Metallica
Death Magnetic


3.0
good

Review

by BassPlaya008 USER (1 Reviews)
August 5th, 2010 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Metallica is back. Somewhat.

This album, in my opinion, is by far, one of their less-great albums. It is most definitely not my favorite. This album was produced by the legend, Rick Rubin. We all know that he is MUCH better than Bob Rock, a.k.a. "the man who single-handedly destroyed Metallica." But anyway, here's the Track-by-Track:

That Was Just Your Life: Not too amazing of an opener to Metallica's latest effort. The lyrics are a little "eh" to me. Definitely not the best song. 2.5/5

The End of the Line: Again, not too great. Looks like the first part of this album isn't too great, huh? The lyrics are, again, "eh" at most. Points for using the words "catatonic", "asphyxia", and "karma amputee". 2/5

Broken, Beat & Scarred: The album begins to shine a bit here. This song has an awesome opening, in my opinion. The repeats of "Show your scars" are pretty cool, if not a bit overused. The part where James sings, "What don't kill ya make ya stronger" is just horrible, though. Still, a bit of a better song. 3/5

The Day That Never Comes: One of my personal favourite songs from this album. Melodic intro, add drum beats in, leading into James singing, "Born to push you around, better just stay down." Personally, the song reminds me a bit of prison fights, or being bullied. Either way, it's a good song. 4.5/5

All Nightmare Long: Ah, the one song that authentically replicates the good ol' thrash metal days. Most of this song is crazy fast. The opening, with (I'm pretty sure) only drums and guitars, sounds really good. It's catchy. Once it starts picking up though, is when the song really shines. The first lyrics of the song, "Luck....runs....out." are pretty awesome. The chorus is my favorite part of the song. "Hunt you down without mercy, hunt you down all nightmare long..." This is a definite favorite of mine. 5/5

Cyanide: Another good song. Nice intro. I like almost everything about this one. I don't really know what else to say about it, other than the instrumentation is really well-done. 4.5/5

The Unforgiven III: The third "Unforgiven" out of the trilogy, it is also the first (and only) to not feature the opening horn. Instead, it opens with a piano playing a beautiful melody. This leads into guitar joining in, which keeps going, picking up as it goes, until James comes in with the lyrics. I enjoy this song. It is probably my second favorite "Unforgiven", after the first one. 5/5

The Judas Kiss: One of the heavier songs, probably my least favorite off of this album. It has nice riffs, but I think James' voice sounds like pure garbage on the "So what now? Where do I head?" part. "Into abyss, you don't exist, cannot resist, the Judas kiss" sounds rather cliche, as well. 2/5

Suicide & Redemption: The instrumental track. It's not bad, really good, actually. It's nice to have another instrumental from the boys of Metallica. Not really much else I can say about it. 3/5

My Apocalypse: The shortest song from the album, it's also one of my least favorite. It has some pretty violent lyrics, which are awesome, but I just don't like how it sounds. In other words, good lyrics, below-par instrumentation. 3/5


user ratings (3925)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Piglet
August 5th 2010


4659 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

A lot of people despise track-by-track reviews on this site. I have no idea why, I find the format more concise and easy to read, but that may be a thing to keep in mind. Good first-timer, though.

Erratic
August 5th 2010


1120 Comments


Telling everybody that this is your first review is not a good introduction. Some of the track-by-track descriptions are also way too thin, like the one sentence summary of The Judas Kiss.

Nagrarok
August 5th 2010


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok, I'll be honest with you: this is a pretty weak effort and you have a long way to go if you're going to be a serious reviewer. You don't back up your opinion anyhow (explain to us WHY you think the lyrics are weak and the instrumention is good/bad, etc.) Comments such as 'not really much else I can say about it' just don't cut it.

As Piglet said already, tbt's are not the way to go. The reason is simple: they are repetitive, therefore boring to read, and often don't give a proper overview of the album works as a whole, which is partially the purpose of it in the first place. Also, you'll run out of things to say. Taking your description of The Judas Kiss, for example, you only say it's one of the heavier songs and that it's your least favourite.

If you want to become better at this, the best way is to take a look at the reviews of more experienced and approved writers. A good example of uncomplicated reviews that are nevertheless very clear and informative are Mike Stagno's.

edit: and yes, what Erratic said. New reviewers tend to think you're supposed to write 'this is my first review' in the opening paragraph. It's already a bad start and doesn't belong there. Rather post it as a comment after you've posted the review.

Phrike
August 5th 2010


1691 Comments


"Hello, Sputnik. This is my first review on this website, so I apologize if it's sub-par, or altogether horrid."

dont write these things in the review, put it in your first comment

TheyTookOurJobs
August 5th 2010


1318 Comments


The Judas Kiss owns fool!

I wont neg this time coz it's your first(I know, I'm such a gentleman).

Sciroccu
August 5th 2010


774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album...

Sciroccu
August 5th 2010


774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of my fav', the 7 first tracks of the album are amazing.
And I agree with Nagrarok about your review : a long way to go...

renegadestrings
August 5th 2010


1450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That Was Just Your Life has the best riff on the album. period.

welcome to sputniiiiiiiiiik

nagstar89
August 5th 2010


71 Comments


Album blows!! "All nightmare long" is the only decent song on here

nagstar89
August 5th 2010


71 Comments


"The day that never comes"..is good too

Crymsonblaze
August 5th 2010


7495 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That Was Just Your Life, Cyanide, and Unforgiven III are all amazing. One of my favorite Metallica albums.

XulOnerom
August 5th 2010


1818 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The day I see an album reviewer at Kerrang/Rolling Stone/Revolver/Terrorizer/Spin/Blender or any music magazine start a review saying "Hello, this is my first review, sorry if it sucks", I shall remove your neg

tiesthatbind
August 5th 2010


7378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really like The Day That Never Comes and All Nightmare Long. The rest is hit and miss.

And to the reviewer, listen to the advice that's been given. You'll get neg'd if you write a review this bare, especially if it's on an album that's been reviewed 16 times already.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Signs of Life

BrineBe
August 6th 2010


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To me, Death Magnetic is no where near a Master Of Puppets.....or And Justice For All. But...it's a HUGE step back in the right direction. After their output in the 90s....this is a masterpiece. Their next one is gonna tell if they've really turned the ship around.

But....I do like Death Magnetic.

BrineBe
August 6th 2010


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To me, Death Magnetic is no where near a Master Of Puppets.....or And Justice For All. But...it's a HUGE step back in the right direction. After their output in the 90s....this is a masterpiece. Their next one is gonna tell if they've really turned the ship around.

But....I do like Death Magnetic.

BrineBe
August 6th 2010


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To me, Death Magnetic is no where near a Master Of Puppets.....or And Justice For All. But...it's a HUGE step back in the right direction. After their output in the 90s....this is a masterpiece. Their next one is gonna tell if they've really turned the ship around.

But....I do like Death Magnetic.

BassPlaya008
August 15th 2010


15 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thank most of you for your criticism. I was expecting a lot more. I only did a tbt because I was in a bit of a hurry, and it was 7 in the morning. I was half asleep. Sorry, everyone. O_o And also, it's a matter of opinion. I find this album almost dreadful, but not as bad as St. Anger. I'll make sure I'm awake before I review the next album. Any suggestions for which I should review? I'm open for any. (Stampede by Hellyeah, possibly? O_o Kidding.

BassPlaya008
August 15th 2010


15 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thank most of you for your criticism. I was expecting a lot more. I only did a tbt because I was in a bit of a hurry, and it was 7 in the morning. I was half asleep. Sorry, everyone. O_o And also, it's a matter of opinion. I find this album almost dreadful, but not as bad as St. Anger. I'll make sure I'm awake before I review the next album. Any suggestions for which I should review? I'm open for any. (Stampede by Hellyeah, possibly? O_o Kidding.)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy