Three Days Grace
Three Days Grace


3.0
good

Review

by Ian USER (107 Reviews)
October 5th, 2005 | 21 replies | 5,359 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Canadian rockers Three Days Grace, while being mainly an angry, power chord driven, nice simple bass and drums kind of band have that certain something that I love in a band. Its as if they have that burning soul in a band that you can relate to when youre angry about something, but to much can be a bad thing While their singles are criticized often, most of the songs on the album are generally better than all three, the new single, Wake Up in Canada is easily my favorite song on the album. Songs like Wake Up and Home I find, instead of being depressing like may people consider, inspirational as to not let myself get into situations that could very easily end tragically.


While the vocals are very angry through the entire album, I find Adams singing to be good in most cases and to hold a strong presence that fits with each song well. The lyrics, while sometimes mundane, usually go well with each song and can add to the overall song very well. The only thing I dont like about the vocals, are that every song is angry or depressing and can be stupid, but not usually. The guitar is a lot of power chords most of the time, nice to listen to, but isnt very creative or close to being original. The bass is simple a lot of the time to, but has it's moments and for is me is fun to play along with, also good for beginners of the bass guitar. The drums arent anything special again, but remain solid throughout the album.

Key Tracks-The good and bad

Wake Up-The best song on the album and the only one I believe that earns above a 4/5 rating. The best parts are the singing on the chorus and the music that goes with it. It's just a great track to listen to and is probably the one song that people would want to listen to more than once.

Over Rated- A song about bands that get heavy air play even though they suck and are considered over rated, funny since I consider this the weakest song on the album and a bad way to close the album. Both musically and lyrically this is the worst song on the album, evidently they think *** music should be played on the radio.

The singles- I Hate Everything About You, Just Like You, and Home

Generally a good way to portray the album as a whole, all three being a little bit to cliche, with angry depressing lyrics on all three songs, and still being slightly nice to listen to once in a while. All three get repetitive fast though and after getting played on the radio so much people wont care for them and skip them when listening to the album.


All in all, it is a solid album, but has it's weak spot. I believe it is still above average and is worth a listen so I rate this a 3/5(good, but just slightly above average). So thats it, I thought I would put my spin on some different types of reviews that have been done lately and I think this might be a good alternative to track-by-tracks and paragraph only reviews..



Recent reviews by this author
Z-Ro CocaineEmery The Weak's End
Papa Roach Old Friends from Young YearsLinkin Park Living Things
Krizz Kaliko Kickin' and Screamin'Madina Lake From Them, Through Us, To You
user ratings (1016)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rudd13
October 5th 2005


952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review.

While a big rage goes on about how bad the band is, I disagree.
I like Burn, Scared, and Just Like You. But not exactly songs I'd play frequently.

This was a better review than the other. Good job, and I like your format. :thumb:
This Message Edited On 10.05.05

Storm In A Teacup
October 5th 2005


12780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thx Rudd, means a lot coming from a Top 15.

I think the band is better than a lot of other mainstream rock bands at the moment and they show a lot of promise to be a great band and the new album should be coming out in a couple of months.

Arrakakaka
October 5th 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Pretty good review.

I owned this album once. I used to like it :mad:

I personally think that it's a horrid piece of mainstream pooie. It's very weak.This Message Edited On 10.05.05

Storm In A Teacup
October 5th 2005


12780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To be released in a couple of months says their website.

Edit: Wish I could change my rating to 3 instead of 4.5, I let my brother comment a couple of times and rate stuff a couple weeks ago and this was one of them. :upset:This Message Edited On 10.05.05

cbmartinez
October 8th 2005


2525 Comments


"Just Like You" is a guilty pleasure.

I'm Charming
October 8th 2005


332 Comments


I can't stand that song.

Drown was a guilty pleasure for me.

metalhead300
January 26th 2006


2 Comments


I thought Scared was a really good song actually

Knowname
January 29th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review, I totally agree that wake up is their strongest song. All the others were great at first but faded with time, I could listen to wake up everyday and not get sick of it. I think this first album was a 3.3 out of 5, I think they have some decent potential and look forward to their sophmore album, it will definatley make or break these guys.

icaught fire444
January 30th 2006


622 Comments


your review was kind of wierd, i like the ones that are song by song.

this band is good but they are too pissed off for me. but their singer does have a great voice

Storm In A Teacup
January 30th 2006


12780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It is a weird way of writing, but I don't do anything like that anymore. Overall are the best all regular users find.
They are way too angry with the lyrics, and vocals. I like his voice, only to an extent.

Storm In A Teacup
February 2nd 2006


12780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

[quote=meal I would throw up if I ate it]I see that many of you like to down the band because of radio time[/quote]

Not a single person said that.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2006


15737 Comments


This is ok, its not metal enough and not poppy enough. More like a boring middle. I like the lead singers vocals, though.

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

metallicaman8
April 22nd 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This album has some good songs on it. But overall i found it to be kind of repetitive, I remember just letting play through one day while i was playing video games. It actually made me feel queesy (questionable spelling) after a while

Two-Headed Boy
April 22nd 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

These guys are boring and generic. There's not one song where they haven't recycled another bands riff.This Message Edited On 06.17.06

exiledjedi
May 13th 2006


46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this was a good cd, not excellent or anything, but the singer has such a nice voice it makes up for some lack-luster songs. I think wake up and Everything about you are the best songs on here.

ourlp44
June 18th 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really liked this review, the album was O.K. I tried writting one for the new one, but i suck at reviews, you should write one for One-X. There are two reviews for it and they suck.This Message Edited On 06.18.06

Storm In A Teacup
June 18th 2006


12780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry to let you down, but I have no intentions of purchasing "One-X". After hearing the lead single I'm completely put off by the whole record, it seems like it will be a weaker version of this, which is already not that impressive.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2006


16088 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

^^ It is a weaker version of this. Yesh.

Storm In A Teacup
June 18th 2006


12780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

God, then definitely no.

ourlp44
June 18th 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like One-X better than their s/t album. There are some really good songs on it, mind you there are some painfully average songs on it too, but they have some really good songs on it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy