invent some big words and flashy sentences to describe the fist-pumping energy Volbeat transcends, but it’s much easier and more succinct to simply say that they absolutely, positively, without retort, f*cking rock. Like Andrew WK rocks. Volbeat doesn’t waste much time in delivering the goods in a face-caving manner. In short, they are a metal band. More complex, they sound like the result of Glen Danzig, Elvis Presley, Clutch, Metallica, and Johnny Cash having a disgusting gangbang with a willing groupie. Kind of like how Freddy Krueger is the son of a hundred maniacs, Volbeat are the sons of a hundred musicians who know how to rock. Hard.

One thing I can tell you is that Scandinavians know how to party. Volbeat are Danish, which probably explains the aura of kick-a$s surrounding their songs. Their debut “The Strength/The Sound/The Songs” is a 15 song journey into good time, face-mashing yet accessible metal that is clearly designed for moshing, fighting, and partying. If the Vikings were still around, they would bump Volbeat while pounding mead, house wenches, and over-sized legs of Mutton. Metal is made to crush skulls, but Volbeat’s brand of metal is something else entirely. The presence of chugging guitars, rockabilly influence, thrash riffs, massive hooks, a whole lot of shouting, and big time choruses have all been done before, they just haven’t been done this way. It really is difficult to describe. You’ll know it immediately after songs like “Rebel Monster,” “Pool of Booze,” and “Healing Subconsciously” are finished with their thorough kicking of your a$s. You’ll know it when the whoa-oh chorus of “Always, Wu” and the rapid fire chugging of “Danny and Lucy” overcome their ridiculously stupid titles with a healthy serving of manly riffing. You’ll finally realize it when not one, but two songs with the word “Caroline” in their titles turn out to be a whole lot more awesome than you would think. When Volbeat is done, you will either be exhausted or want more. Chances are it will be a combination of both. If you own a set of testicles, you will unquestionably love this.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hold Steady Teeth DreamsPaw Dragline
Drive-by Truckers English OceansRanger Knights of Darkness
Grim Reaper Rock You To HellMachine Head Machine Fucking Head Live
user ratings (167)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigHans
August 10th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Volbeat absolutely rules.

Nagrarok
August 10th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I listened to this a while ago after someone recced it to me. I can't say I enjoyed it as much as you do reading from the review, but there's always another go.

Inveigh
August 10th 2010


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah they do, at least Rock the Rebel/Metal the Devil does. I'm thinking this is on my plate for my 1,000th rating (I'm at 999 currently). Nice review buddy.

Inveigh
August 10th 2010


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also, lol at To say Volbeat rocks hard is an understatement of proportions similar to saying Lindsey Lohan is a disheveled crack whore.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2010


7421 Comments


Haha. Hilarious review. Have a pos. This is ironically the only Volbeat album I haven't heard.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

BigHans
August 10th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha, yeah Im not a big Lohan fan.

Nag, I figured you had heard them since they are from your part of the world, or close to it.

Greg, get on it, this one rocks harder than the other two. Not saying its better, its just a bit heavier.

Apollo
August 10th 2010


10336 Comments


great review Hans. As I do own a set of testicles it seems I will be listening to this.

BigHans
August 10th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here's a taste:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNawpH6PE08

Apollo
August 10th 2010


10336 Comments


will listen when I get home. work doesn't allow youtube lol

BigHans
August 10th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You're in the same predicament as Inveigh. I would lose it if I couldnt stream at work.

Apollo
August 10th 2010


10336 Comments


Its all good, I get to listen to music all day, non-stop because my boss is cool. Otherwise I would definately lose my shit

DiceMan
August 10th 2010


7068 Comments


Best summary ever. I won't be checking this out. Just letting you know that I'm like 34% sure Volbeat is the name of a pokemon.

BigHans
August 10th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dice, it doesnt surprise me you dont like Metal considering your advanced knowledge of Pokemon.

Just giving you a hard time man, if you dont like hard rock/metal you wouldnt like this, although if you do, it would be impossible not to.

ReturnToRock
August 10th 2010


3448 Comments


OTHER THAN THE FACT that EVERYONE has been STEALING MY IDEAS lately, this is a great review for a great band.

Saw them live, and they sounded much less metal than on record. Their cover of Dusty Springfield's "I Only Wanna Be With You" came across as pure punk-pop. And it was AWESOME. I wouldn't say they beat the headliners - Metallica - but they sure came close.

Inveigh
August 10th 2010


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wait, what idea here was stolen?

Jethro42
August 10th 2010


12480 Comments


$ound$ intere$ting, po$

ReturnToRock
August 10th 2010


3448 Comments


Ideas still in my head - doing QOTSA discogs, doing Volbeat albums, not to mention Frank Stallone ;)

Inveigh
August 10th 2010


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ahh. brutal man. do Kyuss instead of QOTSA.

ConsiderPhlebas
August 10th 2010


6157 Comments


Hilarious/great review, man. Just listening now - sounds awesome.

731
August 10th 2010


662 Comments


pos'd





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy